Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Accelerated Learning Laboratory

Charter | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2008

I am very happy with the extraordinary education ALL is giving my daughter and son. The only other school in Tucson that even comes close is Basis. Most schools with high performing students and high academic standards find ways to keep from admitting students who are not at grade level. Although ALL admits both advanced students and students who are behind, I would not recommend enrolling your children unless you can get them to school every day and on time. It may be obvious, from reading the other reviews; the Headmaster is not apologetic about holding teachers, students, and parents accountable! You should be prepared to see your child do homework every night. Even advanced students are worried when they first start. My children were! You should be prepared to see some 4th grade students in intermediate algebra and 7th grade students in calculus. My children are! The school is small and students are very close and supportive of one another. The secondary school writing teacher is wonderful. Although the grounds and buildings are very nice, the janitorial staff could be more diligent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

What can I say? Please, parents, research the headmaster of this school as he has made a mess of things there for the last two years. I am extremely disappointed in what this school has become. It was once a great place to send your children. Now it lacks vision and sound management. Teachers are good but they come and go and I have noticed a lot of teachers leave in the last couple of years. It seems the curriculum teaches kids trivia, shortcuts and very little reading or writing. While this might work in math, it does not for other material. Sadly, I will be pulling my child out after this year. I suggest doing your homework before thinking of enrolling your kid here. One man is bringing down the ship, don't be there when it sinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

This School is Great!a few Ups & Downs but over all we work togeter to make it Better. Thanks Parent Group :}..


Posted October 17, 2007

ALL has brought my child to levels I never thought possible. From classes like Algebra, to Anatomy, even Turkish in the 6th grade. I am extremely happy with the teachers and the challenges my child now faces. I actually feel like he is learning and not just doing busy work to pass the time of day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

This is my children's first year at ALL, we were very excited at first, their scores looked great in paper, but we are extremely dissapointed and concerned for the safety of our children. Although my kids are being challenged academically, everything else is not up to our standards. From teacher's accreditation to student disciplining... enrolling our kids at ALL was a huge mistake, we're pulling them out after only 3 months. Research this school a lot more before you enroll your children in it, or better yet don't enroll your kids at ALL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

The teachers & staff are very devoted, investing a ton of time & energy to their important mission. Very ambitious academic goals, very different than what you are seeing in traditional school. The pre-school was amazing, loving child care, with an emphasis on learning, & structure. Excellent foundation to prepare a younger child for school and helps to socialize them with behavioral skills. A picky mom HIGHLY recommends their program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

The quality of the academic programs is poor. The parent involvement would have to be high because the amount of help at home that your child will require will be substantial. Please read the other reviews, as they all have a common thread. Teacher turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

I have three children who are currently enrolled with A.L.L. One is in the preschool and the other two are in the grade school. I have truly enjoyed seeing my children learn so much so fast. This school has a great vision but they are having a hard time implementing it. I have recently seen several teachers come and go. Things are definitely changing for the worse. As a parent it saddens me to watch as I am unable to change the course they are on. My husband and I have decided to take our daughter out of the preschool because of the recent staffing problems. We chose to let our boys stay at the grade school to finish out the 2006-2007 school year. I hope we won t live to regret this decision. Thank you Greatschools.org for allowing parents to use your resource. I have found it to be very informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2006

I have had my older daughter at this school for 5 years and just love it. We had thoroughly researched and gone to 2 other schools before and definitely feel that this is the best place for her. It is true that this school is not for everyone - and if arts and music are important to you and you can't bring yourself to provide it through outside sources then don't send them here. They do have PE now during class and there are also activities after school. I am a very protective mother and I feel so comfortable with the staff and the 20 acre one way in - one way out campus for my daughter. My 4 yr old just started in the preschool and she too loves it. Thank you - Thank you - Thank you Accelerated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

Our three-year-old has attended A.L.L. two days a week since March of 2006. During that time we've witnessed a lack of adequate adult supervision, chaos in the classrooms, and a general lack of concern about safety and/or cleanliness of classrooms, outdoor areas or children. Although the preschool staff try to maintain order, they are woefully understaffed. Our child will definitely not be returning to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I have read all of these reviews with great interest. We're excited to have an alternative to the respected public school our sons previously attended. What some of the parents have mentioned is true; this school is not for everyone's children. It's an environment where parental involvement directly correlates to a student's success or failure. What a novel concept--a school that actually expects parents to become actively involved with their child's education! Room for improvement? Yes, and as a parent, I choose to be involved to help bring about positive change, rather than complaining about things I don't like. A.L.L.'s an amazing learning environment for children who are self-starters and whose parents aren't afraid to make their child's education the foremost priority in their family's life. The beauty of a charter school is that if it isn't a good fit for your child, find another! Our 3y/o daughter will attend also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

My 9th grader is taking physics, college algebra, drama, swimming, Turkish, advanced writing and other classes, which would not be offered at other schools. Our family is appreciative of ALL's dedicated staff. Great parent organization and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Teacher turnover is high, morale is low, and communication with parents is lacking to say the least. Research this school thoroughly before sending your child. There are many, many good schools in the NW area of Tucson, and this is not one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

My child attended ALL for 5 years. Thinking that your child is at this accelerated level is very misleading. They are taught something well enough to get through an immediate test, then never touched on again. The children are taught the standardized testing so their 'scores' look better to potential students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

Our daughter went to Accelerated from kindergarten to 4th grade. In 5th we enrolled her in the best eastside district in Tucson. From the day she started her new school she begged to return to Accelerated. She said she was borded, learned nothing new, and the kids were mean snobs. Finally we returned to Accelerated. She is now very happy and she learned things in 7th grade that kids at other schools are not learning until 10th grade. Regardless of what was said in the other reviews, art and music are avaliable. I agree that Accelerated is not the school for parents who don t get involved, don t want to know what their child is doing, or blame the school for having academic and conduct rules. The math, language and science are extrodinary. Parent should know that Accelerated is more a college prep than a school for struggling kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

This school is Great, I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2006

My concern is the safety they have for the children, especially the younger ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Much attention paid to the chilldren who are 'accelerated'. Not much attention paid to the children who need additional help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

The longer my son is in this school, the more disillusioned I become. This is his 6th year at the school (he started in kindergarten), and while he has excelled academically, he is now almost left to teach himself. Our options were to send him to middle school (which meant he was in school every day from 8am-4pm in 5th grade), or leave him in a class where he is the most advanced, and is often left to help teach the other children in the class. There is NO music offered during school time, or any of the arts. The other thing you see at this school is a series of unfinished buildings. Rather than creating a GREAT elementary school, the headmaster has chosen to expand too quickly to middle and high school. Teacher turnover at the school is pretty high as well. This will be our last year at ALL.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 1, 2005

The academics are awsome at this school, however, there is no music, art, or physical education. If you can provide these things for your child, he/she will benefit from a first rate education that far exceeds what public school can offer. The school day is very long and should be considered carefully based on your child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 43%
White 44% 42%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 743-2417

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5245 North Camino De Oeste
Tucson, AZ 85745
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 743-2256

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Carden of Tucson
Tucson, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT