Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basis Tucson

Charter | 5-12 | 676 students

We are best known for top US News/Newsweek rankings.

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2011

I've been a student at basis for the past four years. When I first got there, I thought it was a great school. However, now I honestly hate it. The administration has let the fame get to their heads, and is no longer focusing on the students, but is instead focusing on the student's test scores. If you would rather have an academic life then a social life, then this is most definitely the school for you.


Posted February 21, 2011

As a BASIS student, I would say that this school is appropriate for any kid who wants a proper education. There are very little schools that can give you as much support and knowledge as BASIS does. Again, this is a BASIS student writing, and I absolutely love the school.


Posted May 22, 2010

Recently relocated to Arizona, I have learned much about certain school districts. My 4th grader started school & noticed that the work matched those in California when she was in 3rd grade. Moved her to charter school which offered something new. Moms told me about BASIS. Researched, read, visited, toured the school, met faculty, examined sample class courses & schedules. Impressed. This school is definitely not for every child, especially if the child(ren) do not have support at home to go over homework. Daughter will start BASIS 2010, she has been mentally prepared to work hard. She wants to go to UCSD like her sister & sees her sister studying all the time. Life isn't free nor easy & finishing college open many doors. Promotions, raises, bonuses are earned by hard work. My job is to guide my kids towards a bright future and BASIS seems to share the same vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I have two children at BASIS for two years. One in 8th grade and one in 6th grade. They truly enjoy the excellent music, art and drama programs and academics. My children are very happy at BASIS. I came from Asia and the curriculum at BASIS is very similar to where I came from. If Americans want to stay at the top, our children will need to have more school like BASIS to attend. Of course they will be expected to WORK. What do you think the Chinese and Indians are doing? Yes, teachers should be strict, how else do they control the classroom ? BASIS school is a choice, they do not pick the only the smart kids, they just expect them to work and have discipline. Kids that want to learn at their own pace should not be there. Go somewhere else an stay behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I have one child at BASIS in fifth grade and since he has been there he is a changed person. Before he began, at his public school, he was bored, bullied, and completely miserable. Since his transfer to BASIS, his learning has progressed at an incredible rate we never knew was possible. He has never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

My kids are being pushed way too hard! Teachers are so strict! Sure, teaching skills are great! But no recess, no field trips, no nothing! Kids learn at their own pace, not what these stuck up teachers tell them to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

We are currently attending BASIS Tucson. It has been a phenomenal experience. There are amazing teachers and educationally rigorous classes. While attending BASIS we have been given the tools to excel in many subjects, that are not typically necessary until a student has reached college education. Overall, it has been a very inspirational for our future ambitions and dreams as young adults. One of the best schools anyone could ever attend, we strongly recommend it to any aspiring students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2009

Academically fantastic; lacking in soul. The school's structure makes it really hard to get to know the teachers, and the rigorous program gives short shrift to other important matters pertaining to a well-rounded education, such as creativity and empathy for others. Imagination tends to be swallowed here by the frantic pace of the academic curriculum. My child is here because the closest alternative is woefully inadequate, and I'm grateful overall for the high expectations and quality instruction. However, I feel that BASIS does not necessarily a happy, balanced kid make. It values academic achievement to the detriment of emotional and social intelligence, and many of the teachers ignore or fail to recognize a hierarchical, intolerant, and often cruel undercurrent among the kids. (I think BASIS assumes, mistakenly, that it is immune to this common Middle School problem.) In a nutshell: great education; very one-dimensional; a little cold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My child has developed a sense of responsibility and matured considerably in the short time he's been at Basis. The quality of the teaching staff and curriculum is evident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This is a great school to have your child into, but my kid needed extra help, otherwise he could not survive the high speed at which the teachers go. For my child, Kumon on Oracle Rd helped a lot and I strongly recommend it if you want results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

As a parent of a new student, I have to say that Basis is a whole different world from the school he came from. Rote learning, flash cards, 2 hours of worksheet homework a night, where as at his previous school there were projects, investigational learning, creativity was encouraged and the parents were welcome. 'Open house' for me said it all. Parents were herded into a small room to sit for 2 hours while teacher after teacher presented without any time for parent's questions. In the past, we were welcomed into classrooms to see our student's work and explore his world at school. There were parents and teachers sharing ideas and smiles. Kids played and were excited to show us everything. If the 'Open House' is any indication of how my child is being educated (sitting and listening), then it is not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Follow uo on before alot of my friends are scared to tell there parents how they feel cause thye feel they are letting them down which is rubbish to me but that is the presure we are under.I just wish we had a teachersomone we can go too and let it out we tell our parents they get upset i dont know i just wish they had more of a guidance system for us.Basis is good if your a good test taker wish me luck for high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

have a child at BASIS and it is a very frustrating experience! If you expect the teachers to communicate with you...forget it! We get the feeling that they allow kids to fail, if they are even close it, instead of trying help at all. If your child needs any type of help or encouragement with schooling...do not expect it from BASIS. We are definitely considering leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

WOW! this school rocks, nice kids, dedicated staff, and some wacky times...........
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

I have been going to BASIS for years and one thing has become apparently clear to me during that time, BASIS is not a school for the weak, the timid, or the insecure. The students and teachers are on a level most of the parents can't even understand and a student's voice is key to the educational journey. If you are considering BASIS, I advise you assist your child in anyway you can, but overall, their education MUST be their decision at all times, if they want to leave and have a valid reason to, they should be allowed to. Though BASIS is a wonderful resource for hard-working, gifted students, it isn't for everyone, and that needs to be taken into consideration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2009

Basis is a good school but there is little time for family and sports with the amount of homework .I personally feel there is so much competition between kids and that is sad after all it is a good school and all the kids should be awarded for hard work my daughter is in 7th grade and she had done 3 years and now very burned out i dont know about 8th grade i wnat her to havea life also and by the way i think hard work is good but she is only 12 and we are both lawyers we just want our kids happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Basis is a good school my son is in 6th grade and for the last 6 months i have been concerned about the science part .Today he arrives home with letter saying basis made a mistake and has been teaching the wrong sylibus .My son is upset and we are also it the school year is nearly over and we feel we have wasted all this time not happy father here what now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I have been going to BASIS for several years and those years have been the highlight of my education. People think that if you go to BASIS you have no fun on the weekends and you dont have life but you do and a great one at that. At BASIS they teach you to be organized and try your best. Great Teachers and Faculty members working hard to make sure the students suceed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

this school is to tough and the kids never have any fun they r always working and the schoolis way on the academic side and children need a well rounded school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I have several students at BASIS school and while I know they are learning a lot which was not happening through TUSD I see them headed for burn out. There is no joy in learning and discovery. I fear we are creating a school of depressed over achievers .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 3%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
Arizona State University
Williams College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ranked the #6 public high school in the nation by Newsweek. (2010)
  • Ranked the #9 public high school in the nation by US News & World Report (2009)
  • Ranked the #5 public high school in the nation by Newsweek. (2009)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. George Rising
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 326-6359

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • flag football, bicycling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • flag footabll, bicycling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • BASIS Tucson 10th grade students earned a 100% pass rate on the AIMS Science exam (BASIS Scottsdale was the only other school in the state to share this distinction). In fact, 97 percent of BASIS Tucson 10th graders EXCEEDED state standards on the AIMS Science exam compared with only 27 percent of students statewide. 100 percent of BASIS Tucson 8th grade students also passed the AIMS Science exam and 99 percent of those students EXCEEDED state standards on the AIMS Science exam compared with only 33 percent of students statewide. BASIS Tucson students had the highest overall AIMS scores in the following grade levels: 8th (tied), 10th (tied). Moreover, 100 percent of BASIS Tucson students passed the AIMS exam in the following subjects and grade levels: 8th grade math, 7th grade reading, 8th grade reading, 10th grade reading, 10th grade writing, 8th grade science, and 10th grade science.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
100% of our students graduate
100% of our graduates are accepted by 4-year universities
100% go on to attend 4-year universities or colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 East 2nd St
Tucson, AZ 85716
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 326-3444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT