Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collier Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2010

Collier has a very supportive parent network and very good teachers. It is a small school in a big district which gives it a community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Collier is an amazing school...full of fantastic teachers, kids, parents and staff. We have enjoyed every year spent there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

This school gets 5 stars in my book. My children are not only progressing academically, but they are enjoying school and their school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My kids are now in middle and high school - they were well prepared by Collier's teachers. Love the school, we still stop by to visit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great school, great staff, all concerned about my childs learning and social interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Amazing teachers and staff and bright, talented students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I came to Collier from Fruchtendler which if your reading this your know it is the top school in TUSD. I was at Fruchtendler for 2 years. It is a good school. When we moved we also took into consideration a schools rating. Collier is an excelling school. I have to say I am so impressed with the teachers in this school. They have been open to meetings and welcome you in the classroom. There is an atmosphere of fun, community, and expectation at this school. I appreciate most their attention to behavior. They have acheived a balance of freedom and discpline, of individuality and school spirit. It is a small school which I like because if feels like you can know the teachers, staff, and parents. I have one child that has a hard time reading and she has grown leaps and bounds this year. Collier was an excellent move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

2 kids and 4 years at Collier and I am consistently impressed with the teachers, staff, and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Collier Elementary School is an excelling school. We are the only TUSD full inclusion program offered to Elementary kids. The benefits of that program positively effects kids with varied abilities and their peers. The community environment encourages families to participate and direct our school's course. Our kids enjoy the gains of the programs offered from free Chess Club to our annual Talent show. Support Collier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Wonderful, friendly teachers and staff...LOTS of great learning goes on here!


Posted April 24, 2010

Collier is a caring community of staff, students, and parents! An wonderful place for students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Collier is an excellent school because of awesome teachers, amazing students and wonderful parents. It's a school sincerely dedicated to educating all children. Thanks Collier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Collier is a community of people who care about children's lives and work hard to help each child reach their potential as a learner. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure every child receives the help, support, and guidance they need to feel successful and to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Great caring teachers, great caring staff, great kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

this is a school with a culture of excellence and caring teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

It is a great place for my kids to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Collier Elementary has the best parent and community support of any school I've seen. It is one of only a few elementary schools to be 'excelling' in the Tucson Unified School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

We as parents are very happy that our daughter is attending Collier. The teachers give great attention and dedication to students, helping in their educational growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

As parents we've had many opportunities to visit schools in town. Some teachers are making a small attempt to involve students in a stimulating environment. We've noticed a lot of 'comfortable' teachers this year teaching the same year after year repetative curriculum. Sadly students aren't involved in their learning-you will observe lots of worksheets and busy work! Lots of options so observe and visit many schools. You will find much more quality programs in other districts. TUSD has many, many issues with complacent and lazy staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I'm very happy that my two kids are going to collier. Teachers are great, everyone that works in the office are the best specially Mrs. Ana(she's always happy to help you) Programs aregood, my kids are happy to be in Collier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 North Bear Canyon Road
Tucson, AZ 85749
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT