Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 1025 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, November 24, 2014

This is my daughter's first year at Coronado. Her teacher is amazing and we couldn't be happier with our experience with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, November 24, 2014

Coronado is outstanding. We are very happy and have nothing but good things to say about the principal, teachers and all staff at Coronado. They are all dedicated to providing the best educational environment for my children and truly put my children first. THANK YOU!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2014

Thank you! Love Parent Portal! Love Coronado can t say enough great things about all of you Thanks for ALL that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2014

We are new to Coronado and Tucson. Coronado teachers, administrative, social workers, Jerry Maddock the Vice Principal have been extraordinary and we THANK YOU ALL SO VERY MUCH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2014

This school is amazing and has so much to offer my children! I wish more parents would get involved because then we would see what it could really be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

The Teachers and Staff are amazing! I feel like they take the time to know my kids and in a 1000+ school that is not an easy feat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

I had a great experience through elementary and middle school at Coronado K-8! I especially loved the dedication that my teachers had to their jobs and how they always had high expectations. Go Cougars!


Posted August 8, 2014

The school climate at Coronado is outstanding. The teachers really care about the students. They provide firm guidance and high expectations for my son and daughter, and it is apparent in everything they do that this comes from a deep love of the children. I couldn't be happier with the school and the education my kids are getting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

The education this school gives is great. One problem is how the new principle handles the middle school. His ways are perfect for third graders but middle school students see right through the rules and continue their normal ways


Posted December 12, 2013

I love the fine arts classes at Coronado! My oldest son has been in chorus for three years and it has made a huge difference in his confidence. My youngest son plays cello. We attended the winter chorus concert a couple days ago and it was amazing too see how the chorus has grown! All the teachers at Coronado that I have interacted with really seem to care about their students. I moved out to Catalina for the sole purpose of getting my kids into a safe neighborhood with great public schools. Coronado is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

We recently enrolled our child to Coronado from a small private school mid-semester. The transition could not gone more smoothly. We were worried about the size, but the administration and teachers were extremely helpful and easy to communicate with. The vice principal even sent me a photo on our son's first day and a brief update. We worked with a counselor to ensure that our son was appropriately placed in his classes. He is really enjoying school and his classes are interesting and challenging for him. We are also pleased to find a variety of programs like band, drumming, and Odyssey of the Mind offered by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

I just want to say, thank you for being innovative and using Remind 101. I Love it for my son and myself. And you can quote me on that to all the other teachers who haven't decided to use it yet, it is an amazing way for parents to schedule and prioritize time for homework and studying for tests in a busy family life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

As a parent I have been so impressed with Ms,Goodman as she dealt with a challenging student situation. It was handled quickly and in a way that benefited all students involved. Open house was a great opportunity to meet a caring staff that knew the name of my child and where she sat her first week at a new school. i also appreciated the way the staff is embracing the common core. Very impressive as this is the direction education is moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

There is no question that education is changing, and with it, teachers must change too. The fact is Coronado has and always will set the bar high for its students, and staff. Coronado is a "hub" of activitiy. It is at the forfront of challenging students with the new Common Core Standards; this school provides productive outlets such as athletics, clubs, Odessy of Mind competition, Math Counts competition, and community outreach. Coronado is not just a school, but an extension of community and family. When a student, a faculty member or an entire family needs help, Coronado is there. Teachers, administrators, parents, and volunteers give selflessly without recognition so others can thrive. Sure, no school is perfect. Coronado could use upgrades in technology; laptops, video and athletic equipment. However, as always, this school knows how to do more with less. Everyone pitches in. Coronado values its students; it values diversity, creativity, and its critical thinkers. Students that leave for high school return with smiles, and a welcome "thank you" to their former teachers. It's a great feeling. But it's all part of the Coronado Cougar way!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2013

I have had two of my children attend Coronado Middle School grades 6-8. Will miss this WONDERFUL school! It used to have a mediocre review so I struggled trusting this school for my kids' education. Wow did Coronado ever prove the nay-sayers wrong!! My boys were on a highly challenging academic path with humanities (including social studies, reading, writing), mathematics, and Spanish. I get misty-eyed just thinking about their hardworking, amazing teachers who, because of their dedication and passion, made my boys excel and love learning! There aren't words to thank the staff and admin enough. Besides teaching staff, the office has always been helpful - even the health office was exceptionally staffed. Thank you, Coronado! From a grateful parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Our experience with Coronado school has been incredible. My family recently returned to Catalina after several years overseas, with our two sons, 8 and 7, speaking very little English, and the youngest physically handicapped. Coronado school has been instrumental in our getting through this period of transition, and who would believe that these two boys of our s actually look forward to going to school each morning, and are learning beyond our expectations. A special thanks to Gerry Maddock, the school s psychologist, Karenina Johnson, Mr. Gerad Ball, the school s principle, our two son s first and second grade teachers, Miss Coleman and Miss Ratliff, the medical group, and the ladies at the front desk. It s hard to imagine a more helpful and professional staff. Thanks, Coronado, we look forward to a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Principle Ball was extremely responsive and quick to help when I emailed him with a couple issues my son had the first day of school. Thank you Principle Ball! You set an amaizing example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

This is my second year teaching at Coronado in the elementary side of this fabulous school. I have been so impressed with the community that has been created here! You walk on campus and see the care gone into making the grounds look beautiful. You see teachers, staff, students and parents all smiling and working together to make it FEEL GOOD to be here! Community means everything, and this school has it!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2013

Our family loves Coronado! The administration and staff truly care about my children and their success. They know my kids by name and take time to talk and listen to them. The teachers are dedicated and hardworking (I live near the school and often see their cars in the parking lot during weekends and holidays). They are positive, have high expectations and communicate with me as a parent. We have experienced all grades (K through 8) and I appreciate the efforts made by the teachers to give my children a good education. The PTO is active and works hard to create a fun family environment as well as raise money for needed technology or other improvements to the school. We have been at Coronado for 9 years and are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I love Coronado, our students, parents and staff. They are the best group of people I have ever worked with. Thank you, all of you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gerad Ball
Fax number
  • (520) 696-6701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 E. Wilds Road
Tucson, AZ 85739
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Oro Valley
Oro Valley, AZ




Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT