Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fruchthendler Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2009

An neighborhood elementary school doing an AMAZING job with a reputation for providing a well rounded education in the midst of poor state funding and commitment to public education! KUDOS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

Fruchthendler is an excellent school! The administration and the PTA work really hard to raise money for special activities, projects, field trips and tutors. The parent involvement is also very high which contributes substantially to the students' overall success. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone who is not happy with their current school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2008

Fruchthendler is a phenomenal school. My son currently attends and has since kindergarten. He has been immersed in a multicultural, academically rigourous environment. Social independence is taught at every grade level and students are empowered with the strategies to solve their own problems. We have been completely happy with this school. Oh, and the male kindergarten teacher is adorably handsome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son is in 5th grade and has been here since 2nd grade. He has been pushed appropriately and has had a well rounded education with one caring teacher after another. He has embraced reading for pleasure and increased his responsibility and social/emotional growth. Unfortunately, art and Spanish are underfunded and sporadic, but he does have music and PE weekly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Parent involvement is very high. The PTA is extremely strong and our fundraising efforts are very successful. In 2006 the PTA, through fundraising, purchased electronic interactive smart boards for each classroom. Additionally, parent donations purchased new playground equipment. If there is a negative to this, I understand some parents feel financial pressure due to these efforts. Overall, these efforts benefit the students enormously. Parental participation in the school, as well as financial support, coupled with outstanding teachers are the cornerstones to this excellent elementary school. Music, Art, P.E. and a variety of school clubs are available and encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

We are very happy with this schoool. Our daughter was accepted to the self-contained GATE program at a different school, but we decided to keep her in Fruchthendler instead, because we are so pleased with the program there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

Fruchthendler E.S. is a terrific school when I sent my child there when she was younger. The teachers are nice and excellent. They truely care about the students. I would tell anyone to send their child there. Also, it is extremely safe. Parents are always welcome and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

High level of parental involvement. Some classes have over 4 room parents! I wish classes stressed more 'essentials' such as proficient handwriting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

The quality of academic programs is very high. An excellent music program is made available to all student. Parental involvment is exceptional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

my child attended Fruchthendler in fourth and fifth grade. overall I was please with the academic, teachers and activities. The one weak spot is computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

My daughter transferred from a District 16 school to this school for her second grade year. Her teacher was wonderful and she learned a lot. However, class size is very large--27 and they say it will grow next year and there is no computer lab; no dedicated music or art teacher so volunteers teach these classes. There is much parental involvement and much volunteerism. The Principal, John Heidel, does a great job. All and all I recommend this school and think it compares to District 16 schools except in the above areas that were mentioned. It is the crown jewel for TUSD elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

I have enjoyed having my children, grades 4 and 2 attend this school this past year. The teachers they had were excellent and I feel they got a great year of education. The school was a bit lax on sending home information to the parents I felt on school happenings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2003

Beware of the huge difference between 2nd grade requirements and 3rd grade requirements. The bar is very wide between the two. Also, at the end of 3rd grade, no matter how painful the process, your child will have tested well (AIMS/Stanford 9) and will be ready for 4th grade.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7470 E Cloud Rd
Tucson, AZ 85750
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT