Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 1025 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

Coronado is a great school to be a part of! I love working with the students, staff and parents that are a part of the Coronado family. We are always trying to improve individually, within teams, and as a whole school. Students and staff alike take pride in our beautiful campus. I would not want to teach at any other school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

I am a teacher at Coronado K-8 and am proud to work with such a dedicated staff and administration. Any child can thrive at Coronado with the many clubs, classes, and activities we offer. I can't think of another place where your child can be involved with Odyssey of the Mind, Chorus, Orchestra, Band, Common Core academics, sports, Mathcounts, martial arts, drama, and science trips to Grand Canyon and Catalina Island all under one roof. No other school in this area can offer all that in a top-notch public school. Both of my children went through Coronado and I could not be more pleased with their education and opportunities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

Coronado is a fabulous school! Not only does it balance feeds from a rural, incorporated area of our county, but it also feeds from a 'more affluent' suburb of NW Tucson/Oro Valley. The beauty is that you do not see these differences here. It is a central part of the community, involving and engaging parents and their families - a welcome environment where learning is a high priority. Learning isn't just about books, but experiences also - and several enrichment opportuntiies are provided, especially in the musical area. Reading the "one star" comment below, I find in amazement - sure, situations happen - but the focus is on the community, and I am actively involved as a parent, and do not see the environment described in that complaint. One person's incident is not a whole climate. Coronado is not just adequately preparing my child for a strong, well-rounded academic future - they are doing this in spades! When I speak with firends who's children have moved on to high school, I repeatedly hear that Coronado students are clearly identifyable by their readiness/preparation to continue the academic rigors that high school can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Today was outstanding, and it was the first day of school. I feel really privileged to be a teacher at this school. Together, both students and teachers, we are brilliant!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

Coronado is an amazing school! The teachers are wonderful and the grounds crews and janitorial staff do an incredible job. The campus is really nice and always very clean. Coronado has excellent opportunities for kids to excell in sports and our athletic teams are always among the best in the city. Coronado offers great elective courses such as physical education, spanish, technology, art, music, life skills, band, choir, etc... Coronado has a wonderful principal and assistant principals who bring out the best in its hard working teaching staff. Our AIMS scores are always very high and this is a very strong school academically. Students and parents love Coronado and you will too.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2013

Been a week since school ended... I am still thinking about the fabulous 6th grade awards ceremony. You couldn't help but smile, watching so many proud students hear their names called for deserved recognition. You could sense the love and commitment of the 6th grade teachers, as they shared stories of their students' successes. There were hugs, tears, and cheers. It all ended with a teacher playing the guitar and some of the students singing a song that they created about their 6th grade experience. I felt very proud to be a parent of a Cougar and very happy for the year-gone-by that my son experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Unacceptable is the first word I will use to describe this subpar school. I see the students who review this school love the place, this is because they rule this place. The school is the much like a detention center for students who are well on their way to failure. They breed bullies here and the administration only slaps the on the wrists. I pulled my child out before the ink could dry on the registration form. Amphitheater should be ashamed of this school, a place where children at their most impressionable age are taught immorality, and hate. If your considering this school, think twice. I can't think of a single nice word to say about this place. If I could give it zero stars I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

Coronado was the best school I'v ever attended I went to private Catholic school for elementary at Immaculate Heart and part of sixth grade at St. Elizabeth's but I hated it. The tuition was thousands of dollars but it sucked. When I came to Coronado I was three years behind in reading, two in science, 5 in math, and four in history. Now after one year of work at Coronado I am much happier, I am no longer bullied like at the private schools, I have A's and B's, I take Humanities Reading and American History. I also take lots of electives, Economics/Civics, Algabra II, Ecology. I am above grade level in all of my classes all thanks to Coronado. The teachers are great! They also give you so many learning options; you get to make your own schedule, and do things your way but still are monitored. You can go do what you want on breaks and lunch. At lunch you can eat outside in the front of the school, in the courtyard, the cafeteria, or if you need help from a teacher in their classroom so they can help you. You also on free time can hang out, go to the library to study, read, use the computer or anything else. The computer labs are also available for school projects or essays. COUGARS!


Posted September 27, 2012

My sons have had wonderful experiences at Coronado K-8. Where else wrere they going to learn to play trumpet and trombone, be involved in multiple sports from track to basketball, take high school credit math classes, go to Disneyland with his fellow National Honor Society and Advanced Band classmates, be among the kids with the highest science scores in the district, be involved in Odessey of the Mind, and be challenged by all thier teachers, ALL UNDER ONE ROOF? The answer: No where! Coroando has it all. You want your kids to attend Coronado. I'm very thankful for what Coronado has to offer my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I have had kids at Coronado K-8 school for the last 17 years, grades k-8. I have found the teachers to be excellent at all levels. I have also found the administrators to be excellent. In all areas I have found the staff at Coronado to be very involved and concerned about their students, proactive in working on problems, and innovative in the classrooms. I feel that Coronado has consistently grown and developed year by year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

I have three children at Coronado. We open enrolled our children in Coronado and make the drive from Oracle. My twins attended another school for Kindergarten. In that school, my twins did not have PE, art or music. They get to enjoy all three of these special classes. This is the second year for my twins to be at Coronado and my youngest is in Kindergarten. They look forward to coming to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have worked at Coronado for nearly 15 years. I've considered moving to other schools, but I just love the community at Coronado. I will be bringing my daughter to Coronado with me next year for kindergarten. I love the positive energy and the high expectations we have for our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2012

I really enjoy working here at Coronado. I came from a different state where I taught at a magnet school and the students were selected by lottery. There was always a waiting list to get in. When I joined the Coronado family I told myself that I would never find another school like that. I was wrong. I would put these Coronado students, parents, and teachers up against that magnet school any day. The teachers here are very dedicated to the students and the administration places the highest priority on the students by listening to and collaborating with students, parents and teachers. It is a great community to be in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2012

As a parent who has had 3 children attend Coronado K-8, I would like to say that the education my children have recieve has been outstanding. Coronado is an Excelling school that strives to give our children a quality education. The teachers are caring and supportive of the diversity of the students. I could not have asked for a better place for my children to receive their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have been enthusiastically teaching at Coronado K-8 School since the 1995-96 school year. I have taught both first and third grade. I live in the community of Catalina by choice and love where I live and teach. My classroom and the school are definitely my home away from home. My colleagues and I collaborate on all things school-related and are better teachers because of our shared sense of belonging and involvement. The teachers at Coronado work late into the evenings and on the weekends, both in their classrooms and at home, to ensure that our students receive the best education possible. The support staff and administrators do what is best for students too. I made a conscious decison to remain teaching at Coronado when nearby new Amphi school opened in the past. The parents of our students are caring and supportive. The students are eager to learn and happy to be at school. I love coming to work every day! I feel a sense of pride, knowing that I teach at Coronado. I imagine myself retiring from this school someday and then coming back to volunteer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

This school has an excellent band program that has benefited both of my children. There are many teachers at Coronado who are devoted to their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I LOVE Coronado! This is the best school I have worked at. The teachers are dedicated to the academic and social growth of all the students. We have excellent programs across the grades. This year has started with a super positive out-look, and our principal truly values teacher, student, and parent input. Coronado is a community. :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

I have been waiting for my daughter to turn 5 to send her to Coronado! This is the only school we considered, and we intend to have her here through 8th grade. The teachers, staff, administration, parents, and students are wonderful! She loves her teacher and new friends; she wakes up early everyday bouncing with excitement to get to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

Awful.... kids run the school! Has went downhill over the last couple years, We miss the old principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This school has excellent teachers, but a horrible new principal. Unfortuantely, since the principal-ship has changed, the teachers will too. I fear it will continue to go down-hill. Teachers are expected to make their classrooms feel like "Disney Land" instead of focusing academics and the state requirements for students. Teachers are also bullied, threatened, and treated like children by the principal. It is not a great place to work anymore.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gerad Ball
Fax number
  • (520) 696-6701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 E. Wilds Road
Tucson, AZ 85739
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Oro Valley
Oro Valley, AZ




Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT