Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Catalina Foothills High School

Public | 9-12 | 1711 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2009

The lunch program at this school isn't the best, but it can keep inmates alive as well as students. The new principal enjoys keeping the school quiet and lacking in excitement. Due to recent budget cuts, class sizes may increase to around 40 students per class. The school has a great drama department along with science, though the physics department is lacking in good teachers. The students are great people, and rarely are their fights or gang related issues. The school has great extracurricular clubs and activities, including sports. The school has a National Honors Society which provides a place where students may receive peer-to-peer tutoring. The school also offers AP classes along with Honors and Standards courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

CFHS is a very accomplished school, their academics are the best in town. They are ahead in science along with their languages being excellent.


Posted March 10, 2009

I love CFHS. The campus is amazing, the students are academically driven, and there is always a place for you to fit in. I graduated from CFHS; and I can say that I was fully prepared for my college work- load... I attend princeton.


Posted October 3, 2008

I love this school, and i dont think the drug problem gets in the way of a good high school experience. The councilors are not very helpful, but i got around that. Some of the classes don't teach you anything, and you have to learn some things yourself before a test. But the reason i love this school so much is because of the arts program. Mr. Jackson is an incredible conductor and he is also extremely cool and understanding. He brought our choirs to a level of excellence that surpassed my expectations. If you are in the area i would encourage you to go to the choir concert on monday october sixth. The concert chorale is amazing and the jazz choir is very talented. the lowest choir is kind of awful but the woman's choir is very accomplished and they have a great tone. The campus is beautiful too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

I'm a graduate of Catalina Foothills and I can truly say I loved my highschool experience. Just like any other school in Tucson, there are problems and someone is always going to disagree with something, but I was truly prepared for college. All throughout my first year at my university I heard people talking about how difficult the transition was, but my highschool friends and I didn't feel the same way. Foothills prepares students for the future. It's a fantastic place for both academics and extracurricular activities. An absolutely incredible school.


Posted May 24, 2008

amazing! best school ever! except the science teachers...they need a little help...except mr.thompson
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2008

great school. the math and science dept isn't as good as the history and writing dept but is still good


Posted April 18, 2008

This school is not all about what people think (drugs and money as the previous writer said). It is an amazing school with great education programs. Many people may have money but not everybody does. There are a lot o. The sports are also excellent and it is a great learning envoiroment. You dont have to be intodrugs and stuff toenjoy your time at CFHSf people that are there to be educated
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

umm the person who wrote 'This school is full ofpeople who think that life is only full of money and drugs. Please do not take your kids here if you want them to sucsseed. They will run with people who do drugs all the time.' has obvious problems..... 1. you probably lack in self awareness and you did drugs 2. Do you even go to the school? I mean thats what most outside of CFHS students would say because they are jealous. and its so biased that you think that EVERYBODY does drugs only maybe 2% does drugs. And are you implying that other schools in Arizona there is no drug use? 3. Probably only you didnt succeed my older sister in fact went to harvard from CFHS and all her friends went to great collages and 85% of the students from CFHS go to collage.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2008

Amazing school. 9 of my 11 teachers have been above and beyond fantastic as well as always willing to help. My counselor has helped me get every class and helped me work around my busy varsity sport schedule. I went to another local private school for a year and was excited when I was further challenged academically at Foothills. Everyone is accepted into extracurricular activities and everyone very friendly and outgoing. It's not hard to fit in and have a great high school experience here. I feel my experiences at Foothills will help me get into a great school and not only succeed but excel at any college. If you want to see more proof why this school is perfect for a high school experience the credentials are all over wikipedia.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

anyways, the prices for food are ridiculous too. 4 bucks for a hamburger a water bottle and chips, daaaang. at sabino high they get the same meal for half the price. sports here are really good too. our soccer is amazing, our baseball is great too, our football is alright, and many others too. there are tons of clubs too, many started and run by students. we have a great marching band. the councilors were helpful but they were rude. o yeah i forgot to mention, the security is quick to point fingers at students so if your kid goes there dont be too quick to punish them. students also have a tutoring center where they can get tons of help on any class. the library is huge which is great for papers and the librarians know a bunch of websites to help you find great info.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

This school is full ofpeople who think that life is only full of money and drugs. Please do not take your kids here if you want them to sucsseed. They will run with people who do drugs all the time. This happened to me
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2007

my child has had two excellent humanities/writing teachers and two very good math teachers. However, it does not seem that the efforts of the dedicated teachers are much valued. For a school with supposedly strong academics, there is little appreciation of academic excellence, and love of learning, towards the teachers. The principal does not welcome parental input. THe good points: generally good behavior and discipline, high-achieving student and parent population, and beautiful campus. I just wish they would cultivate a real faculty of the good teachers, and value them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Our freshman struggled in math and upon receiving a poor grade his first semester, the assistant principal assigned him to time in the tutoring room 'the nest' and he raised his grade by two grade levels the next semester. Thanks to the total devotion of Ms. Shane-Boyd, the band director, and the resulting fabulous band, the marching band performed in the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade this year. This is definitely a wonderful school, the teachers are helpful and answer emails immediately. There are also plenty of safeguards in the school system, so that no one falls through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

majority of students are great to hang on, but most of the cases science teachers(Chemistry, Biology and physics) are neither knowledgeable or motivated to teach.So credit for good results should go to parent or studentnot to teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Great school. Lots of teachers truly dedicated to providing the best education possible to their students. The Arts are huge at CFHS, with lots of plays and musicals, art shows every quarter, and one of the largest high school marching bands in the country. Sports are also very big here. In the 05-06 school year, we won the championships in 8 sports. We had plenty of athletic scholarships in the senior class, including one of the only two soccer scholarships in southern arizona. The PTA is very active and does a lot of good for Catalina Foothills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

Good programs available, for those who want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

This is one of the two or three best high schools in the state. Test score are always high and the kids have fun. also it has one of the largest marching bands in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

Teachers are often unresponsive to student and parent requests for help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

I think this school is the best school out there for academics. I learned more than i have from my former high school. I almost felt dumb coming to this school from my last school. iam really glad I got to move to catalina foothills and get a chance to get a better education.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 16% 42%
Asian 9% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 E Sunrise Dr
Tucson, AZ 85718
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 577-5090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT