Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Catalina Foothills High School 3

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Adequate education. Math Dept. clearly needs improvement--many kids failing Math. This high school is clean and safe. There is a good selection of extra-curricular activities. This school is similar to many others in Tucson and provides a satisfactory education.

Catalina Foothills High School 3

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
The "Preview" Method of teaching math is absolutely the worst method I have ever encountered in education. Basically, the student is supposed to teach themselves. There is no teaching. And the "teaching" that is going on is far from exemplary. The math teacher doesn't even know how to solve some of the problems…and my child is expected to learn how to do the problem when the teacher cannot do it??


Catalina Foothills High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately the great teacher has left. Ms. Kittredge was an excellent teacher. Reached out to students where they were instead of expecting everyone to be and learn exactly the same.

Catalina Foothills High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Asking kids to do the math home work before the subject is covered in class is unrealistic. These are called "previews". They swear up and down they are not using a "self-taught" methodology but I don't know what else to call this!

Catalina Foothills High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
It developed persistence in my child who was determined to succeed in spite of the obstacles put in the way by staff.


Catalina Foothills High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
You get respect if you are wearing the right clothes, drive the right car and know where to score a party. The principal does not respect students so why should the students act respectfully.

Catalina Foothills High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
When the cheerleaders are jeered by the student body and have nerf balls thrown at them during pep rally's without consequence I have a hard time believing compassion and empathy are traits taught at school or at home.

Catalina Foothills High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Many students are overly concerned with pretentious ideals. Cars, clothes and parties. Mostly an affluent student body with access to those things. Money does not equal integrity.


Catalina Foothills High School 2

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
A school with poor leadership can not excel. More concerned with appearances than substance. Girls are given the burden of adhering a strict dress code while boys are given the power to harass. The education is just ok. They only teach one way so if that does not work for you do not expect anyone to think creatively. Just because you put "creative thinkers" on your digital street side leader board does not make it so. The staff I have worked with have lacked this very skill. We moved from out of state and have discovered Excellent school really means excellent for Arizona. I removed my child from this school.

Catalina Foothills High School 4

Posted April 06, 2015
- a student
Im a freshman at this school. It has been really fun and really hard. I have a learning disability and ADD... My math teacher has been really helpful and fair to me and she is the best teacher I have ever had because she doesn't just lecture you the whole entire hour. I feel as though the whole math department is similar. Im in band and the band program is impeccable, We got a superior with distinction at UofA Band day (marching band competitions) and a superior at NAU band day. We also march in the Rodeo parade on 4th Ave down town and we have won the highest music award over 20 years in a row. We also get to travel around a lot. Last year we went to China for a parade. We've gone to Russia, Hawaii, and London, and many more. Band is a major part of my life, and the pure love of music is spread all around the band and all of the kids are extremely dedicated. Band is my family really, we all are so close. Ive heard similar things about the theater program and the choir program and also student council as well. It feels awesome to be with people who are passionate about the same thing you are. Overall I really enjoy Cat Foot! Unfortunately I might have to move to San Antonio Texas

Nearby schools

Catalina Foothills High School
4300 East Sunrise Dr, Tucson, AZ  85718
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (520) 209-7500
Last modified Catalina Foothills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top