Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gale Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
We love Gale! Before my daughter started Kindergarten, I meticulously researched 15 schools (a bit excessive, maybe) and toured my top 5 schools. I picked Gale because of: the teachers, the active parental involvement, and the overall "feel" of the school. Gale is a very caring and nurturing community. Gale participates in the Ben's Bells Be Kind program, which teaches children many positive character-building traits. This program is wonderful. Overall, I am impressed by the high quality, holistic, well-rounded education my daughter has received at Gale.

Gale Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
All of the kindergarten teachers at Gale are amazing. My daughter and I LOVE her teacher, Mrs. Pessin. Mrs. Pessin is an absolute treasure. She is so patient, kind, and understanding. She truly cares about her students and she makes each child feel welcome and special. She is incredibly organized and her classroom management skills are ridiculously good. We couldn't be happier! My daughter wishes Mrs. Pessin could be her teacher forever! <3


Gale Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I am impressed by everything the teachers do at Gale! Not only do they teach the curriculum (and do it very well!), but they're also good at developing character in children. They are very involved and participate in school fundraisers and activities.

Gale Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten, so I can only speak for that grade. She receives a packet of around 4 pages to complete over the course of a week, plus a reading log (students are encouraged to read at least 10 minutes per day). This works out to 5-10 minutes of homework per day (plus reading), which I think is pretty developmentally appropriate. I was resistant to homework in Kindergarten, but my daughter actually loves doing activity pages, so I'm ok with it.

Gale Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
There are many opportunities for students to develop these characteristics. Teachers and staff encourage children to solve their own problems (when appropriate) and to keep working towards something (a project, goal, etc.) until it's completed. They offer support, but allow children to do things for themselves.


Gale Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
There is a culture of respect throughout Gale. The teachers, staff, parents, and children show respect for each other. They also show respect for people in general, as well as the environment.

Gale Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! In addition to the Ben's Bells Be Kind program, the staff and parents have truly developed a school culture of compassion, caring, and empathy by modeling and reinforcing these behaviors.

Gale Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Yes, absolutely! There is a strong focus on the Ben's Bells Be Kind program, which teaches many positive character-building traits. Each week the entire school focuses on a specific "Tiger Trait" (including honesty, integrity, and fairness, among others). The school counselor visits the classrooms to teach a lesson and read a story about that week's trait. The teachers select a student from each class to receive the "Kindness Coin" that week. Every Friday they have a school-wide assembly in which that weeks' winners are recognized and are given a certificate (which states what the student did that embodies that weeks' Tiger Trait). Furthermore, every day on morning announcements they recognize someone from the school (a teacher, volunteer, support staff, etc) who demonstrated a Tiger Trait.


Gale Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Again, you must be an example of this and most choose to punish rather than take the time to teach.

Gale Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately the Principal has now left the school and she was the greatest example of this to all the children.

Nearby schools

Gale Elementary School
678 South Gollob Rd, Tucson, AZ  85710
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (520) 731-4500
Last modified Gale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top