Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Compadre High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Compadre has an awesome compassionate principal who truly cares and wants to help the kids. Need I say more?

Compadre High School 1

Posted November 29, 2013
- a parent
Compadre like HSI and other "free" schools, either a district "last resort"school or a Charter school is a great option for those kids whose needs are not being met at a traditional high school. But for many attending these schools it's an easy way to "make up the credits" to graduate. These students are being given grades they don't deserve and are allowed to "catch up" missing credits to graduate with their class. Why should we accommodate lazy study habits and habitual absenses with a diploma that has not taught them anything. You can only be proud of something you truly work for. A gradis diploma won't help them with college or university degrees. They won't be able to understand what is being taught because they never had to do anything. A lifetime at McDonalds is not fulfilling. If going to these types of schools is necessary at the very least the work should be the same as the traditional school but with more acess to help them learn. Not push them through. REMEMBER FOLKS these are the kids who will one day lead our Country. Heaven help us all.


Compadre High School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a student
Alright well it seems that there's parents and such talking down Compadre and all the teachers and students here so let me just clear things up a bit. I am a junior here at Compadre who chose to leave Desert Vista High School on my own free will because DV was a terrible experience for me. When I came here and got to know the people and staff, I began to really like the school. The teachers actually take the time to help guide their students and encourage getting their work done on a one on one basis. Also, you can actually talk to the teachers here and have real conversations with them without the feeling that they think that they are above you and are quite friendly. Same goes for all my peers here, there are such wide varieties of people and personalities that I've found talking to new people and making new friends easy. Sure this school has it's flaws just like every other school out there, but they are nothing serious. And just because in the eyes of some people that compadre is not a "real high school" doesn't change the fact that a Compadre diploma means just as much as a Desert Vista diploma. Hope that helps clear any false accusations against us here at Compadre.

Compadre High School 1

Posted December 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is a JOKE. Participation points and teachers "giving" the kids grades they didn't earn so they kids pass. HOW, can someone tell me, does this really benefit these kids (and our state/nation) in the long run? Kids getting recognized for achievements they didn't earn and blue ribbons for mediocre effort abound! No penalities for skipping classes. So, enroll your kids at your their own peril. Their futures would, frankly, be better served just getting that Taco Bell job now. A "B" means absolutely nothing when the effort and work isn't there to back it up and when the teachers exist to simply push them on through the system so they can get that rubber diploma at the end of it all. I feel bad for the REAL high school kids who actually bust their butts and earn a REAL high school degree due to hard work and EFFORT. I hope that the college systems see the Compadre degree for what it is and doesn't hold it equal with the degrees the real high schools are awarding their students (WHO EARNED IT) . This school is a waste of taxpayer dollars.

Compadre High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Compadre is able to relate to students on their level and students that aren't able to excel in the average high school are able to get the credits to graduate and many are then able to realize their dreams and go on to college. My son scored above average on his state AIMS but was 4 credits short of graduation is at Conpadre and has decided to go to college (finally) thanks to the staff at Compadre-Evans High School.


Compadre High School 3

Posted March 03, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Compadre High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Compadre High School 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Compadre High School 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Compadre High School 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Compadre High School
500 W Guadalupe Rd, Tempe, AZ  85283
(480) 839-0292
Last modified Compadre High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Compadre High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top