Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hohokam Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2010

It was one of the best schools I ever went to . I made lots of friends. And there were many great teachers. I just wish I would have lived there long enough to stay longer.


Posted July 20, 2010

My son is now going into 8th grade this year, He has been there all thru his middle school yrs. I as a parent am very proud of the school's involvement in my child and also the teacher's influence in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

I Currently Attend Hohokam & I Love It. Im An 8th Grader And Im In Algebra 1. Going There, I Think It's The Kids That Slack Off And Its Not The School To Blame. Some Teachers Are Just Horrible. But Overall Hohokam Has Really Been Improving We Are Now A Performing School. 8th Grade Class Of 2010 !!!!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2010

Every day that my son goes to school there is something new. The new principal is attempting to be creative in an environment that needs stability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

the kids dont get the education they need... over the summer most of the teachers left.... last year they were in and out with substitutes and principals... if u care about ur kid send them to another school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I loved all the teacher there! They were always so kind to me. Especially Mrs. Gipson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2007

I feel that my child was not safe in this school. I also feel that he did not get the education that he deserved at this school. The staff just does not care. I am looking into other schools. If you love and care about your childs safety and well being do not send them to Hohokam.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I believe that Hohokam Middle School is a great school for a child to attend. even though there is less books and matrial items for them to use, they still get treated equally and with respect. I go to this school and my sister promoted from this school. Not only do we have high school credit classes but also very good extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2007

I am still disappointed in this school. I feel the lack of respect in this school should be of concern but it seems folks are looking the other way. I hope this will all change but right now I feel the students are out of control and lack of respect. It's not just the students its also some faculty. I have been to the school where students are talked down to. I have been disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2006

If you care anything for your child's safety and education do not send them here! Lori
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

I attended open house and let's just say I'm looking for another school for my son to attend. Many teachers stated that they don't give out much homework because there are no lockers for the kids to keep their books and or there are not enough books for every student. I found this to be unacceptable. And one teacher didn't even have [a] chalkboard. He had this little board that was so small. It looked like one my toddler uses. There was one student there that the teacher said that he should be in high school math. So why isn't he? Some of the childern need to be challeged instead of being held back with the rest of the class. There were many more things that I was not happy with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

I attended Hohokam Middle School, and I have to say it was the best experience ever! I love everyone there. They give there all and there best. What more could you ask for?


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Underperforming".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 26% 5%
White 7% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 908-3701

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 S. Settler Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85746
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT