Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Tolleson, AZ
Students enrolled: 395

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arizona Desert Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
The teachers really care about the students. Morning tutoring is available which is helpful because of work schedule.

Arizona Desert Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Arizona Desert is committed to Excellence Everyday. Parents and teachers work together as a team to reach all of our student needs. Teachers are hard working, dedicated and truly believe that all students are capable of success--with not exceptions. I love AZD!


Arizona Desert Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a teacher
Arizona Desert Elementary School is an amazing community of learners. The students are motivated to learn and the teachers are amazing at their craft. Thank you to all the dedicated members of the AZD community!

Arizona Desert Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
It is very difficult to find a great school, especially when it's a public school. This has been my sons first year here and his teacher is amazing. He is in the third grade this year. She communicates well with all of the parents which I am very thankful for. We have had a few issues with bullying and my sons teacher has taken care of it immediately. I am disappointed that they are not able to really help those who are more advanced. I guess I will need to find my own way to help my son stay ahead of the curve. I find that the teachers are amazing as is the principal. I am not thrilled with the lady at the front office. She never answers the phone which is aggravating. It is a bummer that there is no playground but I guess there are worse things in life.

Arizona Desert Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
This school boasts 26:1 pupil to teacher ratio and has shown tremendous academic growth over the past few years. The staff works as a team for the benefit of our children. The teachers and principal have built a culture of excellence that students have embraced. This school was rated a B school and just missed the A rating by 1 point in 2012. They also just received an honor by the state called "high progress reward school" for the tremendous growth on AIMS. Arizona Desert is an amazing place to be a student and a staff member!!!


Arizona Desert Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
This site is very out dated the class size is not 17 per teacher more like 35+ in some cases. School is terrible discipline and students are not all treated with the same in fairness. Big mistake sending my kids there can't get a pta or pto started if their life depended on it but they never thought that it's due to the school refusing to change the small things that would make everything so much easier for parents like lunch those whom pay for it need to know our kids balance not when it's the staff pulling the lunch tray out of the kids hands and telling them they owe handing them a cheese sandwich instead yes this really happened. Communication is a word they have yet to figure out and is the major cause of the schools problems!

Arizona Desert Elementary School 1

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
This school has no control over the education. The teachers don't have a great perspective over the qualties of a well foundation for education. My daughter, has been in the district for all her elemetary years. She has been bullied, humilliated, and no teacher had even gave a little thought of helping her even after being told several times. I hope soon we will be leaving this district!!

Arizona Desert Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Arizona Desert Elementary School 4

Posted July 19, 2005
- a parent
Great school - small comfortable atmosphere. Super teachers.

Arizona Desert Elementary School 3

Posted July 04, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona Desert Elementary School
8803 W. Van Buren Street, Tolleson, AZ  85353
(623) 936-9740
Last modified Arizona Desert Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arizona Desert Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top