Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public district
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 358

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Peter Howell has the best teachers and principal ever! I got custody of my great granddaughter last year who had hardly attended school. She is in the first grade. The staff at Peter Howell has worked with her so diligently to catch her up in reading.

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
All three of my children went here and during there enrollment I become VERY ill and the whole school dedicated so much time to helping with so many things, the teachers were there for my children sense they were having so many issues with me being sick. Over all EVERYONE in that school is excellent including the office and the nurse. It really pained me and my children to have to move and them no longer go to that school. I would suggest this school for every award everything and if need be would speak on there behalf ....

Howell Peter Elementary School 1

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children have gone to this school and while the old principal was here, nothing could have been better. Now that the new principal is in, everything has gone downhill. I will not be enrolling my child back in this school.

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2010
- a teacher
This school is great! The teachers at Howell are the best in the district! They are very dedicated to the most rigorous, researched based curriculum possible. All teachers have attended training in Understanding by Design and Arts Integration. As an OMA GOLD school, all teachers work to use art daily in their classrooms. Each grade has a special art focus. This school is working hard to improve the image of public education!

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
They have a great staff of teachers.

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a parent
We are reluctantly moving from Tucson. We have never regretted our decision to open enroll our kids at Peter Howell. This is a school where you must look beyond test scores to discover the treasure within. For example, the school has a comprehensive arts program, p.e. that is integrated into the academic curriculum, teachers who are dedicated to collaboration, and a newly implemented school-wide expectation program that has dramatically increased school pride and positive behavior in and out of the classroom. The school is rich in diversity. Language barriers may explain some of the low test scores. Because of the school's desegregation designation and proximity to the university and affordable housing, the student body includes many children from Russia, Somalia, Korea, and China, as well as Mexico. The few parents who volunteer regularly are extremely dedicated. The principal is very approachable. We will miss this school terribly.

Howell Peter Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2006
- a parent
Wow! This is public education? Although not every teacher is created equal, the community, support, and wide range of programs to enrich kids at Howell is wonderful. Their afterschool program is a rare option that gives kids structured experiences in glass mosiac, theater art, cake decorating, mechanical art, and sportsmanship. Their director, Ms. Myra, is personally invested in every child that attends. The school is very diverse - situated on the corner of both very affluent and immigrant communities. They offer GATE clustered classrooms and have a very positive approach to behavioral expectations. Their music instructor Dr. John, is a career musician, tutors kids outside of the school environment, and delights in their musical accomplishments. Howell's annual carnival is well orchestrated and really brings the community together. As a teacher myself, I firmly believe that a school is only as good as their leadership, and Howell's principal Joan Gilbert is dynamite!

Howell Peter Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2006
- a teacher
Peter Howell has an excelent music, art and PE program. They also have dance. This is all part of their OMA program. This school has great teachers and a ton of volunteers.

Howell Peter Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2006
- a parent
Great school with wonderful arts and music program. Extra curricular activities are super and keeps kids involved. A core group of parents are very involved.

Howell Peter Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2006
- a parent
Howell is one of the gems of TUSD. The full implementation of OMA has added so much to my son's experience there. Additionally, the small, close community of faculty and parents make this a very inviting environment for the children. The after school program, Project Shine, is one of the best in the district- a reading and writing based program that includes activities such as art, sports, chess. Aside from the OMA program, all children can start taking violin in Kindergarten. We have been extremely happy with the quality of education our son is getting at Howell.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howell Peter Elementary School
401 N. Irving, Tucson, AZ  85711
(520) 225-6060
Last modified Howell Peter Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howell Peter Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top