Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of Tucson High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2009

Great academics and teachers, but the principal has not got a clue what the kids are up to. She seems to have 'favorites' and looks the other way when they are inappropriate. Very inconsistent discipline and she has neglected to contact parents on issues that demanded parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

My son attended the Academy and for the first 2 years it was great. I didn't like the fact that the electives were limited (next to none) and that art is the same class each year, just repeated. If you take Spanish you can take 4 years but if you take the only other language offered, French, you can only take 2 years. At the end of sophomore year he had a GPA of 4.0. Junior he went down hill. Very important: if the teachers like your child, they will do well. If they do not, pull your kids and let them finish someplace else, they will not graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

As a grandparent, I would like to say that this high school is giving my grand child a good solid education. The main focus is on academics but they have a full sports program and several clubs. The campus is safe and well taken care of. I highly recommend this school for parents looking for a great high school.


Posted October 9, 2008

No clubs and severly lacking in athletics. The school doesn't have any fields and looks like a dentists office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I've been to both public and charter schools and greatly prefer the Academy. It may be true that we lack electives, but it's small atmosphere makes the Academy a much less hostile place, I feel safer there. Not only that but I feel that the vasts amounts of homework are preparing me for collage. We even have a college advisor who will work with students separately to figure which college is the best for that individual. The school definitely upholds its college prep. reputation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

I left this school after freshman year and i haven't regretted a moment. This school breeds a sense of fear and terror towards the much larger schools...a scheme invoked primarily to keep its own attendence above the water. While they preach that they can offer everything a big school can't, the truth is the exact opposite. Larger schools such as Sabino (where i attend) offer much more in the way of extra-curricular activities as well as college advice and help. Academy teachers frequently brag about how 'connected' they are with their students and how there is no possible way a public school teacher could be as connected. They are wrong. Everyone of my teachers at Sabino is as 'connected' with me as any teacher ever was at Academy.....not only that but two of my teachers at Sabino are far more 'connected' to me than any Academy teacher ever was.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2007

I attend AOT and love it. The teachers are awesome (aside from the young ones), the small classes allow for them to help students individually. The work is harder, but the students are given a proper amount of time and it pays off much more than an average school. I wouldn't dream of a better school. Sports are fun and competitive; Music is great- getting new teacher, and other extra curriculars (art, computers, student council, etc.) are well developed. Very high level of parent involvement. I couldn't dream of a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2007

This is my son's second year at Academy and he loves the school as much as we do. We gave him the option of attending Sabino this year, if he didn't like Academy but he wanted to stay! My only concern is the school tends to hire young teachers. This has both a positive and negative aspect. The kids tend to connect with young teachers, making class time 'fun'. I would like to see the administration provide additional guidance and/or mentoring to teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

This school has the highest academic programs, but they expect the students to perform like robots. If a student doesn t agree with a teacher they are not asked to express their opinions but are repressed with the teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 14, 2006

This school is horrible. Its is all about the admin!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2005

Good school but need more good teachers. Music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities available. Level of parent involvement ok! Quality of academic programs is all right!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2004

The Academy of Tucson is outstanding, the campus is brand new, it is easy to participate in class discussions, the curriculum is challenging, and there is not one teacher in the school that does not want to help you do your best. I highly recommend The Academy of Tucson to all students wishing to excell in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2004

Academy of Tucson is such a great school. My daughter went there, and graduated with more than enough credits and with outstanding achievments, thanks Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2003

I am so thankful to have found this school. The Stewart's really care about the kids. The school size and the excellent teachers make this the best learning experience that my child has had in 9 years of schooling! Thank you so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

The computer teacher is excellent. The staff works with you and are very caring and understanding. They dont want kids to slip through the cracks. I appreciate this school and the staff.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10720 East 22nd Street
Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone: (520) 733-0096

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT