Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cholla High Magnet School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I have a freshman at Cholla High Magnet School. This was a choice school for us based on the academics, sports program and the band. We have been very satisfied with all areas of the school. The administration is always visible. The students are will behaved and seem to take pride in their school. The band program is excellent and the sports programs are improving. My son is doing the IB prep classes in Geometry, Biology and Spanish. I like the challenges it has provided to him as he is a former G.A.T.E. student who needs to be challenged to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Cholla is an amazing school. The I.B. program is amazing and so are the after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

Both of my children are in the I.B. program and are also invouled in sports and other clubs. If I have any problems the Principal and his staff are always there to help. There is also a very active Parent team at the school . They are very involved with Cholla students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

This school has established a high standard of expectations for students, teachers, staff, administration and parents. The students have a safe environment to focus on their studies. There is great interaction and involvment between Administration, teachers and parents. The school has strong leadersip. The IB program is a challenging acedemic program and unique to Cholla. Cholla was our choice when searching for high schools and we are glad we made that decision. My student is now entering his Junior Year and participates in HIS school activities with pride.He is planning for college and a career in engineering with the help of his counelors and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

Not at all happy. Don't send your child here if he doesn't do drugs or drink, the bullies will beat him up.


Posted October 13, 2010

Cholla is one of the few public schools that offers shop classes in welding and the classes are taught by an enthusiastic master welder.


Posted March 22, 2010

As a student of Cholla myself, I would rate this high school as a 9 out of 10. Cholla offers so much to its students, but the only bad thing is that very little students or parents know about the offered programs. Some of the teachers don't even know about the programs, needless to say, commumication is a problem. But other than that, Cholla is a very respectable school and should be recognized as such. I love Cholla and would reccommend it to all students and parents, also because there are no 'clicks' or popularity groups of any kinds, my favorite thing about Cholla is that it is not a school that seggregates in any way. This is especially admirable considering we have the most diversity--race, ethnicity, gender, you name it, we've got it. And nobody makes an issue of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

As a former student and now a parent at Cholla High, I have to say that Cholla has gone through alot of changes. The much needed construction at Cholla make it look like a battle zone but in the end, it will shine like it is meant to do. Cholla offers many opportunities for students to excell, but it's up to the students and the parents to get informed so they can take advantage of all the opportunities. Cholla has always had parental involment but has just started an organized PARENT team that already has made a great impact. It's students and staff make it an interesting place to be and I encourage everyone in the community to integrate themselves in the school and share their time and talents with all the great students they will meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

I was a student at Cholla high school and the teachers need more trianing in the abily to teach students and give one on one. Most student are subjected to failer because teachers fail to give in all their energy and there for student become unintersed and start to treat school as a joke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2007

i love cholla because of everything it given my children but some kids arent as nice as you might think but others were wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

With the exception of some teachers such as Ayala, Candee, SantaCruz, Pena, and Turner, the vast majority of teachers let the students down by not challanging them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2006

We all know that cholla's acedemic scores are over all rising, They have available after school programs with therefor helps get an teacher's help on the class and the homework, okay i know they've always had that oppurtunity to do that, but know i've realize how much now the students are taking that oppuntunity to do so, The availiable programs are awesome they have the basic of every majoe thing your child migh want to get involed with. Now the level of parent involedment is not as well as a possible charter school but they do welcome parents to get involed but as you know today there's parents who work so we do have a same precenteged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2006

As a former student, I experienced the instructor's and other faculty's continuous ambition to bring newer opportunities to the students. I feel that I was given the chance to participate in many diverse groups and activities that helped connect me with the community and other students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2006

I think Cholla is an excellent school. The teachers are involved with the students and help them to the best of their ability. As a student, I have achomplished many things that I never thought I would. But as a magnet student, Cholla has provided me with an oppurtunity that will allow my future to be a bright one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2006

Tucson schools as a whole are far below the national standard, but cholla high is a terrible school in what is rapdly becoming an affluent area of tucson. There is no art program, and a limited music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2003

Cholla High School it is very very cool my brother goes to that school because its very very cool!


Posted October 28, 2003

This school is great! I went there and have many other friends and family members who send their children there. The school could use some repairs but the staff is amazing. I never had a complaint with this school. Cholla has a diversity of students. The kids and staff are really great. I came out prepared for college despite evrything the newspapers or media say. Our test scores do not eflect the type of school that Cholla really is.


Posted August 23, 2003

This school fails to follow the requirements set forth by state law. No text books are issued to students. Home work is done by sending question sheets with multiple answers to select from. No reading requirements. There is no penmanship requirements and comprehension of reading material is not addressed. Students who are not up to a standard are not addressed as needing additional attention,but as retarded and passed along without any other concern. It would seem that the teachers at this school are there only for a paycheck and could care less for the education of our youth. Students are not given a reading comprehension test or writing test to determine their needs. How many of these students can fill out a job application is suspect. I fail to under stand how any student can learn without text books to study. Taking dictation in class seems to be the norm for this school. It is such a pity to think that our schools are not able to have text books for our children, but are able to pay these teachers and expect them to teach an unbiased view of subjects taught.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 78% 43%
White 11% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 225-4001

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 W. Starr Pass Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85713
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cape School-Jail
Tucson, AZ



Tia West
Tucson, AZ


Nosotros Academy
Tucson, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT