Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Tempe

Charter | K-8 | 315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 33 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2012

My daughters enrolled in Imagine this year after several years of homeschooling, and they love it! The teachers care, the front office staff is very helpful and knowledgeable, and their core subjects are spot on with where they need to be in each grade. I will continue to support Imagine and recommend it to my friends as a great alternative to traditional public schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

I pulled my kids from this school to homeschool. Come to find out my daughter who was passed on to the next grade was not taught anything. I have to restart 4th grade with her. Tutoring is available at Imagine, but I was never told that she needed it. My other daughter's teacher told me that she need tutoring and she was going, but my eldest was completely unprepared for the next grade. It really saddens me. I will give them props, because they are starting to change the school. I hope that they continue to make those changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

I was a former parent who pulled their child after 2 years there. THey didn't receive the proper education or teachers didn't get the proper support from admin since they were most new. Unfortunately, they care more about the numbers and not about the kids. The test results for the last few years are a direct reflection of this and the inexperienced teachers who come from an "agreed upon partnership with the parent corporation" are not trained accordingly. The new teachers are not true educators and only have 1 summer of experience before they are thrown into their first year of school. How can a shool go from Performing to Improvement in 1 year. They fire all of the good teachers who have a voice. Also, the school is underfunded by the parent corporation. In the end, they have to cut specials like library, computers, art and pe because they can't afford them. I would not recommend this school to any parent who actually cares about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Sites like this can be a valuable tool for parents making choices for the best education experience for their child. However there is a danger that disgruntled parents can use the tool to make inaccurate statements that border on libel. Statements such as students leaving because of education not happening are untrue. Statements that tutoring is not available is untrue-in fact it is available 4 days of the week. Finally, that the staff is puzzled to the identity of the parent is evidence that the parent did not approach the staff with concerns to find solutions but cut and run, leaving questionable criticism in your wake.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2012

I will continue to have my children attend Imagine for their education. My son has been at Imagine since kindergarten and has been in Mr. D s and Ms Browning Special Ed class for almost 2 years and I can t begin to express how happy I am to see how much my son has progressed. The two of them together make an awesome team. In Kindergarten my son was in a normal class setting where he was overwhelmed by the class size. He was disruptive and wasn t able to soak in the information that was being taught. The staff at Imagine saw the issue and set a meeting with me so we could come up with a win win solution for all involved. Now he is where he should be academically and has been able to toggle back in fourth from Mr. D s/Ms Browning s class back to a regular class setting. I am a happy mom!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

In the last 6 years at Imagine I've gone from Impressed to dissappointed. Under prior Principals the teachers and school were very family friendly. In the alst two years the quality of teachers has been greatly reduced. Teachers are no longer knowledgeable and do not know how to communicate. I think the great experience stops in elementary school and I suggest other schools for middle school. Imagine WAS an excelling school and no longer is considered that. There is bullying on the bus and on the playground with the older grades. I recommend Imagine for the early years but for great education for middle school I suggest going elsewhere. My sons class lost 6 kids this year due to educators not educating not because of kids being bad. When asking for tutoring and other help this year for my child I was told in private by one of the educators that the reason they wont tutor is because they dont want to stay later after school to help. The teachers are too busy. Im glad to be told the teachers are to busy to educate my child. Thank you I found a Prep school that is willing to make sure my son has a smart future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

Is there room for improvement...yes. However, which school doesnt have room for improvement? My daughter feels secure at Imagine Tempe knowing that the teachers have her best interests at heart and that is all that really matters to me. Because of this she is thriving. Her 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Bennett along with the other 2nd grade teacher,Ms. Knox work beautifully as a team to get the kids motivated to learn and progress. The principle has shown that it's more important to have kids that are serious about school in the classrooms and not just bodies taking up space by cleaning out the school of rift raft. this has given the serious kids a place to flourish:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

