Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Center for Educational Excellence

Charter | K-8 | 363 students

 
 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

92 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2005

I feel that my children have had a better opportunity to learn in this school than in the regular public school system. There are some teachers who are better prepared than others but the support from Mrs. Cochran is consistent and make s big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

Principal is out of touch with academics. Teachers have no supervision. Little organization to the operation of the school; everything seems to be done 'on the fly.' The school seems to operate only because of the PTO's involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

I am very pleased with the education my son is getting at CEE. The student teacher ratio ensures my son gets the attention he needs to learn, and not get lost in the crowd as he did in the local public school. The staff has been very helpful in supporting my son and his academic learning. The only down side is the amount of fund raisers that are needed to support the school. To me it is worth the time to ensure my son gets a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

My daughter attended pre-K here, and it was not wonderful, especially considering how much I was paying. The pre-K class was very overcrowded. The kids ran wild, and a few of the rowdy boys taught my daughter how to say many nasty things, which the teacher did nothing about. On a few occasions, I walked in and heard two teachers viciously yelling at the kids. Most of the time when I entered the school, the women at the front desk didn't even look at me, or acknowledge me. That concerned me for safety reasons. It was because of all this that I didn't enroll my child in the kindergarten at CEE. Instead, I enrolled my daughter in a Kyrene public school, and I like it much better. I won't be enrolling my other children in the preschool or pre-K at CEE, either. The moms are also very 'cliquish'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

I have 2 children attending CEE. One has been there for 5 years, the other for 4 years. I have been involved with 2 other charters and I must say, this one is the best. The staff at CEE makes you feel welcome and they care about my children being successful. The teachers are very good about assisting a child and motivating them to do their best. The principal knows each child and parent by name and never treats you like you are beneath her. I've enjoyed being involved with CEE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

My child has attend CEE for a few years. The last year has been different then before. There is less control of the children and other childern are allowed to tease others without discipline. The pricipal seems to be unaware of what is going on in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

I have had two children at the school for the past five years. One of my children has ADHD and can be difficult. Both children have received an outstanding education. The teachers and staff have provided love, support and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2003

My children have each had excellent experiences the two years they've been at CEE. Their teachers are outstanding, they go above and beyond and have exceeded our expectations. They are very intuitive, caring, motivating and are commited to helping each child learn to their fullest potential. They clearly enjoy their roles as teachers. They have made their relationships with us, the parents, a priority as well. These relationships are outstanding. Stacey Cochran has created an extremely positive, interactive community within the school. She is very approachable and truly commited to the academic and social growth of each student.


Posted March 20, 2003

high standards, academically challenging, found too much homework given. Overall a good charter school with a lot of activities and field trips.


Posted March 17, 2003

Since my daughter started at this school, she didn't know the difference between letters and numbers. She has a minor learning disability and had problems comprehending. CEE has turned her around in 2 years to reading her own books and now she loves to write her own stories. This is just 1st grade. This is an awesome school and they have awesome teachers and staff. I would recommend this school to anyone!


Posted February 28, 2003

I am very pleased with the school overall. I would like to see less homework sent home, and less mandatory books to read, more room for the children to pick the books they would like to read. Parents and students are great.


Posted October 15, 2002

This is our third year at CEE, my daughter is in 2nd grade. We have been extremely pleased with the attention the children and families receive from the administrator, Stacey Cochran, and all the staff. It's a wonderful school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 E. Elliot #9
Tempe, AZ 85284
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 632-1940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT