Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basis Tucson

Charter | 5-12 | 676 students

We are best known for top US News/Newsweek rankings.

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2009

Basis is a great school. It is my thrid year here, and I'm loving it. The teachers are very supportive and if you have a problen, they won't stop helping until it is solved. I would recommend Basis to any parent. The teachers are great and so is the cirriculum. Plus, its a shame other schools don't give you this kind of an education. When you get into 9th grade, you start learning calculus! Its a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

In retrospect, I hardly feel like spending the past 6 years at BASIS has robbed me of anything, in any way. Although I did miss out on many of the traditional aspects of high school, it is to be noted that BASIS, in fact, is not a traditional high school. . I would definitely recommend this school to any parents who want to see their children getting the best education possible and to see them have the opportunity and ability to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

I'm a senior at BASIS and to no small degree, I owe who I am to this school. Yes, it gets stressful. Yes, the workload is heavy. But the support is amazing. The teachers are not only well-educated and talented, they are caring. They see their students as individuals. The student body itself is the most diverse and unified one I have encountered. If one is willing to put in the hours, the benefits reaped will be great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2008

Basis is solely academic - their program includes a phenomenal classical education, however there is not much soul there. I don't agree that parents are involved, or even invited to do more than help them raise money. The school rigidly requires all students to take the same curriculum, so very bright children feel stifled, just kept busy. There is not a respect for the individual, so kids learn to be obedient but not to think for themselves. It likely develops successful white collar workers, however it does not seem to us to be a leadership development school. If the same curriculum were provided with kindness and flexibility this would be a truly great school. Their motto on a recent brochure said 'we don't get good students, we make them.' They have the blank slate view of children, which creative and self-assured kids and their parents find a bit off-putting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Ive noticed that some others don't like Basis because they think it pushes their student so hard; let me tell you this, it only pushes them to hard, but let me tell you this, it doesn't push kids that hard at all, its just all about the attitude, if a kid doesn't want to learn, they will have a cruddy time at Basis, it just all depends on how they think about learning. Some kids don't want to learn, and parents send their kids to a better school than what they were at before, expecting their child to do better in school than before. Ill tell you what, that is not the truth, Basis is not a correctional facility, and isn't meant to help kids get their act together. so please, dont send your kid here unless you think they can take alot of work, and still like it. -A Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

This school is great if your child does not need to be taught. If your child is an excellent test taker and memorizer than this school is great and the school will love your child. It will increase their numbers for AP. If your child actually needs to be taught the school will not do it. They will just encourage your child to hate school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

My son has been here since sixth grade. He is now in seventh grade. He has been happy here and feels proud to be learning at such a high level for someone his age (Latin, Chemistry, Physics, Algebra!). He was a poor student last year when he first started and Basis worked hard to teach him how to be a pretty good student. Their standards are high, but I believe most kids, even 'average' students will rise to the occasion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Curriculum is excellent on paper and my child was notably learning at an accelerated pace, however, she became quickly depressed as the academic demands quickly killed her joy of learning. She had to quit being a little kid and learn to work like a grad student... It was really sad. Teachers were not helpful and the rigid 'office hours' were only useful for non-working parents. Communication between school and home was terrible. The school was not 'warm' and I was not allowed to drop in to visit without an appointment. There were also a ton of hidden fees for everything the school 'offered', that left those of lower SES excluded. Finally, there was a terrible air of snobbery among the student population in general. The cliques were ruthless and learned quickly that money and status 'set them 'above' the rest'. Sorry... I didn't think it was worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

this is a great school.it challenges you as well as encourages you.i went here 2 years ago and i learned more in one year than i had in about three or four years at a public school.very friendly students and staff.i just wish that it was bigger and that there was a school lunch.lots of homework and rotating classes but an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

Im a 7th grade student at BASIS, and I love it here. It's challenging, and the teachers are wonderful. The students are really kind also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2007

i go here and its great! we are all smart and on the same level of learning. i would reccomend this school to everyone!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

Basis school is great. My daughter is in 5th grade and she is so very happy. The teachers are fantastic my girl tells me she has learned more in 2 months than she did in 5 years at public school. I was worried she would miss her friends but she has totally shocked us very very happy I would not change anything the leadership at the school is 100% the children are very happy and excited about school. If I was you go and check it out the school is great. Go Basis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Basis Tucson is a great school. My son is finally being challenged as well as encouraged. The teachers are fantastic and I have to admit he is a better person since he started this year. A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

This school has been a big improvement over the expensive private school where our child went to previously. It does sort of indulge in 'extreme academics' but our kid is learning so much and is much happier here so far. Maybe there's a method to all this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

My child has just started at Basis in 6th grade. So far, I am sad to say I am unimpressed with the teachers at this school. They seem very detached and committed to being 'tough' with no regard to the individual student. My child is an excellent student with amazing test scores. Academically, he is doing very well and getting very good grades. However, after visiting the school for open house - I found the teachers very self absorbed about 'their credentials' and found very few of them had actual teaching experience at this grade level. So far - there are minimal extra-curricular activities and as of October, no orchestra for those students who don't want to be in band. Not sure if the school is worth the hype.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

We have two students at basis. One began in 7th grade and just completed 9th grade; the other began in 6th grade and just completed 7th grade. This is an amazing school. The administration has created a curriculum that far exceeds state standards and that competes with, if not exceeds, top national schools/standards. The introduction of pure algebra based physics, chemistry, and introductory biology in middle school allows students to acquire an ability that is often left undeveloped in public and private schools (our children attended both). The literature and humanities department provides an amazing program that covers college level material. The teachers are extremely dedicated, providing teacher hours to students for extra help and detailed feedback on english papers. The students develop both responsibility and high work ethics as a result of this curriculum. Extracurricular activities such as music, an excellent theatre program, an art studio,& some sports are provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

The No Child Left Behind Act should be renamed, No Child Shall Exceed. BASIS expectations are high and they want each and every student to succeed. Tutoring, extra credit assignments, and student-teacher office hours are provided to allow the students to receive extra help in they need. My 6th grade son is about to finish up his first year at BASIS. He has had an extraordinary year. He has been pushed academicallly, something that rarely happened in TUSD. The teachers as well as the administrators are very approachable. Problems are dealt with immediately. I do not have enough good words to describe my son's experience at BASIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

BASIS is definitely a welcome addition to Tucson. Our daughter started in the 5th grade at BASIS this year. The greater homework load and math practice is a welcome change from public schools and is necessary. Math takes practice to learn. BASIS is doing an excellent job in this area. The other subjects are also challenging for both students and parents - a welcome challenge. Regardless of how good the school is, parents must be involved in their students education. The emphasis on other subjects such as geography and history is great. Having daily P.E. is also a plus for exercising the body as well as the mind. Using karate or any martial art is one of the best ways to give a child physical exercise, discipline and a sense of personal achievement and worth. Good choice. I highly recommend BASIS for Tucson parents sincerely concerned about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Halfway into his first year at Basis, our fifth grader couldn't be happier. He was sad to leave the beautiful grounds and friends and teachers of his private school, but he loves the carefully interwoven curriculum at Basis, especially the class discussions and projects. He considers some of his teachers this year his 'best ever' and is already sad to think about their classes ending in May. As for the diverse student body, which represents a cross section of Tucson, he says that 'All the kids are nice. There aren't any bullies.' It's wonderful for parents to get that feedback! It's also wonderful for us as parents to experience the responsiveness of the teachers and the accessibility of the administration. Communication works well through e-mail and after-school conferences. Basis sets its standards high, but never stops caring. For those interested in a stimulating approach to learning, Basis is a gift to Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

My son started at BASIS this fall with the new 5th grade class. So far, it has met and exceeded every expectation for a rigorous, interesting, thoughtful educational experience. In 5th grade there is PE and music every day, plus Humanities, Geography, Language Arts, Math, and Science. There are rules and they are followed. No more unruly children taking all the teacher's time! Multiple sports are offered after school (soccer, track, basketball, volleyball), plus Science Bowl club, Chess club, and Drama club. The 5th grade chess club has won the last two K-6 meets in Tucson. Kids come from all over Tucson and are motivated to learn. It isn't for everyone: kids do need to be bright and motivated. But for those who haven't been challenged previously in elementary school--this is the school for them. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 3%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
Arizona State University
Williams College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ranked the #6 public high school in the nation by Newsweek. (2010)
  • Ranked the #9 public high school in the nation by US News & World Report (2009)
  • Ranked the #5 public high school in the nation by Newsweek. (2009)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. George Rising
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 326-6359

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • flag football, bicycling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • flag footabll, bicycling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • BASIS Tucson 10th grade students earned a 100% pass rate on the AIMS Science exam (BASIS Scottsdale was the only other school in the state to share this distinction). In fact, 97 percent of BASIS Tucson 10th graders EXCEEDED state standards on the AIMS Science exam compared with only 27 percent of students statewide. 100 percent of BASIS Tucson 8th grade students also passed the AIMS Science exam and 99 percent of those students EXCEEDED state standards on the AIMS Science exam compared with only 33 percent of students statewide. BASIS Tucson students had the highest overall AIMS scores in the following grade levels: 8th (tied), 10th (tied). Moreover, 100 percent of BASIS Tucson students passed the AIMS exam in the following subjects and grade levels: 8th grade math, 7th grade reading, 8th grade reading, 10th grade reading, 10th grade writing, 8th grade science, and 10th grade science.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
100% of our students graduate
100% of our graduates are accepted by 4-year universities
100% go on to attend 4-year universities or colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 East 2nd St
Tucson, AZ 85716
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 326-3444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT