Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Tempe

Charter | K-8 | 315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 33 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2010

My son has been a student at Imagine for 2 years and I have decided to pull him out. His teacher has informed me she thinks he may need to repeat his grade although his last report card showed all A's. She has never spoken to me directly to say there was an issue so I could get my son extra help. Also the front office staff is forever changing and the current lady up front does not even check my id when I pick up my niece and nephew. She didn't even check their cards to be sure I can pick them up. Anyone could walk in and get a child. Can we say security problem. This school needs to address its staff issues and high turnover for front office people. I would not recommend this school any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I'll tell you right now. I have 2 kids that attented this school. It was a big mistake taking them out of a structured enviroment and bringing into this zoo that Principal Gonzales calls a school. Kids are poorly educated and always fall behind. I have moved them out of the school and now have to worry about my youngest. Who due to poor curriculum might have to possibly repeat the current grade he is in now. After being promoted with As at Imagine at Tempe. Imagine what could have happened if I left him there? Extremely dissapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

This school is a gen-in-disguse. You must be a dedicated parent and involvement is a must. Small class rooms, dedicated teachers and well informed parents. A week does not go by without me being informed what my child is doing the following week. Principal greets students and parents daily and teachers are very dedicated to their students. Local public schools pale in comparison of educational curriculum. I wish they had a bigger campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

We just finished our third year with Imagine and I am quite pleased. My son made amazing academic growth, received free tutoring and was able to participate in sports. They really worked on teaching character to the kids. I liked how they stood at the front door each morning and greeted the kids. They also walked my son to the car after school. It seems like they really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I never know what is going on at the school. There is no communication to the parents, such as a school newsletter. I find out things at the last minute, and it's just extremely unorganized. I will not be bringing my child back to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I really love this school and I am impressed by the quality of education my kids are getting. Mr. Conner and Mr. D'Agastino are particularly amazing. The AIMS Scores keep growing and the school has a terriffic label form the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My son is happy and I feel safe and comfortable with all the efforts they make for the children there. There may be their politics within the staff, However as long as it does not affect our children I won't make it my problem. I know my boundaries as a parent and have a great relationship with his teacher. I would give it a 5 but they are shy of a music program there. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I just pulled my 2 children from this school because of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

My children have gone to Imagine since it opened. I would not have my children in any other school. There have been changes since the begining of the school year that have been for the better. I am so happy that there is a PE teacher who is teaching PE and not just having the kids sitting on the stage or running in the halls. The school can only get better from here on out. Keep up the great work Imagine family and remember they are many,many families who stand behind you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I have two children at Imagine. One in 1st grade and another in 3rd. Imagine has been a good place for my kids these past two years. They are being well educated. My 1st grader reads at a 3rd grade level and her teacher challenges her at her level. I know she provides the same for the other children. I also am very happy about the sports that they offer the children and the tutoring. My son is very excited about joining the basketball team. I have two older childern and they never had an oppurtunity to play sports at that age in Elementary School. These children are learning and in a great environment. My thought about the negative comments are Get Over It.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

This school has gone through many changes as it begins its third year. I believe the administration is doing its best for the students and families at the school. The negative comments that appear on this website are from previous employees that did not believe the Imagine philosophy. It is sad that they have to be vindictive and bitter because they are no longer employed. The school went from performing t performing plus this year and I am sure that will be exceeding soon enough. My son loves his teacher Mrs. Konishi-Pease and she spends quality time with him which I know he would not get at our neighborhood school. I can see an improvement in his speech, vocabulary, academics and social skill in just the short time school has been in session. His father and I are excited to see his progress as he moves through kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

It is obvious that the person who continuously writes these ridculous reviews is a disgruntled employee who was terminated. As a parent I reccommend you tour the school and make your own decisions. My children made 2 years academic growth at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

This school is a joke. The administrator makes promises that she never intends to keep and the children suffer for it. There is no follow through on her part. If Imagine would get rid of the administrator at this school, I believe the school could improve greatly. I would never recommend this school unless major changes are made, starting with the administration.


Posted July 14, 2008

I am hugely disappointed with this school. My son attended the Pre-K program that cost me over 5000 dollars and can't recognize letters. I paid for a pre-education to prepare my son and got nothing out of it except an expensive baby-sitter at the least. I do not, will not, and would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My daughter goes here and has excelled far beyond her step sister that goes to public school. They are teaching a more advanced curriculum and the kids really get great 1 on 1 care. All the teachers are friendly and always willing to sit down and discuss any issues you or they are having. They have all done an amazing job and I plan to send all of my children here in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I teach pre-school at this school. We have 100% return of our Tempe staff for the next school year. I do not believe that the information being put on this site is truthful. It seems like a personal vendetta. That is sad because the school really is doing great things for kids. That is what it's all about.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2008

This school has practicaly doubled in size from last year. The principal has worked hard to make the numbers but has not been as diligent at following through with promises. Our staff is constantly under stress because of lack of support from our principal. Sadly, I believe this carries through to the students. I want to stay and be a part of the solution, but I am an not proud of the conflicts I see within the school. The principal asked for people to rate our school. My critique is that it needs new leadership.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2008

I am so disappointed with the principals lack of follow through. I wouldn't recommend this school. Whether I pull my daughter now or finish the year, she won't be here next year under this same administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

This is a school with a lot of potential, 'under different leadership'. I think the principal is more concerned with the meeting numbers and not so much student needs. Most of the teachers are great, but some don't respect the students and therefore; students don't respect them either. I dont think the playground is adequate. Kids need time to run and play. They can't possibly get that there. Not an environment I want my child in 7 hours a day/ 5 days a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

This school is wonderful. They have done so much for troubled and academically challenged kids. The teachers and staff truly care about these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 30% 5%
White 24% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • East Valley School of the Year (2007)
  • East Valley School of the Year
  • Imagine Schools New School of the Year

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Stacey Boyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (480) 355-1650

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • flag football
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1538 East Southern Ave.
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 355-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT