Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Booth-Fickett Math/Science Magnet School

Public | K-8 | 1296 students

Our school is best known for unique and rigorous math and science instruction!

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

Team work is what I think of when it comes to Booth-Fickett. This is my grandson's first year at Booth-Fickett and his teacher and the admin. have helped him to feel like he is the only studnet in the school. I can tell you by my past experience of raising sixteen children, I have never felt so relieved and comforted leaving my Grandson in the hands of competent educators. I see a future for my grandson. Anytime there is progress or problems I am notified as soon as possible. What else can I say about Booth-Fickett K-8 Math and Science Magnet School...many, many thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I am the proud parent of a 4th and 6th grader, both of whom are proud to call Booth-Fickett "their school." They are both receiveing an excellent education and have increased their math and science skills tremendourly since transferring from a local charter school. In addition, we have noticed a postive increase in their self esteem. The teachers and staff go out of their way to make our entire family feel welcome, appreciated and valued. They often go above and beyond to make sure our children are recieng the help they need to be successful at school We are proud to be part of Booth-Fickett Magnet School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

We transferred our 3 children [grades 2, 5, and 8] from a local charter school and have been very happy with the education they are receiving. Their teachers made them feel welcome and helped make the transition a smooth one. The teachers are extremely dedicated and consistently go above and beyond. An example of this is the after school math tutoring. The teachers are always cheerful and helpful and seem to have an endless positive energy even though they have already put in a full day s work before they tutoring sessions begin. Another example is the recent Literacy with meaning family night. We went home with so many great ideas and a furthering sense of the dedication and caring that occurs every day at Booth-Fickett. Our kids love going to this school. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

reviews seem to depend on personal experience but I have had a good one. I have seen great things in the last few years and both my kids love the school, both the booth side and the fickett side. The principals always make time for you and are friendly...teachers have been great. I would recommend it to a friend for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

As we are finishing the 2011 school year here at Booth Fickett I would not recommend this school. Booth and Fickett has really gone down hill with their students performance and behavior. There is a huge bullying problem Booth and it has carried over to Fickett. Fights everyday on both campus's. Kids curse like sailors. We have also noticed that the kids are extremely pregidous against white kids. The majority of school is african american and hispanic and white kids get bullied pretty bad. Principal is aware of the severity of the issue, but has not been able to get it under control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Fickett for the most part is a good school. There is a lot of drama and constant fighting and some of the teachers are burnt out. A few teachers really help. The office staff doesn't check for I.D.. In the first 2 weeks of Janurary there was 13 fights, mostly girls and the principal changed suspension rules only to be set back and there is constant talk of who is going to fight who and who can fight. Fight to survive
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2010

the staff is great and gets things done in a timely manner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

well i was a student there and that school its awsomee...!! i love everything in there the programs the teachers everything! Booth Fickett #1
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

After several years at Booth-Fickett I continue to be frustrated in the overall quality of the school. Good teachers most of the time, but the administration and office staff are hopeless. No follow-through, no responses to legitimate concerns, only putting out fires and providing lip service quickie responses. I tried to call the office about locked gates at the end of school, and nobody would respond. The principal wouldn't take calls. What is wrong with TUSD that this is allowed to continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

i have two kids that went to booth bfms both of them had ADHD and were in sp class for extra help and because the school was so greate by the end of 7th grade the had got out of the sp class and their ADHD is under controll
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I attended this middle school and it was great the teachers interact with the students but the students need to ask because the teachers cant read minds. there where some fights but everyone mainly got along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

I continue to have issues with their lack of good communication. We never get info home about anything, seems they totally rely upon the kids remembering and telling their parents everything (which most Mid School kids don't do) I've had kids involved with sports after school and we never know for sure when/where even if games are scheduled; i never know if there is a dance or another activity...i check the website regularly and it is never updated. (so why have it?) If I call or write an Administrator i do get a return email usually but it's usually abt things that i shouldn't have to inquire about. I think the teachers are good, but there hasn't been much homework. Would like to see more clubs/after school activities that aren't just sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

this school is truley great i love it there us Plenty of after school activites and there is plenty of stuff for kids to do during the day that keep them buisy
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

I have four children that attend BFMS from K-8th grade. I have to say that the last four years most everyone at the school has been great. The teachers are wonderful, the students are great. You have the ones that create problems but nothing to bad. I have loved all the teachers and all the staff. Everyone is very helpfull no matter what and no matter when. I am sad to see my children leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

This school taught me lessons in both acidemic areas and in life skills. I will always remember Booth-Fickett as one of the best learning experiences of my life. I had many great teachers, friends and memories. I was involved in the GATE Future Cities competition where I was taught the importance of time management, communication and cooperation, trust, and detication. I personally thank many teachers in helping me through rough times, even if this help was unintentional. the enviroment is warm and caring, with this enviroment created by teachers who truly care and students who take the time to pay attention. I thank a certain math 7th/8th grade math teacher who prepared me for high school colledge and life after education all in the matter of two years. I also thank a teacher who taught MESA, reading/language arts and science. I thank all of my teachers for everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

My daughter went to this school last year and i was so excited because i had heard so many good things. I just wish I would have pulled her out sooner then letting her finish the grade. The communication between parents and teachers was terrable. I would e-mail and never hear back from any teachers. I would call and never hear back from anyone. I set up parent teacher meetings and ll I would hear is how bad my child was and thay she just doesent try and maybe she isnt smart enough, everything was always her, her, her. They never gave any thought to maybe it was the teaching methods, or maybe the way they done force disclipine in the classrooms and allow the kids to do as they please. I will never advise anyone to send your kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

I went to Fickett throughout my middle school career and I loved it. The majority of my teachers were friendly and fair. We have a lot of extra curricular activities like choir and cheer. We also have really good sports teams. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

The office staff is rude an uncaring. There is no supervision where needed and the one monitor they have for Booth leaves much to be desired. The principal is always unavailable. This is the fourth and last year my child will be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I think this school is very well- taught. It is a very good school and it teaches me alot of things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2007

My son is in 3rd grade and we are lucky that he has a really good teacher. We have had a few good teachers and one really bad teacher. The office staff is unfriendly and seems to be put out anytime you need them to do their job. The Principal is joke. She is not involved and always seems to be off site for a meeting or class. The Vice-Principals can't make a decision without her. The is no leadership at the school and very little supervision where it is needed. I have no idea what the staff does all day long since they can't be working. Information is never sent home in a timely manor if at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 43%
White 26% 42%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 3:50 am
School Leader's name
  • Michael Konrad
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 731-3801

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation for all Magnet
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 S. Montego Drive
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 731-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT