Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holdeman Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 637 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

My 2 daughters love this school as do I !! They have great staff!!! I love the principal and assistant principal! My daughters have been there since kindergarten and they are now in 3rd grade!! They are the best!! Holdeman Huskies! !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

I have a 5 year old daughter that attends Holdeman. Since the beginning of this school year, the staff has lost, misplaced, or otherwise left my daughter abandoned. The first time was about 1 month ago when the school staff lost her for about 25 minutes. The school's Vice Principal responded, "she wasn't lost, we knew she somewhere at school." And then, he smuggly apologized. And twice her teacher has put her the wrong bus which in turn left her standing outside alone in the dark, no food, no water, holding her pee. The school's prinicipal simply said "sorry." How would you feel if were your 5 year old?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

I went to this school. They have problems with bullying and the teachers make it look like it's your fault they bully you. I agree it's close to low income housing and there's lots of kids coming and going.


Posted August 1, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this school, I love the teacher s attitude toward the students and they are really nice but they could dress a little better. I have noticed a lot of them in flip flops and inappropriate wear for a teacher. Love the uniforms for the students, I wish the teachers had them too. Wish they would bring back the field trips; my son loves them and was able to go to two before they stopped having them. He gets disappointed each year when there is none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

This Is A Really Amazing School!!!! everyone in there is really friendly and know how to teach the kids really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Holdeman Elementary is the BEST elementary school!! VERY PROFESSIONAL!!! EXCELLENT STAFF! & HARD WORKING MOTIVATING TEACHERS!!! A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

My daughter has attended Holdeman for 3 years now. Her biggest struggle was first grade because of bullying. It took almost the entire year to take care of the problem and still wasn't totally to my satisfaction. This year started out rough but has gotten much better. Love the staff and always feel welcome. Just wish there were more breaks in the afternoon for teachers as well as students. Would like to have field trips returned as well. The new building is beautiful. Just some concerns with safety. Would love more parent involvment. There should be no excuse that we are too busy, these are our childern!! Change takes time for those of you unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

It would be interesting to see what Holdeman parents think of this school now that there is a new Principal at the helm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

My sons went to Holdeman, I regret not pulling them out sooner, when the school was rated as 'underperforming.' I did pull out my younger son and I am glad I did. At Holdeman he was considered the brightest in his class, at his current school he has to work much harder and is being better prepared. The school has a very high mobility rate, poor parental involvement and don't blame it on low income families, as there are other schools with low income populations with strong parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My son started at Holdeman this year. For the most part it's a good school education wise. My kindergartner is excelling well beyond most of his class so the homework he is given by his teacher is work that is normally handed to 1st graders. The downside to this school is the fact that it is across the street from a moderately low income apt complex. The parents of those children don't have the time to be involved in their kids' education. Also people constantly move in and out so a lot of teachers teach to the lowest level of students. This is more a district issue though. All in all Holdeman is a very good school and I'll be keeping my son there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2003

I beleive Holdeman can stand on it's own as a school that constantly striving to improve itself. Holdeman has a unique situation, in that so many students are coming and going. This effects overall performance. Also 50% of the students are Hispanic many of them speaking spanish therfore the teachers have to work harder than most. We will keep supporting Holdeman School.


Posted March 16, 2003

Holdeman states it is a 'Peace Building' school, unfortunately I strongly disagree. My two boys have been attending Holdeman for 2 years now and have had nothing but problems with other children bulling them and disrupting their learning abilities. The faculty has only punished my childern thru A.L.C.(Alternative Learning Center), suspention, and now removing my childern from the school all together. Never have I heard any repercutions to the other childern involved nor have my requests to have parent/faculty/parent conference with the other childern involved. I feel Holdeman would much better sweep these sort of problems under the rug or out the door instead of finding workable solutions for all involved.


Posted October 15, 2002

Although Holdeman is not rated as a ""quality"" school according to this website, the school is extremely great! The dual language program is top-notch. My daughter has learned a wealth of knowledge from this school.


Posted October 15, 2002

More Parent involment. More Improved PTA.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 43%
Black 22% 5%
White 15% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm m-th 1:45 fri
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Wendy Reeck
Fax number
  • (480) 968-3165

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1326 West 18th St
Tempe, AZ 85281
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 966-9934

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT