Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Elementary at Tempe

Charter | K-8 | 314 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 29 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

82 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2012

Sites like this can be a valuable tool for parents making choices for the best education experience for their child. However there is a danger that disgruntled parents can use the tool to make inaccurate statements that border on libel. Statements such as students leaving because of education not happening are untrue. Statements that tutoring is not available is untrue-in fact it is available 4 days of the week. Finally, that the staff is puzzled to the identity of the parent is evidence that the parent did not approach the staff with concerns to find solutions but cut and run, leaving questionable criticism in your wake.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2012

I will continue to have my children attend Imagine for their education. My son has been at Imagine since kindergarten and has been in Mr. D s and Ms Browning Special Ed class for almost 2 years and I can t begin to express how happy I am to see how much my son has progressed. The two of them together make an awesome team. In Kindergarten my son was in a normal class setting where he was overwhelmed by the class size. He was disruptive and wasn t able to soak in the information that was being taught. The staff at Imagine saw the issue and set a meeting with me so we could come up with a win win solution for all involved. Now he is where he should be academically and has been able to toggle back in fourth from Mr. D s/Ms Browning s class back to a regular class setting. I am a happy mom!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

In the last 6 years at Imagine I've gone from Impressed to dissappointed. Under prior Principals the teachers and school were very family friendly. In the alst two years the quality of teachers has been greatly reduced. Teachers are no longer knowledgeable and do not know how to communicate. I think the great experience stops in elementary school and I suggest other schools for middle school. Imagine WAS an excelling school and no longer is considered that. There is bullying on the bus and on the playground with the older grades. I recommend Imagine for the early years but for great education for middle school I suggest going elsewhere. My sons class lost 6 kids this year due to educators not educating not because of kids being bad. When asking for tutoring and other help this year for my child I was told in private by one of the educators that the reason they wont tutor is because they dont want to stay later after school to help. The teachers are too busy. Im glad to be told the teachers are to busy to educate my child. Thank you I found a Prep school that is willing to make sure my son has a smart future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

Is there room for improvement...yes. However, which school doesnt have room for improvement? My daughter feels secure at Imagine Tempe knowing that the teachers have her best interests at heart and that is all that really matters to me. Because of this she is thriving. Her 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Bennett along with the other 2nd grade teacher,Ms. Knox work beautifully as a team to get the kids motivated to learn and progress. The principle has shown that it's more important to have kids that are serious about school in the classrooms and not just bodies taking up space by cleaning out the school of rift raft. this has given the serious kids a place to flourish:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

Imagine Tempe is a great K-8 school; my children have thrived and excelled in their studies there. The staff there is courteous, cooperative, supportive and friendly. They work with you to help the children succeed. My children have been to various schools in and out of state during their lifetime and Imagine Tempe is the only school were they have academically achieved greatness. It truly takes a village to help raise a child to greatness and Imagine Tempe School is that village .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

My son has been at Imagine for 5 years and it's a great school. The teachers and all the staff are very friendly and so helpful. Its like a family. Everyone knows everyone. I definitely recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

Last year was a year of change and transition for Imagine Tempe. Any educated person knows that change doesn't come without challenges. Many parents were upset with the principal because he holds everyone accountable for their actions. Parents have been use to being completely catered to after whining and complaining too much. There is a line that had to be drawn. As a parent at Tempe, I expect to be heard but the world doesn't revolve around me or my student. Imagine Tempe cares about my child as an individual and motivates her to success. Teachers that were dead weight and caused test scores to be low due to lack of teaching have been cleared out. It is going to be a solid year and I have faith in the principal and his professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My child attended this school for the past 2 years and will not be returning for the upcoming school year. In the beginning of the last school year the principal was demoted and it all went downhill from there. Their middle school was absolutely horrible - the one saving grace was Mrs. Paylovash, however, she has also been let go. The principal, Mr. Boyd, refuses to meet with you or return phone calls to discuss any issues. Choose any other school besides this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

This is a fantastic school. They are excellent with communicating with the parents and each other. They have gone waaaay out of their way to give my son the special education he needed through his IEP plan. They don't treat the parents like they're dumb and they have really made my kids feel comfortable in a their new school year. I'm definitely having kids stay here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

no, i am not a digruntled employee, but a disgruntled parent. i have watched this school go from excelling to flat out failing in 3 years. my son is being taking out of this school as of today. the 8th grade teacher turn over is unbelievable. Mr. Boyd is out sick 2 out of 5 days and the fron office does not have a clue as what they are doing. Mr.D has become unattainable leaving the kids in the learch. this is by far the worst school I have ever seen. try contacing the corp office and you get nothing. Mrs. Polveious is the only good thing to happen to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

the school has one of the greatest 2nd grade teachers I have ever seen in action....really understands the kids. the administration welcomes new parents and kids. This is a great place for a child to get a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I am very pleased to hear that the principle and the front office manager are leaving this year. Maybe next year will run much better and the students and staff will get treated fairly. The teachers are amazing and I cant wait to see what the school has to offer next year under new management
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

My children have been at this school for three years and I am very happy with the school. If I have any concerns or suggestions the principal is always available and takes them into consideration. The school seems much more organized this year and the staff at the front office are very friendly and professional. Several bulletin boards have been created in the front office with all the information that is going on at the school so even if the parent does not get the paperwork at home, they are able to get it in the front office. The teachers are fantastic and are very caring. They want the children to succeed and to be all that they can. I highly recommend this school. It is a fantastic place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Ms Philopulos has done a great job with my special needs son. He has never done so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

There is absolultly nothing wrong with the staff at Imagine. This school is a fantastic school. I do believe that athe front office staff as well as the principal, need to be revamped. There is little organization or feeling of welcomeness in the front office. Teachers are wonderful!


Posted February 4, 2010

My son began attending first grade this year and I am very pleased with his educational progress. His teacher abd the entire staff are dedicated and friendly. The school truly does have a community feeling - you're made to feel like you belong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I just read the last entry. What a joke. My children have been at Imagine for 4 years and I volunteer frequently. My children have received an excellent education, and Imagine is an amazing organization; however, it requires its employees to have integrity. It's obvious that the last two comments were written by people who were recently fired for lack of integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My son has been a student at Imagine for 2 years and I have decided to pull him out. His teacher has informed me she thinks he may need to repeat his grade although his last report card showed all A's. She has never spoken to me directly to say there was an issue so I could get my son extra help. Also the front office staff is forever changing and the current lady up front does not even check my id when I pick up my niece and nephew. She didn't even check their cards to be sure I can pick them up. Anyone could walk in and get a child. Can we say security problem. This school needs to address its staff issues and high turnover for front office people. I would not recommend this school any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I'll tell you right now. I have 2 kids that attented this school. It was a big mistake taking them out of a structured enviroment and bringing into this zoo that Principal Gonzales calls a school. Kids are poorly educated and always fall behind. I have moved them out of the school and now have to worry about my youngest. Who due to poor curriculum might have to possibly repeat the current grade he is in now. After being promoted with As at Imagine at Tempe. Imagine what could have happened if I left him there? Extremely dissapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

This school is a gen-in-disguse. You must be a dedicated parent and involvement is a must. Small class rooms, dedicated teachers and well informed parents. A week does not go by without me being informed what my child is doing the following week. Principal greets students and parents daily and teachers are very dedicated to their students. Local public schools pale in comparison of educational curriculum. I wish they had a bigger campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 5%
White 32% 42%
Hispanic 21% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 6%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • East Valley School of the Year (2007)
  • East Valley School of the Year
  • Imagine Schools New School of the Year

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Stacey Boyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (480) 355-1650

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • flag football
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1538 East Southern Ave.
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 355-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT