Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alice Vail Middle School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school since 2011 and from the time he started to when he finished, Alice Vail Middle School went from being a spectacular school to absolutely mediocre. Not only did budget cuts effect the school, but the leadership of the new 2013-14 principal was the worst I have seen. There were problems I had attempted to speak to the principal with multiple times and I was actually turned down and run away from. My child and I can agree that about 75% of teachers were supportive and good at what they did. However, they were not allowed to work to their full potential because of nonsensical limitations set by this principal. The environment was hostile during the 2013-14 school year and no progress was made whatsoever. The way this school was lead was not acceptable at all.

Alice Vail Middle School 3

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves going to this school but I wish they offered more after school programs other than sports.


Alice Vail Middle School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
This school was really great when I went to it I'm a sophomore I'm high school now an vail I miss so much you always heard what was going on in the school

Alice Vail Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
A good school overall but, the changes in the extra circular this year are not so great. This student is actually repeating work done in an advanced class last year, I know overall this is not the schools fault but I do wish that the budget cuts in our schools would end. Makes for a long day for our kids when there is no fun activities to break up their days! Overall good teachers and this student enjoys the academic challenges.

Alice Vail Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My son attends Alice Vail and I couldn't be happier! The principal is awesome!! He makes it a point to know every child's name. The teachers truly care about their students. The grounds are kept clean. I know my child is getting a quality education and is safe and happy here. The newly formed PTSA is getting involved and really getting Alice Vail involved in the community. I am proud to recommend this school!


Alice Vail Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
I believe there is a new Principle here. We encountered a situation this year and it was handled promptly, professionally and effectively by the Principle. The PTC has started back up this year. The school seems to be free from violence. We are happy with this school.god d

Alice Vail Middle School 4

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a good school. It has a ton of electives which is unusual in Tucson these days.

Alice Vail Middle School 3

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
Overall, a good school. My kid is in the GATE program but has friends in both GATE & non-GATE classes. We had a "situation" this year that was not handled properly by the vice-principal. Frankly, he does not know what he is doing. This is my personal experience & opinion. The principal is rarely around & seems to "hide out", away from parents. If he does show up to an event, he is there for about 5 minutes, says something, and then takes off as soon as he can escape! I even had a teacher tell me that she is just biding time until she can retire in a few years. 6th grade GATE is terrific. It is taught in 'blocks' & the kids really are immersed in the subject matter. I like& appreciate most of the teachers I have dealt with at this school, so far. Leadership is lacking.


Alice Vail Middle School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
It is a great school. The teachers try hard to get through to students. My son loves all the extra fun subjects, the GATE program is academic but balanced. Many of those students want to go to UHS. The food is good, my son likes it. The rules are clear and counsellors follow through on problem solving. A word to all parents...supervise your student, they need it more than you think, go over the rules and talk about acceptable behavior!

Alice Vail Middle School
no rating

Posted March 14, 2009
- a student
Alice Vail is a great school. I went there my 6th grade year. the teachers are helpful and actually care. the lunch is great!!!

Nearby schools

Alice Vail Middle School
5350 East 16th St, Tucson, AZ  85711
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (520) 584-5400
Last modified Alice Vail Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top