Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,708
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted April 06, 2015
- a student
Im a freshman at this school. It has been really fun and really hard. I have a learning disability and ADD... My math teacher has been really helpful and fair to me and she is the best teacher I have ever had because she doesn't just lecture you the whole entire hour. I feel as though the whole math department is similar. Im in band and the band program is impeccable, We got a superior with distinction at UofA Band day (marching band competitions) and a superior at NAU band day. We also march in the Rodeo parade on 4th Ave down town and we have won the highest music award over 20 years in a row. We also get to travel around a lot. Last year we went to China for a parade. We've gone to Russia, Hawaii, and London, and many more. Band is a major part of my life, and the pure love of music is spread all around the band and all of the kids are extremely dedicated. Band is my family really, we all are so close. Ive heard similar things about the theater program and the choir program and also student council as well. It feels awesome to be with people who are passionate about the same thing you are. Overall I really enjoy Cat Foot! Unfortunately I might have to move to San Antonio Texas

Catalina Foothills High School 2

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
To the person (AKA: Possible school board member assigned to monitoring "Great Schools" reviews) who wrote the last review: With all the subject/verb agreement errors in your review (in every one of your sentences), one might assume you were also educated in an Arizona school. However, just because you are towing the party line doesn't mean it's the truth. Your "once a great school, always a great school" mentality is a meritless assumption. Being the "best of the worst" in a city/state with serious education issues is not something to brag about. As for your comment about taking advantage of Open Enrollment: I shouldn't have to LEAVE and drive across town to give my kid a better education, even if it was available.There is plenty of data to support the negative impact of Open Enrollment, fad curriculums, the ever-popular, so-called "critical thinking" models, and the myriad of other programs our schools have bought our kids. You should read more, not only to provide yourself with a model for good writing, but also to educate yourself on what's behind that "curtain of immersion" and other fancy-sounding programs: a whole lot of bologna that is NOT serving our students well.


Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
Wow! To the person who posted the most recent post; I hope you have removed your child from this horrible school and enrolled them somewhere else! With the open enrollment program in Arizona, no one should keep their child in a school that they feel offers such an inferior education. Unless of course, one doesn't really know what they are talking about.

Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted November 11, 2014
- a student
All things considered, Catalina Foothills is a pretty good school. Sports/extracurriculars are pretty good such as the Speech and Debate team, Science Olympiad, etc. Academics are average, however. Some departments are better than others and of course, quality of teachers vary. The math department is ok, with the Calculus BC teacher being outstanding (99.9999% of students that took the AP test have scored a 4 or higher, only one student has ever gotten a 3). Although the administration isn't the best, overall, CFHS is a pretty good school considering it is public and has no entrance requirements.

Catalina Foothills High School 1

Posted November 04, 2014
- a student
This school has gotten progressively worse since my freshman year. The security has increased by tenfold this year even though it's completely unnecessary. A fence now surrounds the school. Former students and parents are no longer allowed to visit teachers. It is a completely closed off campus. Security is constantly patrolling and monitoring students. Everyone must have their ID with them at all times in order to enter campus. If you forget it, you have to pay $5 to get a new one for the day (no exceptions). The school uses an absurd rubric to grade homework that is complicated and confusing (4.0-A+, 3.0-B, 2.5-C etc) instead of the standard, straightforward letter grades. Most people go to an in-state school (a number of them get scholarships). Only a handful go to private colleges (a few even go to top-tier schools). The only reason that more students from this school go onto prestigious schools is because the people who live in this district are wealthy. The teachers are okay and the academics are not especially exemplary. The administration is power-hungry and it's gotten so strict under the current principal. Thankfully, I'm a senior and will be graduating this year.


Catalina Foothills High School 1

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
Catalina Foothills High is more concerned about "security" and "dresscode" than they are about actually educating students. Most of the faculty and administrators are horrible and discriminate against girls, and let male students do and wear whatever they want. I wouldn't recommend sending any female, or male students, for that matter, to this school. On a side note, the principal repeatedly does not reply to parents when called, or if someone asks to scedule a meeting, she will not comply.

Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
This latest poster is so uninformed. Most of the students from CFHS do not go to in state schools. There is a high % of the class of 2014 going out of state to some of the most outstanding universities in the country including ivy leagues.

Catalina Foothills High School 3

Posted March 20, 2014
- a student
Catalina Foothills is a school that claims outstanding academics but bury themselves with appearance and money. Foothills is more focused on dealing with security forces than improving academic programs. The education you get is pretty average it is just in an upscale community. Extra curricular activities and specific departments such as math are weak but the district does not care to recognize that. Everyone seems to enjoy lying to themselves and blaming the state for lack of funding. They would rather hire more security staff with a student body that is 70 percent White....Catalina Foothills gets more credit than it deserves because of the lack of education standards in the state of Arizona. Go outside of Arizona, and this school is quite average. That is why 70% of kids end up at a state college because it is essentially a free ride. Arizona state colleges are required to admit just about anyone and everyone a resident of Arizona. I see these problems transferring from a stronger school system out of state. This is the best public high school in Tucson because you don't have a lot of choices. Do not expect amazing support here. This school is descending quite quickly.


Catalina Foothills High School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
We just spent the last ten years at CFHS as our three children went through the school. The teachers were top notch and the curriculum challenging and relevant. The depth and the breadth of classes, programs, and activities are unrivaled in Tucson. The entire staff and administration care about the students, and parents are very involved in supporting the school. Students are engaged in learning as well as the numerous extra-curricular activities and events. The campus and the views of the surrounding area are beautiful.

Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
The school has excellent students and teachers, particularly in Math and English. The quality of Science teachers have declined markedly- the best ones have moved on. Some of the best teachers have been reallocated against their wishes- from subjects they taught extremely well to assignments they are unhappy about these remaining quality teachers will inevitably leave and add to this continuing decline. The Board needs to step in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catalina Foothills High School
4300 E Sunrise Dr, Tucson, AZ  85718
(520) 209-7500
Last modified Catalina Foothills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Catalina Foothills High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top