Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Center for Educational Excellence

Charter | K-8 | 363 students

 
 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

92 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

They have high expectations for all students and the students know what is expected and perform accordingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Great teachers, they really care for each child. Small class sizes. Kids have been there since pre school. Love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My son has been going to the school since he was 3. He's in third grade now and I've been amazed at his progress. The teachers truly care about each child, and due to the small clase sizes, they have the ability to be very interactive with each one. CEE is a very happy safe environment with a family atmosphere. The principal is very approachable and always has an open door. I would highly recommend anyone to attend. In fact, the vast majority of my friends already have their children at CEE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The culture of the school has really helped the children to become a community that works well together. The teachers have the students best interests at heart and are very flexible in allowing the children to progress at their level. I wouldn't want my kids in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The teachers are caring and very concerned about the students succeeding. They all seem passionate about making each child special and a total individual. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

A special place with caring, inspiring teachers like Stephanie Kovesdy!


Posted April 18, 2010

my kids so happay with the teachers and the adminstraion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

It has very caring and dedicated teachers especially Stephanie Kovesdy


Posted April 17, 2010

This school has teachers who go the extra mile to prepare lesson plans and to meet the needs of each student in their classes. I have heard many parents bring their children to this school because of the wonderful academics and caring environment! Stephanie Kovesdy teaches second grade at this school and is an outstanding, caring, patient teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Its an amazing school. I had the privilege of working there for 2 years, and if I were to move back, I would hope to go right back to teaching there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

CEE has awesome teachers and staff! We switched from public and the only regret we have it not switching sooner. My daughter absolutely loves her school and so do we! We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

CEE is an A+ Excelling school. The administrator is fantastic. Where else can you get a private school environment, free? All teachers are incredibly involved with each child's success and strive at great lengths to make sure each child succeeds to his/her ability. No child left behind!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

CEE teaches to the student not the mean of the classroom. They want every child to succeed and do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My grand daughter attends the Center for Educational Excellence. I have not experienced a more caring and friendly school atmosphere in all my years. The curriculum seems to be top notch. She is way above her grade level and they still keep challenging her! The staff teaches good values and manners as well. The students have the opportunity to be involved in many enrichment programs as well where the staff goes above and beyond to create a creative and positive experience. Their music programs are not to be missed!! My grand daughter loves it!!!


Posted April 14, 2010

Caring staff and faculty. I feel the students receive more individual attention because of the smaller class sizes. Variety of extra-curricular activities offered year-round


Posted April 13, 2010

Amazing staff and dedication to helping each student shine!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

All the teachers and staff at CEE truly care about each other and our students. It is a wonderful place to work, learn and grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2010

The teachers and the entire school staff care personally about each individual student. They do everything they can to help them excel, even the 'challenging' ones! We switched to CEE this year from a public school, and we are so glad we made this choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school really cares about each and every student's success with their education. All of his teachers still check on how he is doing though he is now in 6th grade. He has made close friendships and the ability to work at his level. My son could not get this type of education if it wasn't for this awesome charter school. My three-year old will be starting pre-K in August and I am so happy to give my youngest child the same opporunity to learn and grow into a wonderful young man like my older son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

The fantastic teachers and staff at this school are the best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 E. Elliot #9
Tempe, AZ 85284
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 632-1940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT