Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
67 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phoenix Metro Islamic School 1

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
This is a terrible school! My daughters used to go here and were treated unfairly by the teachers who always preferred to put their own kids in front of the students. The educational value is low and no one is organized. I couldn't stand that school.

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Some of the parents were really nice in pointing out school issues. Most of everyone I know pulled their kids out of this school. This school is actually called Noor Academy and my kids went to noor for 3 awful years


Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
My kids had the worst teachers! They didn't even had a degree and when I found this out I moved them out of this school. The teachers spell things incorrectly and when my daughter corrected them they used to get upset and say this is how u have to spell it even if incorrect

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
I felt that I was a teacher for my kids. Everyday I would teach them the lesson not sure what the teacher does and plus give all the homework so first I teach the lesson and then help with homework

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
The students only develop any persistent is due to the parents help and the push from the parents.


Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
My kids hated going here and even I don't blame them. When I wanted to quickly say something to the teacher the principal got upset at me like I am a child and says make an appt with the teacher if I want to talk to her

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
No all the school cares about is getting their money. Teachers don't have a good relationship with the students. My kids used to cry each day going there

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
During any school competiton, the teachers always made their kids win first place whether there was a mistake or not! Hardworking students are simply told to do better next year when they can clearly see mistakes of the teachers son or daughter


Phoenix Metro Islamic School 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a parent
I put my daughters to PMIS not expecting much, but they have so far happily surprised me. It is by far the best school for kids to learn about Islam, Quran and Arabic, along with right behavior and morals. No question about it. In terms of academic achievements, the teachers are not top of the crop, but they are trying their best. Small class sizes help and overall there is a very supportive and healthy environments. With some help at home, my daughters are both 1 grade ahead of their level and they score above 80 percentile in standardized tests. They have both become fluent in Quran and can speak some Arabic as well (we do not have Arabic background). Now they have a whole new management, a very capable principal and soon going to move to a brand new building. I guess this is a right time for the parents who are sitting on the fence so far. I am glad I made my choice in favor of PMIS.

Phoenix Metro Islamic School 3

Posted April 09, 2010
- a student
PMIS is a good school if you want your children to learn Quran, Arabic, and Islamic Studies. However, the education system is not effective..The teaching methods of some teachers did not benefit me and just made me do all the work..Overall it is good, but it still needs improvement..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phoenix Metro Islamic School
125 East 6th Street, Tempe, AZ  85281
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (480) 829-1443
Last modified Phoenix Metro Islamic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top