Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to both our principals, for making this school and its students a priority in the district. Their advocacy for our students and teachers on a district level is not going unnoticed!!!

Kyrene Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is in the Prep program, and the amount of homework she had is on par with the rigors of this program. It keeps her busy, but it's not busy work. It all reinforces the lessons she's learning at school. Also, she is given time at school to make a significant dent, so she's not overwhelmed at home.


Kyrene Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
The communication between the students, parents, teachers and administrators has been fantastic. To me, that is the key to success and KMS gets 5 stars.

Kyrene Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is in her second year at KMS, and has loved every minute of it. She enjoys her classes, feels like there's alot of fun extracurricular options for her to choose from, and has made some great new friends. As a parent, I can't say enough about the administration, and the teachers my daughter has had. They are 100% committed to the kids at this school, and it shows.

Kyrene Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Transition was extremely easy... And the teacher teams are amazing..... Communication to and from the school administration is good too!


Kyrene Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Team 7A teachers and all of the IEP and 504 Administration are amazing -thank you for all you do!!

Kyrene Middle School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
We moved to the area and I was concerned seeing reviews knowing my 7th grade daughter would be going here. KMS is a great school, my daughter has a team of teachers beyond amazing and the administration falls right in line with that as well. She requires accommodations and I can tell you all have bent over backward to do their very best to make my daughter comfortable and her school experience a very positive one. We could not be more pleased with KMS!!

Kyrene Middle School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
As a frequent visitor to KMS during the school day and also as a friend of many parents who have made KMS their "school of choice", I would highly recommend this and any Kyrene school. There will always be more negative than positive comments on any of these kinds of websites so, first and foremost don't base your decisions on someone else's opinion - go and see a school for yourself. Meet the staff, walk the campus and experience the joy of the children, then decide. Do you buy a car just because your friend says its good? No you go drive it! If you expect children to do their homework, do your own!


Kyrene Middle School 2

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Both my children have attended KMS and I have to say that I haven't been happy with the school overall. Bullying here is a real issue. Both my children have experienced this, my son was able to resolve the issues on his own but it resulted in him just "getting through" his last year at KMS instead of being able to enjoy his time there. I know that children will be children but the amount of inappropriate behavior that is conducted there is almost appalling. My daughter informed me that one of her peers was in trouble at school for having marijuana on her and that several students come to school high. I think with all of the social distractions it is difficult for the children to focus on the academics. If I were to do it all over again I would not put my kids in KMS.

Kyrene Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
My son is in the College Preparatory Program and has been on the honor roll the entire year. He has scored extremely well on his AIMS test, so for my son as an individual I have no complaints. The teachers communicated with me frequently. The school has provided us with resources and assistance and my son has definitely benefited and excelled with their support. My child is multi-racial and hasn t experienced any bullying. I think it is a good school and I have 3 friends who enrolled their children at this school even though they do not live in the district. They also recognize the opportunities that this school provides. We cannot let other kid s behaviors affect our children s education. My son is doing awesome and I believe anyone s kid can excel if they want to!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kyrene Middle School
1050 East Carver Road, Tempe, AZ  85284
(480) 783-1000
Last modified Kyrene Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kyrene Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top