Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bloom Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

Bloom Elementry my child has been very happy since he has been going There, the teachers and staff have been very supportive, my husband and I are vary pleased With the education our child is receiving. I believe the staff and teachers care about each student and their education. I applaud them and Bloom ! One happy family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

My kid attended 3 years here and in general we were not happy. Eventually I had to transfer him out and feel so bad that I did not do it before. The teachers that he had were not nice, they had no patience and screamed at the kids. My kid told me that his teacher would use the computer all the time and that when kids had questions she was not able to get to them. That his teacher had favorites and pick on others. Unfortunately he told me this after we moved. At times it felt like a mental hospital not a school. By word of mouth there are some nice teachers but those are hard to request. I tried to request one and was denied . By talking to other parents the able program is very good but after that be very careful and volunteer if possible or just go to another school. They also need more monitors out in the field not enough. I remember that the office people and the principal were very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

My son is currently in the 1st grade. He LOVED kindergarten and he enjoys 1st grade as well. The teachers my son has had are wonderful and they have kept the parents involved and informed. The Principal truely cares about the school and making it a better environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

We have been very happy with the education our child is receiving. There is an emphasis on reading and writing ... but to balance the academic focus there is also a lot of opportunities for the kids to be physically active which my son loves. The staff has been more than helpful and is very dedicated to providing the best education for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My son attended the school from Kinder to 2nd. The kinder teacher was wonderful, but once they move up it gets worse. I would not recommend sending you child here. If you are a parent who works & does not have time to volunteer it shows on how your child is treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My son is in the Preschool Project ABLE class with Ms. Debby Eisen. She is a great teacher, and my son loves attending classes! I would recommend her classroom to parents with children who need extra help with speech/language, occupational, and/or physical therapy skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Teacher quality is declining rapidly. The test scores over the last few years confim this. Not much cooperation between teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

This is a really good school. I went here from second-fifth grade and I loved it. The teachers are great, the school is very clean and it has nice grounds and classrooms. I especially loved my teachers, my GATE teacher was amazing. I give it a 5/5!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2005

Very caring staff. Top notch music and art program. Before and after care is very helpfull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

I liked the Project Able class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Quality of academic programs : Not bad overall, but a little bit 'touchy feely'. Should be more rigorous on basics. Forget science projects that the parents end up doing for their kids. Concentrate on math, writing, Spanish. Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities : OK...kids seem satisfied. Level of parent involvement: They try very hard to get the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2003

We are fairly new to this community. I have been very happy with Bloom and the teachers. The teachers have been great with my son and so far, he has received a good education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 39% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 731-3701

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8310 E. Pima
Tucson, AZ 85715
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT