Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Place Elementary School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

Teachers own children are on the free breakfast and lunch plan. Desperate area and uneducated !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

I have been with this school a year now and have one child attending... I hate it. As a mother of nine I have always been very active in my kids education, I read everything, I ask questions. I could not even join the PTO because it cost a 25$ membership fee- seriously? You can never ever speak to any of the admin staff here. I have literally left as many as 5 messages over several days before going to the school and just sitting there until someone found the time to see me- the teachers are good and bad. I did ask for my daughters 7th grade English teacher to be changed because I had a difficult time understanding her- her English is so heavily accented with Spanish that her accent makes it difficult- I simply believed that my daughter should be taught grammar and English by someone that spoke it fluently but this was not possible as there is only the one teacher. They are not as bad as some but certainly not terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school is a wonderful place to work! My daughter attends the school as well and has made many lasting relationships with friends old and new.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2011

My child has attended this school for 4 years now and every year it seems to get worse. It was great the first year and went down hill. Last year the teacher texted all day long, this year I can't figure out why my childs grades are so bad. We went from honor roll to a D average. And now I am being told there will be no summer school for the older children at the school. So I guess the kids are forgotten and will start out behind next year. Disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

great school with tons of community support! The teachers are great and the kids are excited to go to school and learn everyday. Keep up the good work CP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My daughters were attending Collier Elementary, that school was HORRIBLE!! My issue with Collier was both of safety and of poor management. I requested the transfer to this school last year and it is the BEST thing I did!!! There weren't any concerns with safety, students were great and the school is very well managed. My daughters 8th grade teachers(Hill, Garrison, Tietz & Kauffmann) were amazing educators and because of there teachings, she was accepted into University High School. I can't thank them enough. My other daughter's 5th grade teacher,Mr. Ferrell, was awesome as well, I am ecstatic that they accepted her to return this year, considering we are not in the school zone. THANK YOU Country Place!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Putting my child in Country Place Elementary was the worst thing I could have done....She is in the 6th grade and is doing 3rd grade work, in California standards... They have given her a math placement test.. 1st.. her teacher said she had one highest scores ever, but they have yet to place her in the proposed math class she should be in.. that was a month ago.. She is finishing her work so fast in class, she is corrected the papers of the other students for the teacher... 2nd.. the 6th grade is still learning to tell time on an analog clock.. o.k. she learned that in 2nd grade.. Not only would I NOT recommend Country Place Elementary to anyone who choses NOT to dumb their kids down... We are going back to Cali.. it's worth struggling out there to make sure she has a better education..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

The majority of the teachers are great, however there are major discipline issues at this school and I worry about my child's safety on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I am a proud parent of three! My children have had the greatest teachers in thier class! Awesome educators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

This school is horrible! I'm very surprised because Its supposed to be a 'Performing Plus' School.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 80% 43%
Black 8% 5%
White 8% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 478-6120

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10207 W. Country Place Blvd.
Tolleson, AZ 85353
Phone: (623) 478-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT