Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene de las Manitas School

Public | PK-5, 7 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

Our child attended Manitas from 2nd-5th grade and we had an excellent experience from both an educational and school involvement viewpoint. Our most recent experience with 5th grade teacher Mrs. Anciaux and Gifted Resource teacher Mrs. Kelleher were excellent. Both teachers are attentive to individual student's needs and responsive to, as well as communicative with parents. These teachers obviously not only enjoy teaching, but truly thrive by being able to participate in growing children's perspective about life and the educational opportunities available through the Manitas community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

This is not a good school. My child's teacher mistreats her and I recommend against this school if you want a happy child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

In follow up to my review from earlier today - I do think the Principal has great ideas and see that he works very hard, but don't see that there is respect for him from the more senior teaching staff. Respect is obviously a two-way street and I don't know what's going on behind the scenes. Hopefully someone can figure something out to help improve the learning environment at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

My daughter went to Kindergarten last year in Manitas. We moved out of tempe and had to change her school. I was thrilled with the way she learned and see her gradually becoming confident by the end of the year. We miss Manitas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Manitas does not provide a safe enviroment for the students. As another parent pointed out bullying is ignored. When brought to the attention of staff it is minimized. The best interest of the students is not priority. They claim to want parent involvement but once you become involved they want you to dissappear as they are not prepared for any controversy. If a student is struggling emotionally with events taking place at the school they want to blame it on the home life without merit. They will make concerns that you as a parent have seem made up and even go as far as to say maybe your child is lying or making things up. I would recommend any school over this one. Don't let the Kyrene name fool you. Unless your child is extremely gifted and popular this schoo, is not a healthy enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have mixed feelings about Manitas. I respect my son's teacher. She cares and understand childrens needs and respects them.She is a great teacher and encourages individual growth and skills.Recess and lunch time does not have enough supervison. Bullying is overlooked and downplayed The PTO is a joke. They talk more about how much money they make for thier fund then they do about actually making a positive difference in the school and in the kids lives. One of of the ladies at the yearly festival opened some rides early for her kids and her friends kids only. The other kids who got thier early were ignored. Parent drop off and pick up is scary. I am surprised that someone hasn't lost a foot. Saftey issues are overlooked and the kids are hurting each other. Stomping on feet, pinching, name calling, punching, kicking and pushing. There is an atmosphere of apathy about it. Would love to see a more friendly inclusive attitude. Overall the teachers are good. I think the vice principal cares about the kids and the school. The principal is a good man who I think gets bullied by the snobby parents that have a sense of entitlement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I have 3 childern that attended Manitas. My twins are in Kindergarten and youngest is in ELC. We absolutely LOVE IT the Kindergarten Teacher Mrs. Denham is awesome. She has made my child feel so special that she loves going to school everyday. The staff really looks for kids first not parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My childen have been with Manitas since pre-school; one is in 7th grade and my youngest in is 5th grade this year. I am very sad to leave Manitas it is a WONDERFUL school. I personally have been a parent volunteer and acitive in the PTO for years. Just like any other school the administration and teachers may change but the homey fell of the school has never change. I feel my children were very well cared for during their time at Manitas. I would highly recommend this school. It has the best Emergency Team (Mrs. Thomas and her team THANK YOU) in the Kyrene district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

Manitas is an excellent school! Not sure where the negative reviews are coming from, I supposed everyone is entitled to their opinion, and maybe others have had different experiences compared to ours. But our daughter went to Manitas from Kindergarten through 5th grade and my son has so far gone through 3rd grade and we've been extremely pleased. The administration is excellent and involved (both previous and current administrations), the office staff is helpful and friendly, and while each teacher we've had has had their own strengths and weaknesses, nearly all have been really excellent and caring teachers. I would strongly recommend Manitas for people looking for a great school for their kids! -- Involved Manitas parent for 6 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

Incompetent Faculty and staff. Unprofessional assistant principal and principal lacks guidance and direction.


Posted September 19, 2008

I love Manitas. My daughter has been at Manitas since she was in pre-school. She is now in 5th grade. The teachers are dedicated and knowledgable. The technology beats other districts around hands down and the curriculum and resources are state of the art. Their emergency plans and dismissal procedures are very structured plus the teachers seem to work well together. To me this makes a great school. To the reviewer who said teachers pass that time, please do not lump all teachers together!!!! I have seen my daugters 6 teachers put in endless hours coming up with strategies and lessons to best teach each child. I moved from another state specifically because I did not want my child to attend their schools... even though the schools system got good ratings. I choose Manitas for my daughter and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Warning! parents this school is horrible the classes are over crowded and there is little to no one on one time with the kids. The staff seem to be passing the time and there is no indicator that they care about the kids at all!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

My dealings with the Principal and Assistant Principal have proven them to be very immature in their dealings and not prone to making the hard decisions. They seem more concerned with making everyone happy, than taking care of problems when they arise, which might make them more effective, but unpopular with a handful of parents. The teachers I am familiar with, have been wonderful and the parent involvement seems typical; the same bunch of parents come to, and do, everything. Extracurricular activities seem the same as other schools, as does safety. However, proper discipline of children who have done wrong or misbehaved, is sorely lacking by the leadership of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I LOVE Manitas, I was very frustrated with the AZ school system after leaving SABIS International and the Roosevelt School district. I took immediate action to move over to the Kyrene district and to my delight, I am 100% satisfied with the School, teachers, activities and academics. I am so glad to be at Manitas and my children love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Excellent school. We were very fortunate to move in the neighborhood! Our daughter is in her second year at Manitas and we are very pleased. The teachers are fantastic and parent involvement is great! We will be thrilled that our second daughter will be attending next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This is an outstanding school for academics, safety, sense of community, and building character skills. Many of the teachers and the assistant principal are outstanding. Teachers we have experienced have gone above and beyond to help our child to be involved, interested, and excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 15% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 W Courtney Lane
Tempe, AZ 85284
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 783-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT