Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marcos De Niza High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Hard to believe this school has a positive review when it's not that great. Most people I know who came here didn't like going here and other people who went here are indifferent. Bullying is a problem from what I heard.


Posted January 17, 2014

Outstanding school for all types of students! I am a parent of a young man with special needs who attended Marcos, and is now in college. Mr. Mirizio and Mr. Griffith had my son's back, helped me with all of his placement needs, and worked with our situation very well. This school has an outstanding faculty, dedicated teachers, an expansive array of programs, and an administration that is connected to the community that it serves. Parent involvement before problems happen makes the biggest impact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Principle and AD are nothing more than bullies. Mirizio is not a good person. Athletic director Griffth I have no idea how this person got a job anywhere. Both belittle people and bully staff. should be some sort of investigation into these 2. Unfortunately Very disfunctional administration with no accountability


Posted October 11, 2012

Marcos is a great school as long as your child is not a victim of bullying! Mine just happens to fall victim because he has a visual impairment. I know bullying is a problem at many schools but in this case, it is a matter of how this issues are handled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

Marcos is a super high school. My daughter is a senior this year. She has excelled academically, socially, musically, and athletically. This was all possible with the help of many adults at MdN. It is not a perfect school, but which one is? One of the things I love is the diverse student body. My daughter has friends from all backgrounds and knows how to get along with anyone. Our whole family is proud to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I have to agree with the previous poster. The principal's office cares very little for the victim of crimes committed at this school. They do everything in their power to 'make it go away' without dealing with the issues. I think I read in another review that a poster felt the same way. Something needsto change... admitting that there is a problem in your school is not a big deal. Gee, stop trying to look like you have it all together when you clearly, do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I am a former student of this high school. Contrary of these awfully biased and narrowminded reviews, marcos de niza is a typical high school. It is very diverse (which people are afraid of), and is asbestos free (even though it does not recieve huge amounts of private funding).


Posted September 2, 2008

I love MdN. I would not go to any other school. It's very diverse and we have many great programs. Best Buddies, for example, has been ranked as an oustanding chapter for 5 years in a row. DECA, Adelante, HERO, ICE, and more are among some of the wonderful programs we have to offer. Our art programs are some of the best. Ceramics, photo, computer graphics, they're all great. Padre Pride! Brown and Gold!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

Great School. Real community feel. Lots of diversity. Wonderful Instructors!


Posted May 29, 2007

Our fourth child will graduate from Marcos de Niza and I couldn't be more proud! Exceptional school - we moved and got a boundry exception so our daughter could attend this school versus Chandler High. Awesome staff - not perfect and they will correct the wrongs to make them right. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

I love this school. The 'tension' between races? I'm not sure what that person was refering to because that's not the case. Yes, this is not your typical suberbia school; there are many different types of races as well as social groups, and that's what makes Marcos special. Although some people may seem threatening, they really are not. If you don't pick fights no one will pick fights back. Also, the teachers are wonderful and the fact that the school is large enough to have many oppurtunities, it is close knitted enough so no one feels like a small fish in a big pond. I would reccomend this school to anyone who doesn't want your typical high school of cliques, 'popular kids', and sterotypes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2006

The school is rich in diversity! It seems near impossible for your child to leave with any kind of prejudice. (the Best Buddies program for disables students is amazing!) The teachers offer some great instruction and are willing to help or find the student help outside of the classroom. (highly suggest Mr.Anderson for any math class your child needs to take)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2006

i really love the teachers at marcos de niza they are very great but getting advice from the counslers is horrible they tend to only help certain people and their seems to be more programs for certain students. overall it's great but dealing with the counslers is not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2006

I wouldn't recommend sending your child here as a first choice. Yes, the staff is great, but there's a lot of tension between races.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2006

This is a great school. The teachers are friendly and helpful. They have a good Arts department.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 18, 2005

I have a son going to this school and i have been very happy with the academic success in all fields. This is one school you can count on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

i think marcos is a pretty bad school. as a student there i know pretty much everything that goes on there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2005

Marcos De Niza High Scool is probley the best school I have ever seen. Well I think that this school is doing a very good job on what they do. This School is very good and they don't mess around with trouble makers witch makes me feel safe at Marcos.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2004

A very diverse socio/economic culture exists at MdN, allowing students to become more well-rounded adults. An older campus that has been refurbished relatively recently, it boasts exceptional athletic and performing arts facilities. It's athletic teams, competing at the 5A level, regularly challenge for State Championships, with the wrestling team being the undefeated and 3X defending state champions. The schools also has a highly decorated, and one of the best marching bands in the southwest, an Army JROTC program, and an exensive auto shop. The current principal is also a MdN Alumnus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2004

Frightening. My child brought home a paper where she had received the highest grade in the class (honors level). It had eleven unchecked errors in the first three paragraphs. Fine arts programs poorly funded - constant drain on personal finances. Students constantly afraid of gang activity. Makes me wish I could afford a private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 43%
White 33% 42%
Black 14% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 730-7665

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 S Lakeshore Drive
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pax Academy
Tempe, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT