Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The teachers and staff at this school are very dedicated to the academic achievement of the students. They care for and support each individual child and work with the families to provide much needed support.
May 09, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The teachers and staff at this school are very dedicated to the academic achievement of the students. They care for and support each individual child and work with the families to provide much needed support.
Posted May 09, 2016

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I would say "thanks" to our PTC who sponsored the field day for student last Friday! they did a great job of organizing the fire dept. to come and spray the kids with water, having a Zumba instructor here to dance with the kids, and especially the popcorn and snow cones! Everyone had a great time and it was wonderful to see so many smiling faces!
Posted May 09, 2016


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I would say thank you to all of the staff, teachers, and parents that work together to make sure our students have the best opportunities in their education. The parents are amazing in their efforts to provide family events such as Movie Nights and fundraisers. I am amazed by the staff and teachers here as well with everything they do for students. They really go above and beyond everyday to ensure all of our students get the "good stuff".
Posted January 06, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Bonillas is a Character Counts school. I see how these lessons transfer over to our students everyday. They are polite and respectful. When parents and other teachers come to visit at Bonillas, they are amazed at the positive and warm welcoming feeling they have when they are here.
Posted January 06, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Bonillas teachers and staff work together weekly on job embedded professional development. Many of our teachers worked through the summer at trainings here at school and ones provided by the district on new resources in Math and Reading. Our teachers understand that collaboration is key to student success and they work in Professional Learning Communities weekly to review student work, analyze data, and plan for lessons.
Posted October 19, 2015


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
As a traditional academics school, Bonillas believes in the importance of nightly homework. This teaches students to take responsibility for their learning and also teaches them that learning doesn't just stop when the bell rings. We want our students to be lifelong learners! Reinforcing skills at home helps support the learning at school.
Posted October 19, 2015

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
The staff here at Bonillas are the most hard working and dedicated staff I have ever seen. They are here hours before school starts and hours afterwards to ensure our students have the highest quality education. This hard work and dedication flows over to our students as well. They experience the value and importance of having a strong education. We talk to our students about how college is not just a dream, but a plan. Students here at Bonillas receive many accelerated learning experiences within the rigorous AZCCRS curriculum.
Posted October 19, 2015

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Bonillas has high expectations for all of its students in character building and academics. You can really see what a difference the character building makes in students that start here in kindergarten all the way through 5th grade. Our 5th grade students are ready for the rigorous program at Dodge Traditional Magnet School. About 75% of our 5th graders take advantage of the Bonillas to Dodge pipeline. Dodge is the only "A" rated middle school in TUSD.
Posted October 19, 2015


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our student council supported many great events last year including Jump for Heart. They helped raise $815 dollars for heart disease. Every month students learn important lesson from the 6 character pillars. Students are recognized monthly for exhibiting outstanding character!
Posted October 19, 2015

Bonillas Elementary Basic Curriculum Magnet School 2

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to this school 2 years ago and I thought I had made a good decision taking her there because of the strict rules and "involved principal" but I began to realize that this school lacks teaching techniques and as strict as it seemed by daughter got lost at the school for an hour. The front office staff is very rude.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonillas Elementary Basic Curriculum Magnet School
4757 E. Winsett Street, Tucson, AZ  85711
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (520) 232-6000
Last modified Bonillas Elementary Basic Curriculum Magnet School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top