Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collier Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2007

This is our 5th year here. We couldn't be more pleased! Our children come home excited about what they've learned. They're challenged, they're encouraged to be their very best, & they're expected to show respect toward others. This is a very 'caring' school, & I find it hard to understand previous comments about low morale & low parent participation. Our principal, Dr. Geranis, is ALWAYS there for her kids...parents too. I see children running to greet her & share their latest news. Time after time I've had substitute teachers tell me how wonderful it is to see such high parent involvement at Collier, compared to other schools they've taught at. And because of its volunteers/supporters, Collier can offer so much more--art classes, music, P.E., track team, computer lab, chess club, spanish classes, family movie nights, even a Dad's group that helps with painting, landscaping, & other beautification projects. We love Collier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I've had two children at Collier, one still attending, and I am extremely satisfied with the level of teamwork, professionalism and education at the school. I am especially impressed with the Kindergarten team at Collier. Mrs. Cuprak and Mrs. Shipley are the experienced, nurturing 'glue' that holds the team together. They have embraced and assisted at least five new kinder teachers (Mr. K, Miss Sarah, Miss Bruns, Ms. O'Brien and Mrs. Ewen). Each time they have supported and worked with the new teachers, providing a fun and challenging educational experience for all kindergartners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

We are very happy at Collier Elementary. We started here when the principal and two new Kindergarten teachers were hired. Fortunately for us we were assigned to these two teachers (our son had one of these teachers the first year and our daughter had the other one a few years later). These teachers were hired because of their reputation in the district (they both have been teaching for 25 years). They have passion, drive and it is obvious they love what they do. They have embraced new teachers and always taught as a team, join together for all 'kindergarten' celebrations, functions and programs. They gave our kids a wonderful start and this has continued throughout the past five years. Dr. Geranis is an excellent administrator. She goes above and beyond for her staff and families at this school. Thanks to the staff at Collier our kids love school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Over the last 7 years, both my children have attended Collier. When my daughter went, it was definitely a great school, morale was high, and the overall teacher quality was excellent. But with the change in principal 4 years ago, things have definitely changed for the worst. Morale is low, and parent participation has declined significantly. There are still a handful of great teachers at Collier, but if your child happens to get one of the bad teachers, it ruins your child's whole year, and it is difficult to switch your child to another teacher. My recommendation is to research other schools, and the teacher your child is going to have before going to Collier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Collier at one time was a great school, things have definitly changed over the last 3 years. Parent Involvement is down, moral is low and great teachers have been lost. It no longer has the unique warm family atmosphere it once had, now it is just another school. With prior leadership the children would be excited to see the Principal come into their classrooms, not anymore. Test scores might be good, but if you have other choices I would explore them first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

My children were at a montessori charter school prior to attending Collier. They have spread their wings at Collier. The teachers are fantastic and really care about their students. They have taught my children to be organized with homework and exceed expectations. The principal provides leadership and is very approachable to not only parents but students too. The campus is lovely with enough room for the kids to excercise. The school offers tremendous help to those with special needs. Crystal McGuire
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I think Collier is a great school. Kids are offered many afterschool activites such as art, Spanish, and chess clubs. They are also given art lessons, music lessons, P.E. and Spanish as part of the curriculum. Not all public schools offer this. The class sizes are farily low (average of 20 students per classroom).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2007

The teachers and staff work hard to make learning a positive experience for every child. There is a very active PTA and father's group. I have been so lucky that this is our neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

I think it is a shame to see such a decline in parent participation. They used to have parent volunteers bring art lessons to the classrooms, not sure if that still occurs. Placing well on AIMS is important but at what cost?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

Parent involvement very high, which is great! However, the principals leadership leaves much to be desired. Some years there were great teachers, then move to the next grade and you get one who is either not interested or busy playing kiss up to a particular parent. Overall, we have spent 4 years there and my child can still barely read. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

We found this school to be just average. Moved to a charter school...much happier with the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

In general, education level is not up to par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

Special Ed. could use some improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

We switched our sons in the middle of the year to Collier from a private school. I was a little nervous that it was not stimulating enough for them. They did fantastic. The teachers are caring and very interactive with the kids. The school is very well maintained, and the children at Collier are taught a lot about not being a bully. We are very pleased with the academics and the parent participation in the school. We are so happy we made the move to Collier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

Great PTA and parent involvement. However, my sons class was 27 kids to one teacher. Way too many kids, so we moved to a charter school and are much happier. My son is getting much more direction, and has advanced a great deal in his studies since we moved to the new school. It is too bad that TUSD seems to think that a good teacher can be effective with that many kids. Also, very disappointed with the PE and Art at Collier-- It is next to non-existant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 North Bear Canyon Road
Tucson, AZ 85749
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT