Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
James Madison is a place where our child is part of the family. The faculty and staff really know him personally. The extracurricular opportunities are much more than what you would expect from such a small school. Our son has been a member of 3 different sports teams and has been able to make a positive contribution to these high school varsity teams even though he is actually in junior high. Please give James Madison your top consideration when making the important decision on where to place your child.

James Madison Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
So many opportunities to serve others, on and off campus. Students are also expected to mentor younger students. No tolerance for bullying.


James Madison Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
This school builds and supports strong character in students. It's not just a "word of the week" approach to character education, it's every day.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
My son received an AMAZING education at James Madison Preparatory School. Although an average student, his opportunities after graduation have been staggering. He had great experiences inside and outside the classroom, and he credits his current success in college with the preparation for college he did at Madison.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Catholic parochial school was my education base. My parents spent a lot of money to be detached from my education. They felt they were doing the best thing for their children’s education. In college I found the great students had parents who cared and checked up on their grades. The small town farm kids, who unsurprisingly had responsible parents, also had a strong link with their high school friends and teachers. My goal for my own children was to know their Mom cared about their education. I also wanted them to have that strong sense of community with their friends and instructors. After home schooling my five children for 12+ years there was a need to enroll my 3 youngest in public school. My choice was James Madison Preparatory School, Tempe, AZ. First because of their well-established values, but many of the other reasons: • Excellent academics • High accountability • Theater /Drama program that is stunning. • Multiple and Inclusive athletics program- no one gets cut. • Chores schedule for all students. • Small class size. (10-20) • Independent study opportunities. To list all the opportunities JMPS gives to a student would be overwhelming. The small school atmosphere promotes a real closeness for the students, something that is difficult in the Phoenix metro area. JMPS is a real jewel of charter schools. Here is the strongest aspect of JMPS:The teachers care about my sons. Today I can walk into any of my student’s classes and talk to a teacher and they know my son, without looking him up in a record book. They know how he is progressing in class and how he is developing socially. Madison Prep continues to exceed my expectations for providing the best thing for my children’s education.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Our older children graduated from JMPS previously and have all gone to excellent universities and colleges. We currently have a Junior at JMPS who has so many opportunies he would not have in a large public schools. The small size is a benefit to all of the students. The staff is dedicated and highly qualified. The extracurriculars are exceptional. Like with anything in life, you get out of it what you put into to it. If you have a student that will get involved, try their best , show character and push themselves to excellence, then this is the school for you!

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love JMP! After looking at 4 different high schools my children (10th graders) shadowed other students and were amazed with how polite, helpful, friendly, and an overall love of learning that came from the small classrooms. They are being challenged in their class work, and encouraged and expected to be respectful, honest, and responsible in and out of class. The teachers and staff know and care for all of the students and encourage them to also take part in school clubs, sports, drama and other activities. For a small school JMP has an amazing variety of activities unlike most public and other charter schools. My children are excelling at James Madison Prep and I have no hesitation in believing that they will be prepared for college and life after high school. James Madison Prep is a hidden gem in Tempe that I would encourage families to take a look at, and attend the informational meetings which occur in January.

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
After a unprofessional incident at a public school, we found this amazing charter school. As a public school teacher, I was hesitant to send my daughter to a charter school but am so thankful that we chose James Madison. My daughter has been attending school there for four years and we could not ask for a better all around education experience. Classes are small, curriculum is challenging, teachers support the students not only in their academics but also in character building. The teachers take the time to listen to students and help them grow as individuals teaching them interpersonal skills. As a public school teacher, I know that public schools do not offer that. My daughter is growing into a strong, smart , well rounded lady and James Madison has played a big roll in her overall development.


James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Our older daughter graduated from James Madison last year. She was accepted to the #1 US News & World Report school in the Midwest and received multiple scholarships. This school more than prepared her for the rigors of college. Our younger daughter is currently a student and we know she is being well prepared for the future. In addition to academics, this school builds character into students via the code of conduct. Extra curriculars are abundant and of high quality, especially the Spring musical production. We highly recommend James Madison to all who are looking for a quality education and a great place for their children to grow into quality young people!

James Madison Preparatory School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
I would recommend this school to any one. My daughter has completed 2 years there and so far we absolutely love it. They give a wide range of extracurricular activities weather its from choir to sports or to theater, everyone gets a chance to do what they wish. The classroom size is quite small but it gives the teachers to actually get to know the students. The staff there are quite friendly and exceptionally respectful to parents. Disciplinary actions are taken very seriously at this school. They are always making sure this is a safe environment for children to learn. Acedemics are also something they take very seiously, after all it is a college prep school. Overall I would say this school is definitely one I would recommend to everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Madison Preparatory School
5815 S. McClintock Dr. Tempe, AZ 85283, Tempe, AZ  85283
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (480) 345-2306
Last modified James Madison Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top