Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Carrillo has been an "A" School for the last three years and has earned an A+ School of Excellence Award in 2015. If my kids were still in grade school, I would definitely send them here!!!
February 17, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
Teachers at Carrillo are so caring and work very hard to give the best education possible to students. Thank you for being so generous with your time and always doing what is in the best interest of the children. Also, thank you to the office manager who also has a superb work ethic and creates a positive environment in the office.
Posted February 17, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
There is a very low teacher turn over rate at Carrillo. Teachers are treated as professionals and their voice is heard through Leadership meetings and Professional Learning Communities where shared-decision making is practiced. Teachers keep up to date with current, research-based practices through many professional development opportunities.
Posted February 17, 2016


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Homework is considered practice at what students have already learned. Teachers follow district guidelines for the amount of homework that is issued.
Posted February 17, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Teachers are great leaders at this school and have high expectations for all! That is why this school is beating the odds of maintaining an A+ status even though the school has a high rate of low socio-economic families and are located in the inner city.
Posted February 17, 2016

Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a teacher
I feel honored to be a member of the Carrillo community. The teachers at Carrillo are dedicated to providing a quality education to all students. We all have one common goal which is to see all our students succeed.


Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Carrillo uses Restorative Practices to mend relationships if there are concerns or issues with others. This builds respect and understanding for others.
Posted February 17, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Carrillo is a "Kind" campus. This means that we have partnered with a local non-profit organization called Ben's Bells which was originated by a young child wanting to help create a better world focusing on kindness. Our counselor and Learning Support Coordinator go into the classrooms and deliver lessons based on compassion, kindness and empathy. Students are exposed daily to ideas on how to show these traits in morning announcements.
Posted February 17, 2016

Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
I chose Carrillo as my own child's school, and then was fortunate enough to get a position as a teacher. My son's first years at elementary school have been made memorable by the time, energy, and complete care to detail that his teacher's have provided him. These characteristics follow all teachers at Carrillo. When I began teaching the fifth grade, all students came into the classroom well prepared, and with a uniform understanding of the high expectations that have earned Carrillo the designation of A+ School from the Arizona Educational Foundation. Not only are the teachers very professional, but the entire school community works very diligently to provide the best possible educational experience for all students.


Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
As a parent, I have been very pleased with my children's success here at Carrillo Magnet. They were all very fortunate to be a part of a close knit community of teachers and learners. My children with the help of these educators have experienced a number of art, music and learning opportunities that they would have never received at the elementary level. The teachers are here to see every child succeed.

Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 17, 2016
- a teacher
Thank-you, Mr. SV, out magnet coordinator. You work tirelessly to promote out wonderful school as well as recruit new faces and families to our student body! You help organize amazing and unique events that whole families attend and enjoy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School
440 S. Main Ave., Tucson, AZ  85701
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (520) 225-1200
Last modified Carrillo Intermediate Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top