Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
I would recommend this school to any one. My daughter has completed 2 years there and so far we absolutely love it. They give a wide range of extracurricular activities weather its from choir to sports or to theater, everyone gets a chance to do what they wish. The classroom size is quite small but it gives the teachers to actually get to know the students. The staff there are quite friendly and exceptionally respectful to parents. Disciplinary actions are taken very seriously at this school. They are always making sure this is a safe environment for children to learn. Acedemics are also something they take very seiously, after all it is a college prep school. Overall I would say this school is definitely one I would recommend to everyone.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
JMPS is a terrific school in all aspects! My son completed his first year here last year. He was definitely challenged since his old school was just a standard charter school. I like everything overall: They have almost every extra curricular activity a normal high school has, but small class sizes. The teachers, principal, office staff are well educated and professional. The disciplinary system and dress code are superb. They do not let anything slide. I would recommend this school to all students that like to learn, especially about American History and Government, since that is their emphasis.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
We love this school! The academics are consistent and strong. The expectations are high and they work hard with the students to achieve them. They offer sports, choir and theater plus a student newspaper and government. The students also have the option of choosing from many choices in weekly club classes. The faculty and office staff are amazing and know all of the students. JMPS is an excellent choice!

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
James Madison is a small school with learning based on history and real life living. They promote manners and responsibility. This is our first year with them and so far we are very impressed. Our kids were not enthused about changing schools, but after a few weeks are happy with it. The teachers are very caring and keep us informed. Their website is easy to use and keep up with the kids homework assignments. A big improvement over Fees Middle School. We are also impressed that 4 of their teachers are James Madison alumni.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This will be my son's second year attending JMPS. He was previously in a public school, and the difference between the public school and JMPS is astounding! He actually enjoys school now. The academic level at JMPS is heads and shoulders above the previous school. The faculty expects the students to perform and the students are not a number; they knew his name after the first day or two at school. My son was also involved in so many extra-curricular activities from drumline, ultimate, baseball, the all-school play, along with a few more. There is no way that he would have had the majority of these opportunities at a different school. Thank you, JMPS!


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
James Madison is a fairly small school, combining Jr High and High School. There are many great things about this school, but one of our main reasons for sending our children is the strict anti-bullying policy. When our younger child started, we were extremely pleased to find the commitment of staff and administration to helping him succeed. We realize how much effort that takes on any given day, and how much extra effort it took on 'those' days. The quality of education is very high and students are expected to do their best both academically and in extra-curricular activities, of which there are many.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
My son graduated in June of 2012 after attending JMPS since 7th grade. He had transitioned from a private Montessori school. We are so grateful to have found JMPS! Our son had an outstanding experience. He graduated as a well-rounded young adult, confident, intelligent and ready for college. At a time when most parents are dealing with typical teenage issues, we found the JMPS directors and staff really became exceptional mentors and role models. The balance of character development, strong academics and variety of extra-curricular activities cannot be matched. We especially appreciated the small class size and teachers that teach at the college-level. We highly recommend JMPS!

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
We have been part of JMPS for three years and I now have my three children enrolled here. Teachers and parents are caring, and students are the type you would want your child to be learning alongside. There are lots of extracurricular activities and opportunities for involvement. We are grateful for this alternative to our public schools. Small classes are a plus, and if you're looking for a place for your good child, this is it!


James Madison Preparatory School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The atmosphere is conducive to learning. Students who have a hard time "fitting in" somewhere else usually fit in at James Madison Prep. The behavior and academic standards are high

James Madison Preparatory School 3

Posted November 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Madison Preparatory School
5815 S. McClintock, Tempe, AZ  85283
(480) 345-2306
Last modified James Madison Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Madison Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top