Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2011
- a parent
The school has been named an Excelling School for 6 year in a row. My son thrives at Desert Willow. He is given many opportunites outside the classroom that he has not received at other schools. The community environement makes my family feel very welcome whenever on campus. I love Desert Willow!

Desert Willow Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
This school has been named an excelling school 5 years in a row. The teachers do home visits with the children and list their phone and e-mail for kids and parents to reach them. They work evry day on the 3 r's. The teachers and staff are creative, caring and extremly good at what they do. I dare anyone to find a better school then this.


Desert Willow Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great school, great teachers, great community.

Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
This school has been the best fit for my family. My son is autistic and with the aid of teachers and parapros he is now on the right track and doing it on his own. My daugther has had the best teachers that has drawn her out of her shell and see all her potential. I volunteer as much as I can to give back to others. The staff and teachers are an important part of what makes this school great.

Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Desert Willow. I could not be happier with the teachers and staff. We moved here in January and my kids transitioned so well and I think part of that is the schools. Kim


Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
My daughter just completed kindergarten and I couldn't be happier with Desert Willow. The principal is fantastic, the assistant to the principal remembered my name after one introduction, and my daughter felt safe and happy the whole year. Toss in that she made great progress and had ana mazing teacher and there's nothing I would have changed over the past year. Even for the kinders, there were organized music and sports sessions. My six year old involved my wife in running for the first time in her life as her teacher was training for a marathon. They held a 'mini-marathon' of one mile in support and all the kinders ran a mile! Go Diamondbacks!

Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
Desert Willow Elementary is by far one of the top schools in Tucson, Arizona. The parent participation is noteworthy. The administration is unbelievably supportive and the teachers genuinely care about the progress of each student!

Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
Desert Williow is an outstanding school. I have 2 boys w/autism and the spec. ed staff, teachers, and para pros have been excellent. My children have excellent IEPs through this school. They really try to give my kids as much as possible instead of the minimum required.


Desert Willow Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
This seems to be a good school. I have had two children attend this school and they are excelled.

Desert Willow Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2006
- a parent
Desert Willow is an outstanding school as are most of the schools in the Vail School District. The students at this school are taught the fundamentals but also respect and other important citizienship elements that seem to get lost today. The teachers are committed and work together at each grade level. There are 'specials' such as COIL (writing fundamentals), art, PE and Music. A word of caution, however, Desert Willow is a designated 'overcrowding' school. This means that in this fast growing area, their borders continually expand and the ratios you see here are NOT accurate. My child is in a Kindergarten class with 24 students even though we were told the ratio is 1 to 20.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Willow Elementary School
9400 East Esmond Loop, Tucson, AZ  85747
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (520) 762-2040
Last modified Desert Willow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top