Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Madison Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Community service is a part of the culture! The school e gages in several community service projects throughout the year.

James Madison Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The code of conduct is a huge part of campus life! The students "live the code".


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Very positive! The teachers are excellent and knowledgable. The students can try any activities without trying out.

James Madison Preparatory School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Schilling is an excellent teacher and positive role model for every student! She is firm, has high standards, creative and yet very compassionate. She believes all students can succeed. Mrs Schilling is always willing to go the extra mile for JMPS students.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
JMPS provides an excellent education as well as opportunities to explore many interests including theater/drama, music, sports, and many clubs. JMPS expects participation in student government and mentoring of younger students. My child is ready for college in every way.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
James Madison is a place where our child is part of the family. The faculty and staff really know him personally. The extracurricular opportunities are much more than what you would expect from such a small school. Our son has been a member of 3 different sports teams and has been able to make a positive contribution to these high school varsity teams even though he is actually in junior high. Please give James Madison your top consideration when making the important decision on where to place your child.

James Madison Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
So many opportunities to serve others, on and off campus. Students are also expected to mentor younger students. No tolerance for bullying.

James Madison Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
This school builds and supports strong character in students. It's not just a "word of the week" approach to character education, it's every day.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
My son received an AMAZING education at James Madison Preparatory School. Although an average student, his opportunities after graduation have been staggering. He had great experiences inside and outside the classroom, and he credits his current success in college with the preparation for college he did at Madison.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Catholic parochial school was my education base. My parents spent a lot of money to be detached from my education. They felt they were doing the best thing for their children’s education. In college I found the great students had parents who cared and checked up on their grades. The small town farm kids, who unsurprisingly had responsible parents, also had a strong link with their high school friends and teachers. My goal for my own children was to know their Mom cared about their education. I also wanted them to have that strong sense of community with their friends and instructors. After home schooling my five children for 12+ years there was a need to enroll my 3 youngest in public school. My choice was James Madison Preparatory School, Tempe, AZ. First because of their well-established values, but many of the other reasons: • Excellent academics • High accountability • Theater /Drama program that is stunning. • Multiple and Inclusive athletics program- no one gets cut. • Chores schedule for all students. • Small class size. (10-20) • Independent study opportunities. To list all the opportunities JMPS gives to a student would be overwhelming. The small school atmosphere promotes a real closeness for the students, something that is difficult in the Phoenix metro area. JMPS is a real jewel of charter schools. Here is the strongest aspect of JMPS:The teachers care about my sons. Today I can walk into any of my student’s classes and talk to a teacher and they know my son, without looking him up in a record book. They know how he is progressing in class and how he is developing socially. Madison Prep continues to exceed my expectations for providing the best thing for my children’s education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Madison Preparatory School
5815 S. McClintock Dr. Tempe, AZ 85283, Tempe, AZ  85283
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. (480) 345-2306
Last modified James Madison Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top