Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corona Del Sol High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2006

As a student currently attending Corona, I believe that this school has a very good academic program and also offers many honors and AP courses. However, they seem to be lacking decent math teachers, particularly for the higher level math classes. Overall, the teaching quality is high but there are a few below average teachers. The music program is excellent and the marching band is undoubtly best in state. Corona also offers a variety of clubs and has a very good sports department. But overall, Corona is a fine school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

CDS has an excellent administrative staff, they are truly concerned for the pupils. The baseball teams are amazing! The choirs are top notch. Our family has had an awesome experience at CDS, we will miss CDS when we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

I believe that Corona is an excellent school and that students get a well rounded education. There are many extra curricular activities. One area that does concern me us the Spanish program. The school is aware of this concern by several parents but nothing seems to changing. The language is geared toward the Spanish of Spain not Mexico. That does not make sense to me us our proximity to Mexico. We have been told that successful studentds from the Corona Spanish program go on to win awards and competitions but we feel the program needs to be geered to the majority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

This is an excellent high school whose academics are superb. The honors program is unlike anyother.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2005

Great programs for our kids. Daughter and son both excelled at Corona. Music and honors programs among the best -- probably best in the State. Certainly the band program is the best without question. Good level of parent involvment. Met many and engaged ourselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

My daughter is a senior at CDS High School. She is academically gifted, and has great support in the offering of advanced (AP) and Honors courses, and in college/career counseling. CDS ranks very well in district tests. I have also met many teachers and administrators at CDS who have been teaching or working there for 15 - 20 years. That says something positive about the principal and the academic/behavioral climate of the school. My only complaint would be the school's huge size - which is not CDS' fault. They manage almost 3,000 with great aplomb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

Corona del Sol High School is located in South Tempe. Corona provides one the highest quality educational experiences while offering a full range of extra curriculuar activities. The quality of all programs is one of the best in the TUHSD.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 20, 2005

This school is fine if your child has no learning issues or A.D.D. If they do forget it. Also this school is great if your family makes a lot of money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

My son loves this school. They have a very good music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

Fantastic school...very diverse student body - full of high achievers
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

My daughter's experience at Corona del Sol has been excellent. They are a well organized school with highly experienced teachers. I am frequently impressed with the programs that Corona offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Two sons graduated from Corona del Sol and now my granddaughter is about to graduate. This has been a great school in all ways, academically, sports, music, etc. I'm in awe of the quality of your choral presentations. They are consistently outstanding and so professional. Thank you, Corona del Sol!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

Corona del Sol is a fabulous school! The faculty and staff are dedicated and involved. The student population is diverse and enthusiastic.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2005

Imagine a school where teachers teach with enthusiasm, guidance counselors really care and administration pays attention to what kida and parents say. Although student population is big (about 3200, I think), my child never got lost. Teachers call parents back! Guidance remembers your name. Administration is involved, concerned and participatory. Extracurricular activities are varied, well-supervised and wonderful. My experience with this school was nothing but strong and positive. We had to leave CdS because of a family move and, boy, do we miss it. As a parent who has experienced CdS and now,a different school, I'm confident in saying, 'There's no place like CdS! There's no place like CdS! There's no place like CdS!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

Corona is one of the best schools in Arizona. It's a 5A school with (As of '04-'05) 2800 students. It has excellent programs in both academics and sports, and offers literally almost a hundred or more clubs to join. The performing arts are also brilliant, with four full bands, orchestra, piano classes, guitar, entire percussion classes, and a developing world music (Better known as Steel Drums) class. An excellerated program is also offered, which includes honors and AP courses. Every year it has many National Merit Scholars. Overall, this is a great school with tons of parental support and a great atmosphere for any family!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2004

Corona del sol has been a very good school for my two teens. It appears to be a safe evironment with good follow up from the school regarding attendance or problems with schooling. I was impressed that they are strict on checking after the kids who missed school and have been happy to participate on the whole when contacted about your child's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

625 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 E. Knox Road
Tempe, AZ 85284
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT