Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amphitheater High School

Public | 9-12 | 1248 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

This school has change a lot In the last couple of years, they had some improvements done around the school like their restrooms and the principal and teachers had put a lot of effort to make Amphi high a better school they care about the students and want them to succeed but like every other school their is always students that don't care and have no discipline in their homes and if there's no discipline home of course no discipline at school but still trying to help them. Staff will help on anything they can and their programs, club's and clases are lot better now than years before. So Amphi is not a bad school it's up to the student's to make it better..


Posted November 20, 2013

My school cannot be better. I have been given opportunities never imagined before. as Student Body President I try to give everyone the support that was once given to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2013

Some great teachers, working hard amidst continual budget cuts which hit Title I schools harder. Not an easy school to manage, partly due to having so much geographic territory to cover, but when I taught here I was not treated well by management and there were a few bad apples among teachers. I wasn't micromanaged, just given no guidance whatsoever, treated rudely or ignored, and given zero feedback. Other teachers in my department could be very supportive but there was some infighting and weird politics. There have a couple of scandals involving AHS in the newspaper and I'm not surprised. Has the reputation of good athletics and arts programs, due to talented teachers. Maybe administration has improved since I was there, but at the time the lack of professionalism was alarming - in groups among the administrators and teachers, if you can believe it.


Posted April 20, 2012

Loved it...received the best education here! Great teachers! Great educational experience! Great programs and clubs!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2011

Amphi may not be the best school in the state, but we could be. Yes our test scores are low yet that's not because of teachers giving up on students its because of students not caring. This year now that aims are a week away teachers are trying to help the sophomore more then ever. With extra help like practice test and a strong support system i believe Amphi could get better scores. Our parent involvement is low but that's not the parents fault again it comes back on the students who don't care. If you go to anyone of our sporting events you will see a huge amount of parents and students who do care about Amphi, our students, and our teachers. We may not be the best now but we will be in a few years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2011

Amphi is just like any other school out there, they have drama, "boring" teachers, and groups . Really, Amphi is one of the best schools Ive been to, teachers honestly do care if you care. Its not all about having the best computers and technology in the district . Scores may have gone down a bit, but that's only because our students, YOUR children, have given up and stopped caring. I'm a junior now and have been coming to Amphi all three years now, and when i didn't feel so confident about taking aims, I told my 10th grade English teacher, and she broke things down a little bit for me to understand. I'm one of the youngest people in my class and I have passed all three aims tests with a 710+. I can honestly say we have great teachers here ! * And they have updated bathrooms :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

The Career and Technical programs at Amphi are top-notch. Although the enrollment has decreased over the years, the programs that remain are very good. the teachers truly care about the students, and their future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2008

boring school. teachers don't really help you if you fail their classes. so much drama. most students acts very hard and always find problems with other students. dirty bathroom. need to update the bathroom!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2006

Poor quality curriculum. I have been bored most of my Amphi trip and im down right sick of it... a school that pretty much allows me to have low grades and they do nothing reasonable about it. yet nearly have of the teachers are downright awesome but it doesn't help if theres poor curriculum. and i have been failing forever now and theres practically no parent involvement. Saftey and Discipline is almost to great wich is evil for me but good for you parents. everything seems fine with the after school activities though. and the music and art programs are alright. i would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2006

The quality of education provided by this school has declined at an alarming rate. They are 10-15 years behind technologically and communication. They have a few good and caring people...Unfortunately they are over worked...spread thin. Progress reports are sent infrequently. Promises are made and never kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

an environment full of help to move onto the next step after high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

The priority is certainly on the students at this school. I believe the teachers are truly cut out for their positions and the community pulls together to make it a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2005

Recent changes in the administration and teaching staff have left both parents and students feeling a little lost, in the dark, hung out to dry - insert your favorite figure of speech here. Overall, the fine arts and athletic departments are very strong (as long as their funding is kept up), but other programs are generally lacking in both quality and quantity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2004

While my dealings with the administration have been very frustrating, bordering on unprofessional, the teachers have been very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 42%
White 22% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (520) 696-5555

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 W Yavapai Road
Tucson, AZ 85705
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rillito Center
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT