Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Tucson, AZ

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Borton Primary Magnet School 4

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at Borton since Kindergarten. Borton is an amazing and unique school when it comes to all of the extras they offer. They have music, art, physical education, and a lot of extras your typical public school does not offer. In terms of academics, my experience has not been so positive. I noticed there is an extreme in the effectiveness of the teachers. They are either highly effective or not so effective making it especially challenging for any parent who may have a child who has special needs or needs extra academic support. There was also turnover in the Principals in 2010 and 2011. The Principal who is there now has been there for almost three years, and taking into consideration all of the changes of adding grades 3 to 5, constuction, and the districts budget problems, I think things are starting to turn around. The socio-economic demographics of the school is also very interesting and can be somewhat "cliquish" making some parents feel very excluded. Overall, above average in all the extras and parent participation, average for academics, and varied averages for the effectiveness of teachers.

Borton Primary Magnet School 1

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
No academic focus. When my daughter transitioned into 3rd grade at her new school, she was really behind on her reading, writing, and math.


Borton Primary Magnet School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
We absolutely LOVE Borton. It is a wonderful community where everyone knows my daughter's name and looks out for her. The teachers are top notch and I like the administration even more-- definitely a great school!

Borton Primary Magnet School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
My daughter just finished Kindergarten and we love the school. If your child loves the arts and being creative then you will love this school. If you want a strict traditional school this will not the the place for you.

Borton Primary Magnet School 1

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
Very disappointed. Their academics are poorly enforced and their discipline standards are also very low.


Borton Primary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is very progressive,cares about the students, gave all four of my children their greatest start in their successful lives and the staff and principal there are amazing.

Borton Primary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
I have had my daughter at Borton for 2 years. She and I both absolutely love this school. And they will hopefully be adding a 3rd grade! It is very nurturing and inclusive. If you can get in to this magnet school, do it! :)

Borton Primary Magnet School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Borton Primary Magnet School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a community member
this school is a wonderful pace to learn. this school and Tully elementary are the 2 best schools a parent can send their child

Borton Primary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
This is one of, if not the best school for young starters-you can tell just by walking in one classroom that there is extreme student involvement-and they enjoy learning. The whole enviornment of the school makes you happy the second you walk on the grounds. I strongly recommend this school-only down fall, it only goes to 2nd grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Borton Primary Magnet School
700 E. 22nd St., Tucson, AZ  85713
(520) 225-6060
Last modified Borton Primary Magnet School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Borton Primary Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top