Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ford Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2008

My oldest daughter who went through all grades at Ford were great. My other daughter is now in 2nd there and has also gone to Ford since Kinder. The school is a great school and bully free. I see more parents getting involved more than ever. Teachers are dedicated and I feel comfortable with my daughter going there. Its now the only school in area that goes up to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I am extremely pleased with this school. My daughter attended four schools in three years because I was unable to find a suitable environment for her. She does not require any special services above the expected safe environment, dedicated staff, and educational value. This is her second year at Ford and my son, who started Kinder this year, is also attending. I actually moved our residence so we would be in the correct area and not have to depend on open enrollment. The teachers are dedicated to teaching the students and giving them every opportunity to learn. The staff are fantastic always a welcome and helping hand. Even the students seem to show a different level of respect towards one another, something that is lacking in many areas of our society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone unless you want somthing close to your house. I had two children who attend Ford last year and they didn't learn anything that they didn't already know from me and the previous school that my oldest attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone unless you're looking for convenience. It's not as structured as my child's last school and I haven't found that their learning anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

This is a wonderful school. I have two children who receive special services. Both childrens needs have been met and more. This is such a caring community within the school from the principal, the teachers, the additional staff and parents that I will continue my childrens education here until they are on to middle school. I have high praises for Ford and their ability to meet the student and the parents needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

This school ws great. I had two children graduate from there and my third will be going in the fall. HTe staff is very helpful and great to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

Ford is an awesome school. I love the principal and the teachers. I had much contact with the staff due to my kindergartener's ADHD related behavior problems. I really like the leadership program and the bully-proof program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2003

do not like the principal, the teachers are not real good


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 42%
White 36% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 731-4301

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8001 East Stella Road
Tucson, AZ 85730
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 731-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT