Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 956

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Challenger Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Challenger Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Challenger Middle School for the last two years. He has participated in several extra-curricular activities and has also maintained a 4.0 GPA. I am truly grateful for the time and effort of every single student and teach that are willing to do a good job! Go Challenger!


Challenger Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a teacher
I have worked at Challenger from it's opening day. We have gone through a lot of changes, but we are truely a great school - a flagship for the district of what a middle school should be. During class time, you don't see students wandering around as they are all in classes learning. There is a spirit of true collaboration amoung teachers, all looking for what is best for the students and how we can reach the student who is still struggling. Our test scores continue to rise, with teachers setting goals for their classes and indivual students. This school has evolved to be a true professional learning community

Challenger Middle School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
The other reviews are dated. The entire staff is new since those reviews were written (one of my older children went there back then),including the principal and assistant principal, and the school has really progressed to becone a fantastic school. Visit the school...the climate when you come on campus is great and also check out their test scores....continually improving over the past 3 years.

Challenger Middle School 2

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Challenger has classes that have increased in size for the last 3 years. My child attended from 6th through the 8th grade there and has done the same types of projects and brought home the same type of homework for the last three years. It seems like the work stays the same when the teachers move through the grades - his old 6th grade math teacher was his 8th grade social studies teacher and she hadn't changed the level of her assignment. Maybe my son needs to be challenged more than other students. He does, however, make straight A's and that is a plus.


Challenger Middle School 1

Posted July 27, 2005
- a teacher
The school does not have welcomming atmosphere, not for students, parents, or teachers.The place is a warehouse, a daycare. If you have a choice, send your child elsewhere.

Challenger Middle School 2

Posted June 22, 2005
- a parent
There are too many students in the classrooms and this makes for a very difficult time for the students who need a little extra help.

Challenger Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I think this principal has made a habit of driving off innovative, creative, and effective teachers. Being a graduate of a Sunnyside school helps even if you are not really qualified for your position. Finally, if you are a student teacher for one of the chosen ones, you can get a job when the great teachers leave next year! Job security for the less effective teachers is a reality. Really large class sizes and an iffective discipline program are a component too! My child will go to a charter school next year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger Middle School
100 East Elvira Road, Tucson, AZ  85706
(520) 545-2000
Last modified Challenger Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Challenger Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top