Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emily Gray Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 343 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

Emily Gray Junior High is an excellent school! We have the most caring staff and faculty. My daughter comes home everyday from school excited to share her day with me. She loves everyone of her teachers. The teachers really know how to connect with the kids. They are fun and engaging. The families at our school are so blessed to have these amazing people who want to hang out with hormonal teens. We appreciate these very special individuals! My daughter is getting a really great education at Emily Gray! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2014

I've been thrilled with my daughter's experiences at Emily Gray. She is a well-read, kind, independent thinking 8th grader that likes going to school, has great friends, and wants to learn. That speaks volumes about the experiences she's having, the teachers she learns from, and the other staff and faculty that she interacts with at her school. Every parent is nervous about junior high and the teenage issues that can arise...but I know I could approach anyone at this school for help with my daughter and they'd do whatever they could to make sure she was successful and happy. We're so happy to be part of a great school in the Tanque Verde School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2014

Can I just say, there isn't one bad thing I can say about ACES! My nephews attended this school and now my children. The staff are one of the best in the district. One of my children is with the IEP program. They have helped him not just in the school curriculum but also with his self confidence. I can't thank them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

The Spanish courses are taught by two teachers who are on the verge of retirement. They are mean to the kids and have no modern training. It would be a huge improvement to get some fresh blood in that subject area. Most of the parents that I've spoken to are frustrated because their honor students are excelling in other subjects and failing Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

Teachers are not professional at this school. They will single out children to make examples, especially those with special needs. The administration does not promote parental or student advocacy and is generally passive. So if you are a parent that likes to take an active role in your child's education, do not choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

decent school except the lice drugs and bullying issues.and the sports programs are very hard to get into unless your child is in the popular group.wich is very sad,i think all children should be allowed to join the sports teams unless physically disabled.I also believe strongly that this helps to keep children focused on school and not hanging ou with bad influences.which there seems to be quite a variety of them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

The principal, Gregg Miller, is approachable and caring. Teacher quality, however, is an issue of great concern. There are two or three outstanding teachers and, unfortunately, several who are either unqualified, immature, burned out or don't seem to like the kids. Poor teacher quality is most likely why the school lost its "excelling" accreditation this year. Very disappointed in Emily Gray--particularly since the high school moved in and squeezed out available space and facilities for junior high students. Junior high students and high school students should NOT be on the same campus. If the district tells you they don't "mix" because of their staggered bell system, it's a fallacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

I actually go to this school and i love it!!!!! going into eighth grade this year and cant wait. we are going on a 2 week trip to D.C. this year. last year, (when i was in seventh grade) we went to Catalina Island Marine Institute for 5 days-which was AWESOME!!!!!! we got to go scuba diving. Food is surpisingly (i know i spelled that wrong) good. i have never brought a lunch to school before. the community is small and everybody knows everybody and there are no "mean girls" cliques, everyone is friends with eachother. i highly reccomend this awesome-possum school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Refreshing that a school actual tests incoming students on their math abilities and places them accordingly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

So far so good. My daughter started at Emily Gray this year and is doing very well. Her teachers are impressive and the overall impression I get is of a very caring and dedicated crew of teachers and staff. Glad we're here in Tanque Verde, and we've very satisfied with the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

this school is amazing with the food, staff, teachers and new life long friends just waiting to be made. This school is the best on the market, if you ask me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

I'm very impressed with this school. There is no nonsense and the teachers really want the kids to learn. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Best school ever! I absolutely adore this school! Send your kids here they will learn lots with the outstanding teachers and the hard-working principal!


Posted March 24, 2008

The school is unfair o te children the highschoolers pick on the children it is just not a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I open-enrolled my daughter into EGJHS for 8th grade. I am very happy with how supportive and caring the staff and teachers have been. The curriculum has been very challenging for my daughter and has prepared her very well for high-school. I have already requested open-enrollment at the Tanque Verde H.S. I can't say enough about how happy I've been with this school. The school expects alot from the kids, but also provides alot of support for them. Academically, this school is one of the best I've seen and been involved with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

Emily Gray is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff truly care about the success of each student and do their best to work with parents to help keep them informed on progress, as well as problems. The new principal is great and it is nice to hear him call each student by name. I was surprised to see how well they have combined the Jr. High and the High School. Adding the extracurricular activities (sports) to the school has also been very positive. Emily Gray is an Excelling school, and, it is the teachers and staff working together with each student that makes it that way. Keep up the Great Work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

It is an ok school. The teacher are pretty good and seem to work well with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Emily Gray provides a challenging curriculum for students in grades 7-8. It does a good job of preparing students for high school, and the teachers are experienced and very effective for the most part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Typical large city school. More emphasis on security because of large city issues than on education. Teachers are adequate, education average. Nothing spectacular to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

The quality of teachers and administration has declined over the last few years. I am very concerned about the leadership of the school district in general. We have lost many great teachers and some of them have been replaced with really bad ones. . Although, I must admit, of all the school districts in Tucson, ours is still the best in my book. This won't be the case much longer if we don't get competent admin folks and attract better teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 N Melpomene Way
Tucson, AZ 85749
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 749-5751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT