Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Curry Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

Mr. White and Mr. Phok have been a blessing to Curry. Thank you ! I have been a parent at Curry for 10 years. I have had 4 children attend school there. In all the years , I have not witnessed a better team till those two. They brought the change needed. It was nice watching the dark cloud float away as the school year went by. I must say ,the smiles I witnessed on all the staff and teachers faces and the children's faces was uplifting. It made a powerful statement for Curry and what type of school it is, and what they brought to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

I been at this sense 2011-2014 and this school is really amzing love all of the principals mr.cruz ,mr.cruz wife, dr.hida cargana , mr, white. The teachers I had ms.sitchler,mr.powell., mr.forrest, ms.barlow, ms.goodolf. some of the teachers are mean like ms.moreno. but I still love this school


Posted June 30, 2013

Well I dont recommond this school if your kid was a diabete because not. Educated about dabetes or informed what to do with them. They push u out as be involved in kids education. They change to many time in teacher and pincipal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

I use to go to Curry elementary and I must say this school was one of the best schools i have ever gone to. My best memories was being in Ms.Day's class and staying after school to play awesome games and then again in fourth grade i remember being in Mr.Moon's classroom and all the fun projects we did. Curry was the best school I have ever gone to and I'm happy i did they made my childhood one of the best. It may have changed over the years but i can still remember the beautiful sunset and green grass when school was over and staying after school too. I wish i was a kid again.


Posted October 16, 2012

Curry used to be a good school, now it's a joke. It's clearly the forgotten school of the district, as shown by their D grade in testing. To make up for being forgotten, the district is trying to fix things according to what they think is right without regard to the students who attend. If you're planning to enroll your children at Curry, please do not, don't send them to any school in the district either. While other schools are doing well, the district is showing they do not care about the students at all. There are some amazing teachers at Curry and I hope their experiences at this school do not cause them to remove themselves from teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

My daughter finished 5th grade their she loved it!! and my sons are now in 1st grade and 5th grade and they also loved it. the teachers are great! This is their 2nd year at this school. They didnt like the idea of moving from a Chandler school to here but now they dont want to go back to Chandler :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I had one child complete elementary at this school.I was excited to have my second start here when the principal called the police on me for bringing my younger son to say goodbye.The principal has no teacher to parent skills he treated me with disrespect.My son learned bad language in kindergarten,He was in a fight his first day,and his teacher told me flat out she has to many students and cant watch them every moment.I was appalled on how they treat parents and students.I drive 5 miles out of my way now to take my child to a better school.I would recommend the same
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My son is just finishing up Kindergarten and we have not had a very good experience with the school. Which is very sad because I was excited that he was able to go tto Curry as I did 20 some odd years ago. His teacher does not have control over the class, she has had him pin pointed from the very begning. He does not get the positive encouragement that he should. I had asked to have a meeting with the teacher, counsler, and principle and that never happened. Spoke seperatley with the principle and he was suppose get involed with my son and he never followed through. I really hope that first grade goes much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

Two of my children go to Curry and we LOVE this school. I would not send my kids to any other public school. The standards they hold the students and parents to is wonderful. It keeps them focused and on the way to building skills for higher education. i feel when you build a good foundation like they do at Curry you will produce life-long learners, college bound learners. Way to go Curry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My child has been at Curry Elementary sence she was in kindergarden and she is now succeding in middle school at Connolly but when she did attend Curry she loved it the teachers were nice the classes were great just perfect. I would highly reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I echo the parent who stated that Curry is a great school! I have three kids who have attended and another who still attends. I feel important when I go to the school and see that the teachers treat the kids with the same consideration. The principal is also terrific. It is nice to see him interact with the kids both in the classroom and out on the playground. He doesn't sit in his office all day, he is out and visible to the kids. I do have a problem with parents and their inactivity in supporting the PTA and getting personally involved. It is very frustrating to be involved and see parents who are at the school as much as I am and still state that they just don't have the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is a great school words cant explain it. Did I mention its awsome.The princible is great the teachers are. No dought the best school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

My son goes to Curry and he has issues with bullies now I have tried to get in to have a meeting with the principal a few times and he has kept putting me off. The school district has a no tolerance policy for bulling and name calling but the dont seem to do anything about the issue my son is having
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

This year has been my first encounter with curry elem. To date I am still having difficult times being informed on events, student test scores and knowledge regarding my childrens place of education. In return this frustrates me as education is of great value to me and my family. There needs to be better communication throughout the campus as answers will vary from teachers to administrators. Sincerly, the frustrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Our childeren have consistantly scored high or above average on all Aims testing. Curry teachers are responsive attentive and well qualified. Our son is currently in first grade and not only reads on a 4th grade level but is excited about reading. Curry teachers highly motivate their students to read as much as possible. We feel that curry is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2003

Two of our children attended John C. Curry elementary school for a total of four years. Progressively, in their classroom grades and scores on the national tests, we observed the reflection of the schools commitment to maintain their achievement rating of improving. However, to our dismay our children have experienced an inferior education when it came to practices of the teaching staff overlooking their safety and there was continual doubting of our son s need of medical attention as it related to his daily health (i.e. we ve had to take him to the dr. for necessary treatment right after school for medical distress). Administration has overlooked these concerns. The process which best describes the experiences of our children at this school is not one of integration, but de-segregation. This school would certainly benefit from parents taking a stand to support the application of fair rules and policies, the encouragement of educational involvement of all families across a broadened spectrum, and unity between administrators and families and families with others, to name just a few. We have chosen to remove our children from the school, after four years, because trying to correct the unresponsive bureaucratic system would only further neglect the promotion of healthy, social and emotional development for our children. For the sake of children to come, we certainly still wish them the best.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 43%
White 24% 42%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 894-4008

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1974 East Meadow Drive
Tempe, AZ 85282
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 730-7102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imagine Tempe
Tempe, AZ



The Aces-Tempe
Tempe, AZ


Calvary Academy
Tempe, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT