Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 1025 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 21 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2013

Coronado was the best school I'v ever attended I went to private Catholic school for elementary at Immaculate Heart and part of sixth grade at St. Elizabeth's but I hated it. The tuition was thousands of dollars but it sucked. When I came to Coronado I was three years behind in reading, two in science, 5 in math, and four in history. Now after one year of work at Coronado I am much happier, I am no longer bullied like at the private schools, I have A's and B's, I take Humanities Reading and American History. I also take lots of electives, Economics/Civics, Algabra II, Ecology. I am above grade level in all of my classes all thanks to Coronado. The teachers are great! They also give you so many learning options; you get to make your own schedule, and do things your way but still are monitored. You can go do what you want on breaks and lunch. At lunch you can eat outside in the front of the school, in the courtyard, the cafeteria, or if you need help from a teacher in their classroom so they can help you. You also on free time can hang out, go to the library to study, read, use the computer or anything else. The computer labs are also available for school projects or essays. COUGARS!


Posted February 25, 2013

Coronado K-8 School is an educational foundation committed to high academic standards and even higher character standards. Students, Teachers, Administration and Parents work together to create a culture of caring. All members of the Coronado family work together to make sure all people find a place at Coronado. Students feel safe and know that Administration, Teachers and Staff are willing to work with them whenever necessary. The open door policy of all people on Coronado s campus allows for numerous opportunities to gain assistance when necessary. Teachers and Administration work together to create student centered classrooms with rigor, relevance and data driven instruction to keep students engaged and working towards the high academic expectations set for all students on Coronado s campus. Coronado K-8 school offers, sports year round, fine arts (choir, band, orchestra and percussion), NJHS (National Junior Honor Society), Student Council, community service, REACH/GATE and family building activities throughout the year. Coronado K-8 s campus is a hub for educational and character building experience for students K-8. Once a Cougar, Always a Coronado Cougar!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2012

My sons have had wonderful experiences at Coronado K-8. Where else wrere they going to learn to play trumpet and trombone, be involved in multiple sports from track to basketball, take high school credit math classes, go to Disneyland with his fellow National Honor Society and Advanced Band classmates, be among the kids with the highest science scores in the district, be involved in Odessey of the Mind, and be challenged by all thier teachers, ALL UNDER ONE ROOF? The answer: No where! Coroando has it all. You want your kids to attend Coronado. I'm very thankful for what Coronado has to offer my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I have had kids at Coronado K-8 school for the last 17 years, grades k-8. I have found the teachers to be excellent at all levels. I have also found the administrators to be excellent. In all areas I have found the staff at Coronado to be very involved and concerned about their students, proactive in working on problems, and innovative in the classrooms. I feel that Coronado has consistently grown and developed year by year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

I have three children at Coronado. We open enrolled our children in Coronado and make the drive from Oracle. My twins attended another school for Kindergarten. In that school, my twins did not have PE, art or music. They get to enjoy all three of these special classes. This is the second year for my twins to be at Coronado and my youngest is in Kindergarten. They look forward to coming to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have worked at Coronado for nearly 15 years. I've considered moving to other schools, but I just love the community at Coronado. I will be bringing my daughter to Coronado with me next year for kindergarten. I love the positive energy and the high expectations we have for our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2012

I really enjoy working here at Coronado. I came from a different state where I taught at a magnet school and the students were selected by lottery. There was always a waiting list to get in. When I joined the Coronado family I told myself that I would never find another school like that. I was wrong. I would put these Coronado students, parents, and teachers up against that magnet school any day. The teachers here are very dedicated to the students and the administration places the highest priority on the students by listening to and collaborating with students, parents and teachers. It is a great community to be in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2012

As a parent who has had 3 children attend Coronado K-8, I would like to say that the education my children have recieve has been outstanding. Coronado is an Excelling school that strives to give our children a quality education. The teachers are caring and supportive of the diversity of the students. I could not have asked for a better place for my children to receive their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have been enthusiastically teaching at Coronado K-8 School since the 1995-96 school year. I have taught both first and third grade. I live in the community of Catalina by choice and love where I live and teach. My classroom and the school are definitely my home away from home. My colleagues and I collaborate on all things school-related and are better teachers because of our shared sense of belonging and involvement. The teachers at Coronado work late into the evenings and on the weekends, both in their classrooms and at home, to ensure that our students receive the best education possible. The support staff and administrators do what is best for students too. I made a conscious decison to remain teaching at Coronado when nearby new Amphi school opened in the past. The parents of our students are caring and supportive. The students are eager to learn and happy to be at school. I love coming to work every day! I feel a sense of pride, knowing that I teach at Coronado. I imagine myself retiring from this school someday and then coming back to volunteer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

This school has an excellent band program that has benefited both of my children. There are many teachers at Coronado who are devoted to their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I LOVE Coronado! This is the best school I have worked at. The teachers are dedicated to the academic and social growth of all the students. We have excellent programs across the grades. This year has started with a super positive out-look, and our principal truly values teacher, student, and parent input. Coronado is a community. :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

I have been waiting for my daughter to turn 5 to send her to Coronado! This is the only school we considered, and we intend to have her here through 8th grade. The teachers, staff, administration, parents, and students are wonderful! She loves her teacher and new friends; she wakes up early everyday bouncing with excitement to get to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

Awful.... kids run the school! Has went downhill over the last couple years, We miss the old principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This school has excellent teachers, but a horrible new principal. Unfortuantely, since the principal-ship has changed, the teachers will too. I fear it will continue to go down-hill. Teachers are expected to make their classrooms feel like "Disney Land" instead of focusing academics and the state requirements for students. Teachers are also bullied, threatened, and treated like children by the principal. It is not a great place to work anymore.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2010

This school's quality has fallen fast. The extra-curriculars were cut, there is an increased gang/vandalism presence, and the teachers are having their pay cut. The principal has lost control. I had to pull my kids out in favor of private school which is sad because it used to be a good school with quality teachers. There is no parent involvement and I think the principal likes it that way. The PTO disbanded in 2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

Coronado K-8, like all other school has its ups and downs. I went to this school since kindergarden up until I was promoted from 8th grade. The school has a lot of good teachers and some are not that good. The advanced classes provided are for reading, social studies, writing, and math. Overall its a very good school. The fine arts program has taken a few hits seeing as we've only had a band and orchestra director no more than 2 years. I think that people are critisizing the directors more than the students themselves. Having helped with the bands its difficult to control the not so willing kids, of course Coronado has produced many great talents from fine arts to athletics. The school having been around for a while is closely knit and its a very comfortable place to go to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Coronado has a lot of good teachers, and some not so good. The music program has taken a drastic dive over the past year with a new less experienced band instructor. The principal has done a good job cleaning up the school from what it was a few years back and has a firm handle on discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

This school 'bullies' special education children to the point that their parents pull them out. Many special needs children that belong in this area have been forced to other schools. This school does not want special needs children and their constant excuse is 'we do not have the resources for these children.' My son went to kindergarten and the summer school program 4 year later. I do not recommend this school for special needs children - and it is a clear case of discrimination!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

There are a number of excellent teachers in this school, but also some mediocre ones. Not all teachers on the honors track are good, forcing you to choose between good teacher or higher-level class. If your child is musically inclined, you may wish to go elsewhere: this school changed band teachers and the band program went from great to poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I went to this school over ten years ago and wanted to say to the comment from a parent that this school has always been safe, And never did any of the faculty threaten to put us in doc. We as kids never even thought about that place being there. And yes there are some (wide economic backgrounds) as he put it, meaning im sure there are some poor kids living close so there may be trouble. Not true, we all just want to better our selves. This school is safe, My little bro goes there and has done very well!!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gerad Ball
Fax number
  • (520) 696-6701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 E. Wilds Road
Tucson, AZ 85739
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Oro Valley
Oro Valley, AZ




Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT