Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tres Rios Elementary School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Tres rios is a small school that is very family oriented . My son and niece have attended this school for 3 years now . From the front office staff to the principal they are all very involved . They know the kinds by first name basis . PTA has monthly meetings are good but we need more parent involvement . I love that even the principal is involved when it comes to releasing the kids after school. Teachers are awesome and so far mine have truly cared about my sons education ( he is in 2nd grade ) . He will keep attending this school for years to come .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

I'm delighted to learn that Tres Rios has new leadership. All I can say is that it's about time! The abysmal teaching conditions, lack of employee morale and poor student behaviors I encountered while teaching there were directly attributable to a weak and largely unqualified administration. The principal -- a former art teacher -- was, as another reviewer correctly observed, was tired and needed to go. She was an accusatory sourpuss, lacking both rudimentary human relations skills and the ability to motivate faculty, staff or students. She drove qualified teachers away, and her negative influences won't be easy to reverse.


Posted April 10, 2014

I'm delighted to learn that Tres Rios has new leadership. All I can say is that it's about time! The abysmal teaching conditions, lack of employee morale and poor student behaviors I encountered while teaching there were directly attributable to a weak and largely unqualified administration. The principal -- a former art teacher -- was, as another reviewer correctly observed, was tired and needed to go. She was an accusatory sourpuss, lacking both rudimentary human relations skills and the ability to motivate faculty, staff or students. She drove qualified teachers away, and her negative influences won't be easy to reverse.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2014

This school has improved considerably since the new administration started. The school is run in a more orderly manner. Also parent involvement and communication is not just encouraged, but valued. Yes, test scores are still low, but compared to other schools in the area students at Tres Rios are definately making more progress then they would be likely to at most of the other neighborhood schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

They have a new principal. The old one was tired and needed to go. She was accusatory and not fit to be in the position that she was in. Why is it that many of the West Side Schools end up with sub par administrators? She did a lot of damage that will take years to get over. Also, why doe the Littleton District have a hard time retaining teachers? It is a revolving door for teachers and this is not good. I wish my daughter could go to some of the better schools like near Scotsdale or Cave Creek. Oh well!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

As a parent I find this school okay...let me stress OKAY, it could be MUCH MUCH BETTER! When walking in the front office you don't feel welcomed at all, the office staff is not friendly and this has been on going for years! My older daughter has had 1 good teacher since attending this school, my next has been lucky to have mostly okay ones and one SUPER exceptional teacher! Ms. Yadon was the best. my youngest has a teacher who didn't even know her kids names or even have a class list upon meeting her. I find her cold and not fit to be working with young children. My only hope is that with the change in administration this year things will improve, previous administration was AWFUL! They took away all the kids rewards, like perfect attendance dress down and spirit week. This district has also implemented make your day program, I ask admin last year about this they said that there is no reward for making your day only consequences for not, unfair to the students who behave and work hard. Reward them, positive reinforcement makes a huge difference! Also none of my kids have been on a field trip in YEARS! Over all not the best school, just "okay". But is so so or okay good enough? NO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Es buena escuela los maestros son muy buenos contestan la llamada o mensaje por cualquier duda que tenga sobre la educacion de mis hijos y las secretarias son excelentes ,solo que la dirrectora nueva para este 2013 la verdad deja mucho que decear.:(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

This school has come a long way since its opening years ago. We've had good teachers, excellent teachers and some who's hearts were in the right place but need a little more seasoning, but overall, this school is one of the top in my book. We have a wonderful "community" feel to our school and I like it that way. Sure, you will see some parents and staff who may not have had a great experience for whatever reason, but you will find that anywhere you go. I have always made it my job to stay involved in my children's school, their academics and create an ongoing communication and positive relationship with their teachers. This is the only way to help your child be a success and their school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

Very disappointed in the way they tend to blame the student for everything and dont take in consideration that the teacher is not always in right; getting my kids out and looking forward to a better school that knows how to take better care of their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

I am unsure of the other postings. My experience has been great. My children are with wonderful teachers who care and challenge them. They have had a great year. We love the PUMA Paw recognition when the kids do well on their benchmarks. The gym was filled with happy parents last week for the honor awards. The administration is innovative and caring. They know my children and take time to visit with them each morning. The office staff is warm and welcoming. The building is decorated with student art work and my kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

I love Tres Rios and the new administration! They are definitely committed to making things better for staff, parents, and more importantly for STUDENTS. As a parent, I am happy to see my kids happy to go to school every day because I know they will be safe and they have wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

Bad principal, bad assistant principal = awful school. Students are confused, staff is unappy. Very sad, from what it used to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2011

The school has a beautiful facility. And this is the first thing everyone talks about. BUT WHO CARES? Its what inside that counts. So I have been looking for a different school for my kids despite my kids being here since it opened and it being Sept. of the 2011-12 school year. The front office staff are polite. It's just that the scores that are horrible. Over 76% of the population are hispanic. I myself am an American Hispanic but it's hard when the lack of parent involvement is due to the other parents not speaking english. Even homework assignements are bilingual. I have mixed reviews on the teachers. Many teachers were cut. Most teachers are so new that they can't control the class. I don't blame them. It's to bad this "new" facility has to be in the Littleton School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

Muy linda escuela la mejOr de phoenix limpia el servicio excelente y las maestras muy amables gracias tres r os
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

This school is very clean and safe. The staff is very caring. I like this school


Posted August 26, 2010

What a beautiful new facility full of energetic and caring staff. I was pleased when I walked in about how friendly the front office staff was. Then, how cool to see all the technology built right in to the classrooms.


Posted August 26, 2010

Tres Rios has wonderful, caring teachers that value kids and always put learning first! I feel blessed that this school is in my community!!


Posted August 26, 2010

Tres Rios has a complete sports season. It is great for an elementary school to have sports available for kids. It will get my kids ready for high school sports. They have uniforms for each sport, and the games are very well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Love the teachers and front office staff. Admin know their stuff. Patient, kind and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

Very disappointed in this school. The principal is uninvolved. Can't even make an introduction or participate in chorus and band events. No PTSA involvement and poor recruitment, which means no field trips for younger grades, limited supplies, little creativity. Terrible communication to parents. Scores are low and teachers uninvolved. The armpit of the Littleton District. Challenging academics? If it weren't for supplemental home teaching, we would be two grades behind! Don't wait for this school to teach your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 43%
White 11% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 478-6320

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5025 S. 103rd Avenue
Tolleson, AZ 85353
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 478-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT