Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amphitheater Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 631 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

This really isn't a good school at all. Or at least that's how it was when I went there. No rules, no dress code, the students are disrespectful, and no one does anything about it. In fact, the monitors at that school strived to be "cool." No one ever got in trouble for anything, and there was a huge problem with bullying that no one ever addressed. The kids are just wholly disrespectful, for the most part. Especially the 6th and 7th graders. I wouldn't recommend this school. Things might have changed since I went (I didn't graduate too long ago) but my experience there has tainted this review. I would say go to a different school, and preferably not a public school. I go to a private school now and nothing they taught me there helped me at all. They didn't even teach us how to use a computer, and people put so much emphasis I on technology these days. To keep this short, unless you must positively go here, pick a different school. You won't regret it. There is so much more I would like to say, but I cannot due to the character limit.


Posted December 15, 2011

Hello, I was a student at Amphi Middle this year and I must say, in my opinion, this school lacks everthing it once had. Explaining to people that Im in Amphi was one thing, that got them started on, "Oh, I was in Amphi when I was your age! Great school!" Well, NO. Let's start with Excellent Teachers. No. Several teachers there were irritable/complaining about their job/life. It was very distracting. Principal/School Leadership was LACKED. It was LED by the students. And forbid a substitute teacher was in, the students became out of control and undisaplined. For the last, challenging academin programs, it's not a challenging school at all. Amphi focuses on the sports department instead of acadmic programs.


Posted April 16, 2009

This school focuses on more of the behaivor than the studies. I go to the school and I'm a seventh grader and it's my first year. I really can't stand this school because of bullying and the classes. On my M.A.P score in reading I recieved a high score that showed i should Not have reading as one of my classes but there I am every day five days a week in reading. If you're a parent reading this and you want the BEST for your child DON'T consider this school. There are WAYYYYY better schools than this one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

i am in enrolled in this school now. Iam a 8th grader and this school is a great school if you have a will to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2006

As my son in enrolled at this school for now, i am truely mortified of the lack of leadership and parent involvment, little lone the lack of safety and disipline from the principle on down to the school's security monitor. This school has no clue of the 'no bullying act' even when something is seen, not one adult or monitor will do anything to fix the problem. I think their motto is... 'Always turn your head the other way.' The school administrators act like they dont want to get involved since it will create them actually having to do something besides collecting a paycheck. So if you want your child to be a slacker, enroll them into this school. Otherwise find a better school then this one, because i am!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

AMS was adequate when my daughter went there 14 years ago. But, my son is there now in 2004 and it is entirely different. The atmosphere does not feel like a safe environment or one that promotes learning along with self-respect and respect for others; from the students and from some of the staff. The Amphi school district used to practice a program called Peace-builders. However, they seem to have abandoned it for 3 or 4 years now. In today's society, it is very necessary. Our children are treating each other with disrespect and with no concern for each others feelings. And, it seems that in many cases there is no reinforcement from home either. There are some excellent teachers at Amphi, however, the student environment outweighs this positive. I want my son to go on to high school as a whole person, who wants to be learn and cares for fellow students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

Amphi Middle School was once an A-plus school and it's clearly not any more. They seem so focused on discipline issues that it almost appears education has become a secondary priority. Like many public schools, it has become too large to service the individual child and instead serves a bulk population, most of whom are unknown to administrators. How can teachers have 100 or more students throughout their day and expect to give quality attention to each individual?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 43%
White 16% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 696-6236

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

315 East Prince Road
Tucson, AZ 85705
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-6230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rillito Center
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT