Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corona Del Sol High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, August 17, 2014

My son is just began his junior year at Corona Del Sol. Corona has been a terrific place for him to learn and grow. The academics have been tough and the music program has been excellent. There is something for everyone here. He has participated in after school clubs and feels a huge loyalty to Corona. The team sports after school have also given him a strong sense of self. High school years can be very rough on kids and although my son can be a bit of a loner, he continues to say he enjoys school and that Corona is the best. I couldn't ask for anything more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

Corona is AWFUL. I could be sitting in class and I'll just see smoke coming from the back of the room because there are kids smoking back there!! And the teacher doesn't even care! Some of the teachers are great but overall, it isn't worth it. Maybe you'll get a good teacher, bust mostly, you won't. Not to mention the cliques! You can't turn anywhere without seeing a group making fun of a kid by himself. If you're thinking of Corona, don't. You'll just be miserable the entire time.


Posted May 27, 2014

This school was the worst high school experience a student could ask for. Drugs are rampant in the school and the students are horrible, not just to each other but even to the teachers. I have not been very impressed with the majority of the teachers. Not to mention, the administration is not very organized or very helpful. In fact, they are rather rude and could care less about individuals. Also, it takes almost twenty minutes to get signed out of school because most of the time they just sit behind their desk doing nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2013

PRESCHOOL Review: This review is only for the preschool that is offered at this school, not the high school. This preschool is cheap! However, you get what you pay for. My daughter went to this school for a little over a year. The director told my child that if she did not follow directions "that Santa would not bring her any presents." I couldn't believe it! The assistant director (aka an adult) told me this was said. Not my child. Also, the directors give preferential treatment to students whose parents work at this school. Don't expect fair treatment here. I am a teacher and did not feel that my child was treated in a professional manner. I love that the children get to work with high schoolers, but couldn't be more disappointed in the leadership. Additionally, they serve so much sugary snacks to the children, it is ridiculous. Graham crackers covered in frosting are the norm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

not good it has a loud libery it's quiet when someone inspects the school and they smoke in school everyday
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2013

I have one senior and one freshman this year. Corona is a fabulous school...from the faculty to the kids, I couldn't have asked for a better environment for my eldest. My freshman was identified as gifted and was registered at the Peggy Payne Academy but begged to go here because of his brother's experience, as difficult as a decision it was to make, we withdrew him and placed him in Corona w/ Honors classes. The music program is outstanding and I have no words for how much these teachers truly care about their students! The after hour time the faculty commits is astonishing and not common these days. If you're looking for a school that has a good balance between teaching independence and allowing for heavy parental involvement - Corona is the place for you. Just make sure your child is active in clubs or extra curricular activities....they will thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Finsihing up the year with my daughter, a senior and delighted that we chose our neighborhood school over the variety of choices - prep schools, charter, private etc. The teachers are dedicated and energetic, and she learned critical thinking in science and english, history was awesome too. Could list her favorite teachers, but more important we didn't encounter any problems and communication was better than expected at this large school. Variety of activities so lots of opportunities to find a smaller niche. It helped that she was in Honors & AP classes, perhaps, but we saw tremendous parent involvement and teacher committment at all levels. Need more counselors and more money and focus in Arizona for public education, but we have no regrets. Great school, amazing neighborhood, especially if you get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

If you have money and would not like to be in a diversity area, this school is for you. The school only cares if the parents have money - if you are a single parent, they wouldn't stand up for your kids. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

Excellent school! One of my boys was in the gifted program and the other two in the Honors program. I was impressed with the parental involvement, extra curricular activities and great teachers. My boys were involved in sports, music and other clubs They have all graduated & received full merit scholarships. I expected more from the counselors but overall my boys state they had a good experience at Corona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

Wow, what a great school! The faculty at Corona are serious about education, keeping the standards high instead of just babysitting the kids. The math and science departments could be improved, but English is on top of their game! A few too many silly electives detract from Corona's stellar reputation. Tons of sports and club opportunities as well! The absolute best is the school's gifted services coordinator. He is so friendly, knowledgeable, responsive, and funny. He welcomed our children to the school, explained anything and everything they were concerned about, and followed up with them regularly to ensure their experiences at the school were challenging, rewarding, and fun. He made all three of them feel at home and cared about as individuals even though the school is on the large side. If you have academically motivated children who want the best all around high school experience, you cannot find a better school than Corona del Sol. My kids have graduated now, but they say the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

It has good academics BUT the kids here all horrible. They are mostly all stuck up!!!! WAY to many cliques!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2010

Excellent parent involvement with great programs for band, tennis, soccer, competitive government, and overall academic studies.


Posted April 12, 2010

My son is currently a junior and my daughter will be starting at Corona next year. The academic achievements at this school are comparable with a private school with a 5-figure tuition, but you have to be in the Honors classes - the regular classes get dumbed down too much. There are many really very good teachers, but also some who should not be doing this as their main profession. The trick is to talk with parents of older students to find out who the best teachers are and target getting your student placed with them. It doesn't always work, my son is batting 500 right now, but the good ones he's had have really made the difference. He's in the running for National Merit and it is in no small part to the efforts of teachers like Grow, Morgan, Nissly, and others. Oh and the band program is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Horrible school. There are so many cliques and if you arnt popular, you will be picked on my the teachers. Thats how bad it is. Never go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Excellent teachers, administration and staff. I love this school. My student loved this school too. It was a great learning and social experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I miss Corona so much. It was the best experience of my life thus far. Make the best of your years here, they will go oh so quickly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

Spectacular emphasis on the truly important things in life...EDUCATION and a well rounded high school experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 3, 2007

I am 2007 graduate now attending ASU on scholarship, and I can safely agree that attending Corona del Sol was one of the best experiences of my life. The teachers and administrators for the most part are excellent, and all of them actually care about his/her students' well being. They make a large school seem much smaller and more personal. The athletics are great as well, and there is an large amount of student support (and school rivalry). Overall, it is truly a great place for young adults to grow up and make friends and a school that will open up many opportunities for those that want to be successful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 12, 2007

Attending Corona del Sol was one of the most rewarding experience of my life. That being said, the school offers many pros and cons. For the ambitious student the academic program can prove challenging and rewarding. Relative to other public schools, Corona will provide a strong academic base, allowing those who seek higher education the opportunity to pursue so. However, the quality of teachers can be inconsistent, particularly in the Math department. Extracurricular activities is where Corona shines. The active student can choose to participate in over 100 clubs, sports, and performance groups. With state-championship caliber teams, an intensely active student council, and a nationally recognized band students have a myriad of options to choose from. Corona is a large school, and if your student does not thrive in social situations this might not be a good fit. Also, private schools may be a better option for Ivy League academic preparation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2006

hello, My name is Brooke faith and I'm currently a freshman at corona. I think it is such an awesome school it definitely prepares its students for the future. To all the jr. high students who think high school is scary its so not! I love the freedom you get at corona and how much the teachers help you out! Especially Mr.schilling!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

625 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 E. Knox Road
Tempe, AZ 85284
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT