Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona College Prep Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 130 students

Our School is Best Known For a Rigorous Project-Based College Prep Environment

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 29, 2014

Arizona College Prep Academy applied for a Charter Transfer in 2012. The Arizona State Board for Charter Schools approved that application. At that time, the charter for Arizona College Prep Academy was transferred to a new non-profit corporation, Collaborative Pathways. Collaborative Pathways has a Board that is responsible solely for the operation of Arizona College Prep Academy. With the transfer, ACPA separated entirely from Amerischools and is no longer affiliated in any way with that organization or the schools it operates. In 2013, ACPA relocated to a new and permanent location, 3434 E. Broadway. The Collaborative Pathways Board and the Faculty and Administration of ACPA are looking forward to continuing our tradition of opportunity, achievement and empowerment for our students and alumni while continuing to innovate, motivate and provide a top-notch, theoretically sound curriculum to our students. Please feel free to contact me for more information.

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2011

All three of our children are in the Amerischools system and we couldn't be happier with their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

ACPA is remarkable in its efforts to get their students ready for the bigger challenge of life after high school. I would recommend ACPA to any of my family and friends. The teachers are enormously caring...they really want each student to succeed. And, if college is a goal? They make every student ready and help them with scholarship assistance. The teaching staff have a remarkable record of their students receiving well deserved scholarships from universities across the country. I'm a grandparent and am so pleased with my own grandchildren's education at ACPA.


Posted May 10, 2011

I switched to ACPA after 2 years at my public high school and it was the best decision that my parents could have made. The difference in my education after I switched was truly astounding. Unlike my previous high school, where the teachers hardly listened or took the time to understand the students and their needs, I was now at a school with teachers who were genuinely interested and concerned with my education and my future. They helped nurture the student that I knew I could be, but had struggled to be at a big public high school. My first 2 years of school my grades included a number of Cs in Ds and never an A. But By the time I graduated from ACPA I had almost straight As for my final semester. This is a school I highly recommend. It is truly education at its best and one of the most positive high school experiences that a student can ask for.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2011

ACPA was one of the best experiences I ever had. Never before had I known what it felt like to be a part of a community or how to work towards and make choices that would lead to a better life for me now. In addition to being academically challenging, one is encouraged to learn valuable skills in areas such as leadership and citizenship that really set a foundation for how the real world outside of a school environment works. Be prepared, if considering ACPA, to be held accountable to your actions and to be pushed past your comfort zone. But also be prepared to feel more love and community than you ever thought possible. If you want to go to college with the most opportunities possible, ACPA is the place that will do everything in its power to get those opportunities for you. I am a very proud alumni and I never hesitate to recommend ACPA to anyone who looking for a high school.


Posted March 10, 2011

My son LOVES this school! He wakes up in the morning & WANTS to go to school! He gets the one on one attention he needs. All the teachers seem to be very dedicated, caring, & proficient at their jobs. Every one gets along with everyone else & my son is EXCITED about his future! I feel the environment at this school is laid back yet serious about education. The passion for education & building a great foundation for the future is resounding within these walls! This is my son's first year here & has already received offers from colleges wanting him to attend. I love that we don't have to worry about a scholarship, this school (and my son) will make sure my son gets one! We moved here from the Mid-west & finding a school that ranks with that was a BLESSING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

As an Alumni from ACPA I can tell you from personal experience. When I came to the school i thought i could blow off everything just like i did at the local public middle school. But ACPA offered me a curriculum that challenged me to succeed, I went from a C and D student my freshman year to an A and B student my Junior and Senior years, because these teachers pushed me to succeed, and made me want more out of life than money. and a decent job, they made me want a family, and to find a way in my own way to make the world a better place.


Posted February 23, 2009

This school has a great enviroment the students and teachers have great relationships! I have been going here for a while and I have learned more here than i have in any school I've been too, and I have been to alot. The teachers are very willing to help you with anything in any subject, no question is a stupid question. The is a great atmosphere between students they encourage eachother and always thrive for friendships. They have great classes and extra curricular activities! This is the best school you could go to, and the best to send your kids too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

ACPA has done a great job preparing my child for college. The support that is offered during that process was great. I also love the way students travel out into the community or bring in experts. This past year, my child has gone to Raytheon, the UA 3-D imaging lab, the Botanical Gardens and just loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I used to be a student at ACPA and I have to say it was amazing the teachers are great and everyones friendly and wants to get to know you, the teachers actually care about what's going on in your life and if you need help with your work they are alwasy there for you


Posted December 28, 2008

You know I actually really like acpa. The teachers are really kind and care about you, and very helpful. Also the majority of the students are very supporting and because t is so small there are not quite so many problems that you experience in a larger educational facility such as excessive bullying or exclusion. Although I must have to note that I do fell a certain degree of clique-y-ness if you will,which I don t like very much. Also a slight degree of segregation, between the Hispanics and the rest of the student body. It is not severe of course, but it is felt and troubles me slightly. But other than that it really is an excellent school with a reasonable amount of homework and, reiterating an above stated point, amazing teachers and quite kind students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

I am ACPA freshman. It is THE best school ever!! With great tutoring and wonderful teacher involvement...they really care about what you think, and if you understand the lesson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

As a current student attending acpa, i'll be the first to say this school gives you a good foundation in schooling if you are lacking or come from a bad school, but it gives you no room to expand educationaly. You follow there curricular course, or you leave. Plus all the 'community' aspects are just like any other school.If you get along well with the big group you'll get along just fine. And all the 'team building' and 'griffin pride' come in such excessive amounts it makes you wanna gag. Plus the teachers are always in your space preaching to you about your choices. If you are not an 'acpaer' then you'll loathe this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

If you are not serious about school then the teachers will do everything they can to help you become a more proactive person and student. This community is made of positive and caring people who want to make a better future. If I ever have children I would want them to go to a school like this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

Over my 4 years at this school my life has improved greatly not only in academics but also as a citizen in the community. This school has provided me as well as many of my peers with a safe learning facility in which we can all feel safe and expand our horizens. I was a shy student with lower then average grades in middle school when I entered ACPA but over my years at this school I have changed. I am now comfortable around my peers and my community as a whole and have nearly perfect grades. I greatly recommend this school if you value your growth academically and mentally.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

I am a senior at ACPA and I absolutely love this school. It has not only helped me grow academically but also emotionally and mentally. When I graduate I will take more with me than I ever thought I would in terms of memories, lessons learned, personal advice from the teachers, and so much more. I had so much fun with local bands coming to our school and having concerts for the students. On top of that the different music styles and sounds that I was exposed to inspired me to write songs of my own and find that I too am a musician and opened my eyes to my own love of music.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2007

This school is great academically and the teachers will do everything in their power to have kids succeed. My only complaint is a lack of music and sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

After homeschooling for 9 years, we are blessed to have found ACPA. The prospect of public highschool was terrifying. But our daughter loves ACPA. The principal really cares about the students and wants to help each one succeed. I highly recommend ACPA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

I have had both of my children at ACPA as well as several family friends. I cannot even imagine a more exciting or amazing school. The teacher's are professional, caring and incredibly passionate. I am always shocked by the work they do with the kids as whole people. The success rates don't even begin to touch the human accomplishments achieved in this building. My kids love this school like a second home and I enthusiastically recommend ACPA for any parent. The extracurricular choices are almost endless. Thank you to Mr. and Mrs. Mendoza and all the staff. You have created an unparalleled learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Overall I have been pleased with academic programs. It troubles me that there are no arts programs. My chief complaint would be the quality of teachers who are currently there, and an apparent lack of professional leadership. The school's goals are in line with mine, but I have not always agreed with procedure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

This school is a fantastic place for teens to not only learn academically but also grow as far as people.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 43% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school La Paloma Academy
Sonoran Science - Broadway
Dodge Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 85% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
University of San Diego
Smith College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Hebrew
Spanish
Turkish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Arizona Charter School of the Year (2008)
  • "A" Rated School (2014)
  • US News and World Report Bronze Medal School (2008)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Dual Enrollment at Pima Community Colleg
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Alumni Visits & Tours
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 4:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Charlene Mendoza
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 722-0052

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Dual Enrollment at Pima Community Colleg
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Alumni Visits & Tours
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cycling
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • ACPA is a small school with a safe environment. We offer academically challenging seminar-based classes with a hands-on, minds-on approach. College counseling begins with students the summer prior to 8th grade. Tutorial for enrichment and remediation is available daily before and after school. We have a focus on Community Involvement which includes community service, civic involvement and using community resources to enrich our curriculum and enhance student learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
La Paloma Academy
Sonoran Science - Broadway
Dodge Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
University of San Diego
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Alumni Visits & Tours
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 85%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3434 E. Broadway
Tucson, AZ 85716
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 722-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Basis Tucson
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT