Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howell Peter Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

Peter Howell has the best teachers and principal ever! I got custody of my great granddaughter last year who had hardly attended school. She is in the first grade. The staff at Peter Howell has worked with her so diligently to catch her up in reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

All three of my children went here and during there enrollment I become VERY ill and the whole school dedicated so much time to helping with so many things, the teachers were there for my children sense they were having so many issues with me being sick. Over all EVERYONE in that school is excellent including the office and the nurse. It really pained me and my children to have to move and them no longer go to that school. I would suggest this school for every award everything and if need be would speak on there behalf ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Both of my children have gone to this school and while the old principal was here, nothing could have been better. Now that the new principal is in, everything has gone downhill. I will not be enrolling my child back in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

This school is great! The teachers at Howell are the best in the district! They are very dedicated to the most rigorous, researched based curriculum possible. All teachers have attended training in Understanding by Design and Arts Integration. As an OMA GOLD school, all teachers work to use art daily in their classrooms. Each grade has a special art focus. This school is working hard to improve the image of public education!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

They have a great staff of teachers.


Posted June 29, 2007

We are reluctantly moving from Tucson. We have never regretted our decision to open enroll our kids at Peter Howell. This is a school where you must look beyond test scores to discover the treasure within. For example, the school has a comprehensive arts program, p.e. that is integrated into the academic curriculum, teachers who are dedicated to collaboration, and a newly implemented school-wide expectation program that has dramatically increased school pride and positive behavior in and out of the classroom. The school is rich in diversity. Language barriers may explain some of the low test scores. Because of the school's desegregation designation and proximity to the university and affordable housing, the student body includes many children from Russia, Somalia, Korea, and China, as well as Mexico. The few parents who volunteer regularly are extremely dedicated. The principal is very approachable. We will miss this school terribly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

Wow! This is public education? Although not every teacher is created equal, the community, support, and wide range of programs to enrich kids at Howell is wonderful. Their afterschool program is a rare option that gives kids structured experiences in glass mosiac, theater art, cake decorating, mechanical art, and sportsmanship. Their director, Ms. Myra, is personally invested in every child that attends. The school is very diverse - situated on the corner of both very affluent and immigrant communities. They offer GATE clustered classrooms and have a very positive approach to behavioral expectations. Their music instructor Dr. John, is a career musician, tutors kids outside of the school environment, and delights in their musical accomplishments. Howell's annual carnival is well orchestrated and really brings the community together. As a teacher myself, I firmly believe that a school is only as good as their leadership, and Howell's principal Joan Gilbert is dynamite!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

Peter Howell has an excelent music, art and PE program. They also have dance. This is all part of their OMA program. This school has great teachers and a ton of volunteers.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 23, 2006

Great school with wonderful arts and music program. Extra curricular activities are super and keeps kids involved. A core group of parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Howell is one of the gems of TUSD. The full implementation of OMA has added so much to my son's experience there. Additionally, the small, close community of faculty and parents make this a very inviting environment for the children. The after school program, Project Shine, is one of the best in the district- a reading and writing based program that includes activities such as art, sports, chess. Aside from the OMA program, all children can start taking violin in Kindergarten. We have been extremely happy with the quality of education our son is getting at Howell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

This school is amazing. I'm so glad I chose Peter Howell for my child. Peter Howell offers the Opening Minds Through the Arts program. They are the pilot school. A lot of curriculum centers around music & the arts. OMA sponsors free parent/student violin lessons. I did this for 4 years with my daughter! What fun! The faculty and staff at this school all use the Love & Logic concept. Classical music is piped in through the P.A. system and student's artwork is everywhere. What a pleasant environment! I enjoy being at Peter Howell more than I enjoy my work environment :) My daughter is graduating this year and we'll be very sad to go. :( Don't miss out on a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Very excellent school. Academicly challenging with many music and art activities. Very good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2004

Howell has a wonderful after school program dedicated to Fine Arts and tied into reading and math. The teachers and administration all go above and beyond what is expected of a school; dedicating themselves to the betterment of their students. Howell is a wonderful place
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2004

Peter Howell Elementary School has everything I want in a school for my child. It is such an enriching environment as well as a comprehensive curriculum. I find myself bragging about the wonderful things about my son's school that are unique such as OMA. The principal is very involved in opening the minds of children using the fine arts. The children listen to classical music in the hallways, receive instruction from the U of A in woodwinds, opera, muscials, plays etc. The children are regularly invited to attend many wonderful performances. Academically the teachers strive to improve learning and are successful as the schools statistics reflect higher than average scores. We are very satisfied with Peter Howell and whole heartily reccomend it to any parent looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 43%
White 26% 42%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 232-7201

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 N. Irving
Tucson, AZ 85711
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Basis Tucson
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT