Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Esperanza Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
I am a big follower of education and moral principals at Esperanza my kids get it all.

Esperanza Elementary School 1

Posted April 09, 2012
- a community member
I would stay far away from this school. Esperanza has zero spirit and that is because the principal has NO leadership skills. She doesn't like parent volunteers because you will find out how she runs the school. She is not well respected by teachers or staff and the culture at the school is extremely negative. There are no longer any organziations for parents to belong to because she has shut them down. There have been many parents that have tried to be involved and the principal has ran all of them off. She is very controlling and is only concerned about what the superintendent thinks about her. The superintendent has no idea how she runs the school and doesn't seem to care anyway that so many employees and parents are so unhappy. The superintendent has said "parents on this side of town don't want to get involved in their childs school".


Esperanza Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2012
- a community member
If you love a school where the teachers and staff are under-appreciated, then Esperanza is the place for your child. The principal does not encourage volunteering, in fact, it is just the opposite. Once valuable, time-giving parents come in, she alienates them. The pricipal has zero leadership skills. She is very unprofessional in both her demeanor and speech. She cannot wait until her meeting with you is over. Her only interest is spreading word that "her" school is a TAP school. If she is not fond of an employee, she makes no bones about letting them know. Another thing a leader should not do is have favorites and SHE does. What is worse, is that no matter what she does, the superintendant stands behind her. So it does no good to really express ones concerns.

Esperanza Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. It took my son 3+ yrs at T.U.S.D schools and no 504 or I.E.P and when we came to this school they had it done within 2 months...

Esperanza Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
My son is a 1st grader at Esperanza Elem. and was also a kindergartener there also. My son was identified as a gifted student by his Kindergarten teacher and after which he recieved a great deal of not only individualized attention, but he was also allowed to advance himself by attending first grade for reading time and was still given the chance to enjoy the benefits of kindergarten activities. he also was given the opportunity to help other children in his class when they had difficulty with the learning activities.


Esperanza Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2005
- a parent
I LOVE Esperanza. My 2 girls came from Ochoa and were behind. My youngest started off knowing 6 sight words but now she can read! My eldest was 2 years behind in reading and hit the 4th grade level this year! Esperanza takes learning and attendance very seriously. I am impressed with their level of math, the science. The teachers are very creative in solving lapses in learning. They have implemented new programs, used several reading programs at once. The office staff is SUPERB. They go way above and beyond without missing a beat. My oldest has improved in note reading: not from her piano lessons but her music class at school! Art is knowledge driven (my 1st grader knows that parallel lines don't touch)! For clubs/activities, they have math, choir?, track, basketball, soccer and many more. Parents volunteer to hear kids read, go on field trips, help out.

Esperanza Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 12, 2004
- a parent
The girls bathroom for the kids in the 700 wing was disgusting. I took my daughter in there the first day of school yesterday, and she could not use it. The toilets were overflowing and stopped up. I hope to see a cleaner bathroom after I make a complaint today.She is now afraid to go in there.

Esperanza Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2004
- a parent
I was not impressed by the professionalism of the office staff when I went to go register my child at esperanza this past school year. I hope as the school year progresses it gets better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Esperanza Elementary School
2353 East Bantam Rd, Tucson, AZ  85706
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (520) 545-2900
Last modified Esperanza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top