Imagine Tempe is a great K-8 school; my children have thrived and excelled in their studies there. The staff there is courteous, cooperative, supportive and friendly. They work with you to help the children succeed. My children have been to various schools in and out of state during their lifetime and Imagine Tempe is the only school were they have academically achieved greatness. It truly takes a village to help raise a child to greatness and Imagine Tempe School is that village .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

My son has been at Imagine for 5 years and it's a great school. The teachers and all the staff are very friendly and so helpful. Its like a family. Everyone knows everyone. I definitely recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

Last year was a year of change and transition for Imagine Tempe. Any educated person knows that change doesn't come without challenges. Many parents were upset with the principal because he holds everyone accountable for their actions. Parents have been use to being completely catered to after whining and complaining too much. There is a line that had to be drawn. As a parent at Tempe, I expect to be heard but the world doesn't revolve around me or my student. Imagine Tempe cares about my child as an individual and motivates her to success. Teachers that were dead weight and caused test scores to be low due to lack of teaching have been cleared out. It is going to be a solid year and I have faith in the principal and his professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My child attended this school for the past 2 years and will not be returning for the upcoming school year. In the beginning of the last school year the principal was demoted and it all went downhill from there. Their middle school was absolutely horrible - the one saving grace was Mrs. Paylovash, however, she has also been let go. The principal, Mr. Boyd, refuses to meet with you or return phone calls to discuss any issues. Choose any other school besides this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

This is a fantastic school. They are excellent with communicating with the parents and each other. They have gone waaaay out of their way to give my son the special education he needed through his IEP plan. They don't treat the parents like they're dumb and they have really made my kids feel comfortable in a their new school year. I'm definitely having kids stay here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

no, i am not a digruntled employee, but a disgruntled parent. i have watched this school go from excelling to flat out failing in 3 years. my son is being taking out of this school as of today. the 8th grade teacher turn over is unbelievable. Mr. Boyd is out sick 2 out of 5 days and the fron office does not have a clue as what they are doing. Mr.D has become unattainable leaving the kids in the learch. this is by far the worst school I have ever seen. try contacing the corp office and you get nothing. Mrs. Polveious is the only good thing to happen to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

the school has one of the greatest 2nd grade teachers I have ever seen in action....really understands the kids. the administration welcomes new parents and kids. This is a great place for a child to get a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I am very pleased to hear that the principle and the front office manager are leaving this year. Maybe next year will run much better and the students and staff will get treated fairly. The teachers are amazing and I cant wait to see what the school has to offer next year under new management
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

My children have been at this school for three years and I am very happy with the school. If I have any concerns or suggestions the principal is always available and takes them into consideration. The school seems much more organized this year and the staff at the front office are very friendly and professional. Several bulletin boards have been created in the front office with all the information that is going on at the school so even if the parent does not get the paperwork at home, they are able to get it in the front office. The teachers are fantastic and are very caring. They want the children to succeed and to be all that they can. I highly recommend this school. It is a fantastic place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Ms Philopulos has done a great job with my special needs son. He has never done so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

There is absolultly nothing wrong with the staff at Imagine. This school is a fantastic school. I do believe that athe front office staff as well as the principal, need to be revamped. There is little organization or feeling of welcomeness in the front office. Teachers are wonderful!


Posted February 4, 2010

My son began attending first grade this year and I am very pleased with his educational progress. His teacher abd the entire staff are dedicated and friendly. The school truly does have a community feeling - you're made to feel like you belong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I just read the last entry. What a joke. My children have been at Imagine for 4 years and I volunteer frequently. My children have received an excellent education, and Imagine is an amazing organization; however, it requires its employees to have integrity. It's obvious that the last two comments were written by people who were recently fired for lack of integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 30% 5%
White 24% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • East Valley School of the Year (2007)
  • East Valley School of the Year
  • Imagine Schools New School of the Year

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Stacey Boyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (480) 355-1650

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • flag football
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1538 East Southern Ave.
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 355-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT